Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LPG - Considering taking plunge!

• 22-11-2015 6:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭

Hey folks, I've a an older car (2001, 1.8 accord) that I like and its mechanically 100% etc but haven't driven it in a while as it was always very thirsty.... Was only getting 280 miles from full tank to reserve light....

Can't afford a decent diesel....

Considering paying the 700 euro or so to convert to LPG? Would I be mad?

Apart from the initial conversion cost the car should be reliable for a long time to come etc.

Any risk of LPG pumps disappearing out any other factors to consider?

Would appreciate any help or advice, also recommendations on where to go for fitting this etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Yes you would be mad. If you havn't driven it in a while that tells me your not doing the miles to justify the LPG expense. Very few pumps around too.

You could also have hassle getting insurance, lots will not cover LPG converted cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Was thinking of doing this with a Fabia estate that I have sitting around idle, now I would be doing the miles but never knew there was bother with insurance. These fecking insurance companies have a noose around all our necks, the hoors :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

Ha? No - Car has just been parked up and have been driving something else to work etc. this second car has become unviable due to age and cost of sorting issues for NCT :)

Work commute is about 80Km in total daily mon to Fri. - Not massive miles BUT when it costs €70 to fill the tank and your on reserve again after 280 miles it can be a pain.

- I'd actually put a bit of money into car originally so it needs nothing now - Looking at paying for the LPG conversion up front as a way of making it a nice daily runner without its current economy issues.....

Hadn't heard that re insurance either, there seems to be a few out there all the same so assuming this is not a show-stopper?

& Yes they are a shower of leeches in these insurance companies.......!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Was thinking of doing this with a Fabia :(

Seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Jesus. wrote: »
    Seriously?
    Yea for the craic more than anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭kavanada

LPG is also worse for MPG, OP. You'll have to factor that in if you're doing it for money reasons.

280miles on an Accord tank is actually pretty bad. Is it full of tools and 20psi tyres or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Thats around 20mpg if it has a 55-60 litre tank.

Maybe spend the money to see why its getting such low mpg. A healthy 1.8 accord of that era driven sensibly should get 35-40mpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭pcardin

Thats around 20mpg if it has a 55-60 litre tank.

Maybe spend the money to see why its getting such low mpg. A healthy 1.8 accord of that era driven sensibly should get 35-40mpg

I don't know, had couple of petrol accords myself in past and always remember them being on the thirsty side. Always driven petrol engines only and Honda's I had were very thirsty. I would think OP's figures sound about right.

I converted Mercedes CLK200 couple of years ago, company in Tallaght was doing promotion and it cost me €650.00. MPG increased only by 1 or 2 miles but filling up costs were halved. CLK didnt made to the point of brakeeven (chain broke on engine, car was written off) but the psychological pleasure of paying less than 40 quid to fill it up instead of 75 was great.

Now I'm thinking to get CLS and do the conversion again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I was doing fewer miles than that and my conversion paid for itself in about a year. Mine was done by LPGain in Talkaght (they now do conversions in Finglas but still have a pump in Tallaght?

No problem with insurance - they just needed a copy of the cert that LPGain provide. Based on the queue in Finglas on Saturday evening I don't think they will disappear any time soon.

I'm getting around 25 mpg on LPG compared with 28 on petrol so they equates to around 50 mpg equivalent. This is a Volvo S60.

The big question is do you live near a station or pass one daily? I wouldn't bother if I had to go out of my way for gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

LPG conversions are a great way to go if your petrol engined car is thirsty and you're planning on holding on to it.
    I'm giving serious consideration to converting my own guzzler right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

on a slightly later model, say a 2008... how would your raod tax be effected? do you have to do some sort of emissions test? usually LPG would lower the C02..
    so just curious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

No effect at all. Tax is based on the manufacturers stated emissions, not the actual emissions (as the VW fiasco has shown!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

This month's Car Mechanics magazine has an article on LPG problems for anyone who is interested.

OP would you consider selling your car and buying one that is already converted? Might work out cheaper than doing the conversion. There area few on donedeal.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

@ op, sort out first what is causing the poor mpg, that does not sound right. That should do 30-35mpg average.

Re insurance, its not a problem as its not a performance modification, just a secondary fuel source.

but do check out your nearest LPG outlets, they are sparse. Thankfully there is one just 1 mile from where I live and its open 7 days a week and is now charging 69c/litre, perfect for my LPG's daily 4.3 V8.....