Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving a boiler.

• 22-11-2015 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭

Hi

If one as an oil boiler inside in the house - in the utility room --- is it s big job to MOVE the oil boiler outside the house. To a shed etc

I know I'm going to to be asked "but why" and the answer is I just simply don't like a boiler inside the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

obi604 wrote: »
    Hi

If one as an oil boiler inside in the house - in the utility room --- is it s big job to me be the oil boiler outside the house. To a shed etc

I know I'm going to to be asked "but why" and the answer is I just simply don't like a boiler inside the house.

Yes you can. Make sure you add extra insulation to the boiler and install a frost stay in the shed too. It's not a diy job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭obi604

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Yes you can. Make sure you add extra insulation to the boiler and install a frost stay in the shed too. It's not a diy job

Thanks. I know it's a big enough job. Any ball park figures to do it. 5k, 10k etc.

How far is the existing boiler location from the shed?

10 metres

10 metres

Your prob looking at 17,000-20,000k approx

Kidding!
    On a serious note, depending on the amount of cutting concrete and backfilling, quality of lagging etc, I'd say you'd get some change out of 2,000.

Kidding!
    On a serious note, depending on the amount of cutting concrete and backfilling, quality of lagging etc, I'd say you'd get some change out of 2,000.

Fook , you had me going there. So you reckon roughly 2 grand. Not too bad I suppose.

Prob not even 2

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

€500 max, one could make a big job out of it and bleed up to €2k if one wanted to.

It's your choice op.
    Hire a diy cowboy and pay peanuts or hire a professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Walter Becket

Could you give a break down of that Sideways man
    I'd loose a lot of money if I charged 500 for moving a boiler 10 meters going under 2 walls and in the ground outside.

Half a days work plus materials, lads are ye working at county council worker speed on day rates or what?

Your winding us up what materials do you think will be needed.
    How long do you think it will take you just to drain the system, remove the boiler + flue and repair the mess.

Who would one hire for this job ? A plumber is it ?

And then would a plumber have to sub hire someone else. someone with a kango hammer for the example. I presume a trench would have to be dug etc

Who would one hire for this job ? A plumber is it ?

And then would a plumber have to sub hire someone else. someone with a kango hammer for the example. I presume a trench would have to be dug etc

10 meters is a long way I'd be hiring a fella with a mini digger. If there is no access for a digger then I think I'd hire a labourer for the trench. It should go in a straight line from below the boiler's current location to beside it's new location.

How deep would the trench need to be ?

600-700 mm would be ok. Or get A cowboy to do it and he'll sink them 6" and sprinkle gravel on them

600-700mm is inadequate, 1 metre minimum. Warning tape also used after half back fill.

QBE. That's it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

€500 max,

You'll obviously be repairing the loo in that price. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

QBE. That's it!!

Good call. :D