Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I am a good Samaritan

• 20-11-2015 9:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭

People of after hours I am going to share 24 hours in my insane life.
    So coming home from work yesterday, I saw a lady hitchhiking on the road, So I pull up to offer a lift.

Then I try to let her in the front passenger door, but oh no the doors lock won't open for some random reason. So I let her in the back of the car, So picture this me driving some random woman who is sitting in the back of my car.

She tells me that she is doing a course in this area and her dole has not come through so she could not afford petrol to enable her to drive to her course. I offer to bring her over to the course the following morning if she is stuck. We swap numbers and I arrange to pick her up at 7:30 am this morning.

I arrive at the predesignated pick up point at 7:30 and no sign. I call her, she tells me that she has slept in and would I mind waiting she will be down in 5 minutes. 25 Minutes later she lands down. During the duration of the journey she then asks can she borrow ten euros. I declined and said I have no money. Even though I am wealthy, I would have given her the cash if she had not delayed me.

I was just glad to get her out of my car, never again !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

You only picked her up in the hope you'd get your end away :p

Sounds like she fúcked you rather than you fúcked her :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Is your wealth mostly goodwill towards all mankind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I am a good Samaritan mug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

6541 wrote: »
    my insane life

I don't think you'll be pleading insanity anytime soon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Sometimes being nice is the worst thing you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Hitchhiking? So 1980's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Seems like you're a gullible eejit rather than a good Samaritan tbh.

Waiting 25 minutes because she woke up late for a free lift to a course? Mad. should have left her to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Well you still did your good deed OP.

I don't drive but like the idea of picking up random hitchhikers and the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

You should of killed her. It might be a bit a harsh but you know hitchhiking is dangerous and you should enforce this.

I'd have done pretty much the same. You weren't to know she'd take 25 minutes. But after that there'd be no more lifts.

And would have declined the request for money obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Yep. You were being a decent person and she abused that. Don't let it put you off being a good person in the future though! Most people would have been hugely grateful for it and done everything possible to not put you out of your way at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

I dont think you were a mug, or insane. I think she took advantage of your goodwill, and that is no reflection on you. Well done to you for persisting! Now you have the moral high ground, and a good yarn to boot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I don't think I've ever met anyone from Samaria, good or bad.

I've never hitchhiked but many years ago, I was walking home from my girlfriend's house when a car pulled over, offering me a lift. It was dark at the time, I was wearing all black, it was out in the country (barely), and I recognised that the driver was the father of a lad in my class. So I took the lift, except he wanted me to get in the back seat.

I thought that was a bit strange but I got in anyway, being a naive 17 year old male. "You won't believe what happened next!!!!" Actually, you probably will. When we got into the town, he pulled over, and I said "Thanks!" as I got out of the car.

I asked my classmate about it and he said that his father thought it was dangerous with me walking along that road, but I looked like a bit of a weirdo so he got me to sit in the back seat. And the first thing I thought was "That would have made it easier to slit his throat from behind". :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I asked my classmate about it and he said that his father thought it was dangerous with me walking along that road, but I looked like a bit of a weirdo so he got me to sit in the back seat. And the first thing I thought was "That would have made it easier to slit his throat from behind". :D

Or easier to give him a reach around.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

So coming home from work yesterday, I saw a lady hitchhiking on the road, So I pull up to offer a lift.

Then I try to let her in the front passenger door, but oh no the doors lock won't open for some random reason. So I let her in the back of the car, So picture this me driving some random woman who is sitting in the back of my car.

She tells me that she is doing a course in this area and her dole has not come through so she could not afford petrol to enable her to drive to her course. I offer to bring her over to the course the following morning if she is stuck. We swap numbers and I arrange to pick her up at 7:30 am this morning.

I arrive at the predesignated pick up point at 7:30 and no sign. I call her, she tells me that she has slept in and would I mind waiting she will be down in 5 minutes. 25 Minutes later she lands down. During the duration of the journey she then asks can she borrow ten euros. I declined and said I have no money. Even though I am wealthy, I would have given her the cash if she had not delayed me.

Some people are just spongers. Show them a little generosity and they decide to take you for a ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Some people are just spongers. Show them a little generosity and they decide to take you for a ride.

Any chance I could have that tenner back ?

I'll give you the tenner back, if you give me twenty. Fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...I arrive at the predesignated pick up point at 7:30 and no sign. I call her, she tells me that she has slept in and would I mind waiting she will be down in 5 minutes. 25 Minutes later she lands down...

And this, kids, is why she has no money for petrol. By the way, I don't for one second believe the OP is wealthy. Wealthy people don't let strays into their cars like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

jimgoose wrote: »
    And this, kids, is why she has no money for petrol. By the way, I don't for one second believe the OP is wealthy. Wealthy people don't let strays into their cars like that.

