Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please Help Me Find The Name Of This Song

• 16-11-2015 3:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭

Heard a song in work tonight that was fantastic. Using a new phone so havent downloaded soundhound yet but would really appreciate help finding it.
    Its a Mary/Frances Black song that ends in a piano/accordion solo for a few minutes at the end, then a clap

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Heard a song in work tonight that was fantastic. Using a new phone so havent downloaded soundhound yet but would really appreciate help finding it.
    Its a Mary/Frances Black song that ends in a piano/accordion solo for a few minutes at the end, then a clap

Cheers

Have you any lyrics? Can you remember any of the words?

I could have the song but it could be a different version from a different album and would therefore sound different at parts throughout :)

Thanks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Have you any lyrics? Can you remember any of the words?

I could have the song but it could be a different version from a different album and would therefore sound different at parts throughout :)

Thanks,
    No, unfortunately

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Was this on the radio or where did you hear it?. A lot of shows do playlists if it was radio.

No it was the playlist in work, but its preloaded with thousands of songs and doesnt have a readout of whats being played then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

No, unfortunately

or would you even remember the theme of the song? What was the general gist?
    Were they happy? sad? love-song? in angst? about a placename? a person named throughout? time in History? maybe, anything?

Have you tried youtube? <-- could take a while though

Thanks,

kerry4sam wrote: »
    or would you even remember the theme of the song? What was the general gist?
    Were they happy? sad? love-song? in angst? about a placename? a person named throughout? time in History? maybe, anything?

Have you tried youtube? <-- could take a while though

Thanks,
    It was a real mellow kind of track

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Is it "Batman forever"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Not the first time someone listened to a Mary Black song ending up with the clap.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Can you hum the melody please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭chicorytip

"Karolina", by Mary Black???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Boom_Bap wrote: »

This reminds me of an episode of Married With Children. Al was desperately trying to remember a song he had heard on the radio without much luck.

He then hears about some random place whereby people with his predicament can go and hum they song they want the name of, to some random guy in some random shop. The people in front of Al get the names of the songs they have hummed to this person and go off happy. Al on the other hand is not that lucky, as they guy doesn't know the name of the song, or who sang it.

By pure chance it comes on the radio at the end of the episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

.. then a clap

Of thunder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,707 ✭✭✭brevity

Anaconda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Yodeling Snake

Is it this one? Possibly the most beautiful song ever written.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Billy and the Bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Billie the Vision & the Dancers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Set up a YouTube channel and dress up as Mary Black and sing it. I promise no one will rip the piss.

Nail the bastard lads

Is it this one? Possibly the most beautiful song ever written.
    No not that one, but yeah you are right its an excellent song

The solo at the end had the piano part a bit like intermission by Blur, with the accordion as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Carolina Rua and Past the point of Rescue where two she had hits with. Lovely tunes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭dollyk

dollyk wrote: »
    Thats it!

You are a feckin legend. Thanks a mil

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,293 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Boom_Bap wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Eutow wrote: »
    This reminds me of an episode of Married With Children. Al was desperately trying to remember a song he had heard on the radio without much luck.

He then hears about some random place whereby people with his predicament can go and hum they song they want the name of, to some random guy in some random shop. The people in front of Al get the names of the songs they have hummed to this person and go off happy. Al on the other hand is not that lucky, as they guy doesn't know the name of the song, or who sang it.

By pure chance it comes on the radio at the end of the episode.

Anyone who has worked in a music shop has probably experienced the phenomenon of a customer coming up to the counter and saying "Do ye have that song that goes doo-dee-doo-dee-diddly-doo?" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Even though you think you've found the song OP I'm still pretty confident that it was in fact Smoke on the Water.

It's normally Smoke on the Water....

Fire in the Sky.

Duh-duh-duh
    Duh-duh-duh-duh.
    Duh-duh-duh
    DUH-DUH!

Try getting that out of yer heads now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭exaisle

Judging by that track, I think Mary has gone well past her sell-by date. Sounds like the ould tar sticks have taken their toll.
    The voice is pretty much gone and she should stop embarrassing herself... :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭dollyk

Thats it!

You are a feckin legend. Thanks a mil

its an oldie , but not very played nice and mellow, glad to be of help:D