They also don't sleep in their cars after going on the lash in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

some people are funny, they are down on their luck and are given a favour or a helping hand and still manage to fcuk that up.
    probably goes some way to explaining why she was in such dire circumstances in the 1st place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Valetta wrote: »
    They also don't sleep in their cars after going on the lash in Dublin.

Well, I know a couple of lip-slobberingly wealthy fellas who would at least consider it. These characters tend not to give a monkey's what anyone else thinks, and also they didn't, in most cases, get wealthy by spending money unnecessarily on hotels. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

jimgoose wrote: »

Wealthy people travel by yacht, helicopter, private trains and planes and are driven when slumming in cars.

I have this lifestyle planned for myself come the inevitable lottery win.

I was on a bus one day (a rare occurrence). There were two teenage girls asking the driver how to get to a particular hospital, he wasn't giving them the time of day and getting quite angry with them. They were visibly upset.

They sat down and a woman on the bus started to tell them where to get off and where to walk to etc, they said they had just gotten a call to say their uncle was dead and they were to go to the hospital. It's a decent enough walk from the bus stop - and a bit convoluted a way to describe, so I offered for them to get off at my stop, and I would drop them up to the hospital to save them the walk.

There was a shop near where I lived, so I went in to get the car keys, and they went into the shop. I was ages waiting on them to come out, but that was fine, they got into the car and one of them lit up a cigarette, I told her she couldn't smoke in the car and she was absolutely disgusted!! Dropped them off at the hospital, and not so much as a thanks out of them!

Ah well. I'd still do it again tomorrow. I do those kind of things on a semi regular basis, and most people are very appreciative and don't take the piss - so don't stop being a good samaritan OP :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

There is no such thing as a good Samaritan.

Every good act is a selfish one to make that person feel better about themselves:)

JustTheOne wrote: »

Every good act is a selfish one to make that person feel better about themselves:)

Just because a good act may make one feel good, does not mean the act was done in order to make the doer feel good. It's human nature to want to help someone, and it's human nature to feel good that you have helped. That does not mean it's a selfish act.

We were having this argument in work just last week.! Is being altruistic truly selfless? I agree with you, it's not, you feel good when you help others or do nice things so you are getting something out of it.

It is better than going out of your way to be a cnut and instead of upsetting another individual you're making them feel better in most cases. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

What about the old biddy who said 'ah hi-er' at the knackers street-brawling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭diddley

Please do not tar all Samaritans with the same brush. The bad minority ruins it for the good majority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Philanthropists. The selfish bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Philanthropists. The selfish bastards.

Yeah. Collecting all those stamps and keeping them hidden out of view. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭_davidsmith_

Im surprised this hasnt come up but.......was she hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I was driving out of Wilton in Cork a few years ago and anyone who has been near CUH knows that it can get a little busy and this was one of those days. Anyway, I notice a guy pushing and stearing his car at the same time so I park up and run over to push him out of danger. So cars zipping by etc as I'm pushing him out of harms way. His response? "Couldn't you at least push me over to the hill and I get her started?" I didn't even respond I just left him in the middle of the estate and went back to my car as he hurled abuse. Wouldn't stop me trying to help someone again mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Maybe she is a top lass but a coronal mass ejection messed up her moral compass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Was she hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Report her for hitchiking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

What do Samaritans, good bad or couldn't be arsed, believe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

She recognized you immediately: not a Samaritan, more a relation of the donkey Jesus rode into Jerusalem.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Poor people are more generous as it's a form of social insurance, you are more likely to get a favour back when you need it because you are more likely to be needing that favour in the future.

Wealthy people have money so don't have to rely on others reciprocating.

Pretty much all the surveys and experiments done have confirmed this. The top 0.1% in the US are able to save 1/3rd of their income. By contrast in 2006 the bottom 90% of people in the US had savings of -8%. A very clear case of wealth transfer even if indirectly.

See Figure 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

Her course was in Hair and Make up, no doubt. Maybe Childcare, if she was feeling flash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

Did she at least offer a reach around?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I can do that too: people who say "Every good act is a selfish one to make that person feel better about themselves" are just saying it to make themselves feel better about never doing selfless things. :)

It depends on the selfless act. If it's one that puts the person's life in danger, like this man who then died... hardly.

Azalea wrote: »
    I can do that too: people who say "Every good act is a selfish one to make that person feel better about themselves" are just saying it to make themselves feel better about never doing selfless things. :)

It depends on the selfless act. If it's one that puts the person's life in danger, like this man who then died... hardly.

That's what they were saying when we were discussing it. A truly selfless act would be death for the person carrying out the act, as you get nothing from it and sacrifice everything you have.

All those regular nice acts people do, we do them, yes because it's human instinct but also because of the fuzzy warm feeling that fills you up when you do it. Tis very interesting.

I still vote on spreading the love.