Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

can he get his license back through the new drink driving loophole

• 15-11-2015 11:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭

Hi my brother was convicted of drink driving this year with a level of 51mgs. I was just wondering can he get his license back through the new loophole even though his case was in March????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

No and he's a bollox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Hunter101

No and he's a bollox.

You would swear that ur a saint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭alanhiggyno1

Hunter101 wrote: »
    You would swear that ur a saint
    why should he get it back??he made a big mistake he could have killed someone. hope they throw the book at him..loophole my arse!!

Just out of curiosity anyone here an actual solicitor or are ye just making guesses??? I put it under legal discussion for a reason

they are not guesses its the truth.u can pay a solictor to tell u the same thing if u want..unfollow thread time

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

Boards is the worst place to ask a question like this, you every one on here never made a mistake in there lives. There all perfect and love to look down on people.

The only way you will know is by contacting a solicitor really..

Can you tell me what this loophole is? My "friend" was recently caught drink driving aswell, although only 31mg. He hasn't been to court yet, but would like to avail of this loophole ir there is one.

they are not guesses its the truth.u can pay a solictor to tell u the same thing if u want..unfollow thread time

Might be as well to pay to be sure, far better than talking to eejits here. This is what I hate about these threads and everyone was the same, bolloxoligy, from the same sort of bolloxs on here. Far to quick to criticise and never accept that someone can make s mistake until it comes on your own doorstep, very childish if you ask me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Hi my brother was convicted of drink driving this year with a level of 51mgs. I was just wondering can he get his license back through the new loophole even though his case was in March????

I really really hope not.

Might be as well to pay to be sure, far better than talking to eejits here. This is what I hate about these threads and everyone was the same, bolloxoligy, from the same sort of bolloxs on here. Far to quick to criticise and never accept that someone can make s mistake until it comes on your own doorstep, very childish if you ask me

Only a childish mind would drink and drive.

ComfortKid wrote: »
    Boards is the worst place to ask a question like this, you every one on here never made a mistake in there lives. There all perfect and love to look down on people.

The only way you will know is by contacting a solicitor really..

Can you tell me what this loophole is? My "friend" was recently caught drink driving aswell, although only 31mg. He hasn't been to court yet, but would like to avail of this loophole ir there is one.

I think it goes that if your "friend" was caught before may I think and his breathalyser printout wasn't in English and Irish it has to be thrown out because it didn't follow a law that was passed in 2010

My "brother" was sentenced in March and just wondering could he get it back

its a mistake that should not happen..hope he gets whats coming to him.wonder would ur attitude still be the same if he knocked a person down and didnt stop.

Judging by his posts, he'd probably be delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Bicycle time for your brother. It'll do him good. He'll be as fit as a fiddle by the time he serves out his ban. Have a word with him about red lights though. He has already come to the attention of the guards!

Have to live the fact that those damming drink drivers probably live in a big city and not rural Ireland with no public transport. Also the fact that they hide behind their screen names for safety sake because they are cowards

The only coward here is your brother for not facing up to his crime and looking for sneaky loopholes out.

Hunter101 wrote:
    I think it goes that if your "friend" was caught before may I think and his breathalyser printout wasn't in English and Irish it has to be thrown out because it didn't follow a law that was passed in 2010

The little receipt like thing with the results of the breathalyser on it? My friend only got caught a few weeks ago, but that receipt thing is all in English? I'm going to suggest it to my solicitor although I wouldn't hold my breath. Thanks.

Saipanne wrote:
    Only a childish mind would drink and drive.

Or a drunken mind.

The little receipt like thing with the results of the breathalyser on it? My friend only got caught a few weeks ago, but that receipt thing is all in English? I'm going to suggest it to my solicitor although I wouldn't hold my breath. Thanks.

If it's only a few weeks ago the loophole has been closed the following day (overnight actually)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Chijj

you are an idiot op.

Your "brother" has proven himself incapable of having the responsibility of driving a car and he should live with his consequences.

51 mg is a good bit over the limit, should you not be more concerned that your "brother" thought this was acceptable rather than him getting his license back ?

If it's only a few weeks ago the loophole has been closed the following day (overnight actually)

ComfortKid I'll pm you, couldn't be bothered dealing with all this hot air by narrow minded assholes

Mod:

User banned for trolling

Loophole was snapped shut in September. Your 'friend' should cop on.

12 miles to my nearest pub. No taxi service.

ComfortKid I'll pm you, couldn't be bothered dealing with all this hot air by narrow minded assholes

The reason drink driving is such an anomaly the days is because of 'narrow minded assholes'. We don't tolerate is because it's about as stupid, selfish and reckless an act any individual can routinely carry out.

They're is an asshole on this thread. But it ain't any of the respondents to your query.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

There were a significant amount of cases for non production of licences at court dismissed during the week. This had nothing to do with drink driving laws.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/district-court/judge-dismisses-cases-about-not-producing-driving-licence-in-court-1.2427077

Specifically to drink driving cases, there is this ruling which involves a specific machine that is used to read alcohol levels and how it produces. Keep in mind that this is to be appealed to the Supreme Court.

http://www.pgmcmahon.com/drink-driving-prosecutions-after-the-high-court-ruling-on-language-of-test-results/

That's a pain in the hole. Tough. Move closer to a pub if you can't do without a drink.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,345 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Presuming you have more than one friend you meet there, rotate turns as driver and the driver stays off the drink that night and picks up and drops everyone home. It's not really that difficult a solution and much cheaper than the alternative.

1. Move.

2. Designated Driver

3. Quit drink

4. Drink and drive and potentially kill some child like that young fella in the news recently.

Only a sociopath would choose 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Oh in that case, drink as much as you like.

Perhaps its a duty for the pubs to organise getting their customer home at the end of the night. Rather than risking the safety of local drivers.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

Guys, you're soooo narrow minded for not recklessly operating a tonne of metal at 60mph while drunk.

Narrow minded!

Or a drunken mind.

Nah. That doesn't work. Your mind was together enough to know where it was trying to get. Your earlier, sober mind brought the car. Your slightly later, still relatively sober mind decided to have one more. You didn't suddenly become incapable of rational thought the instance you entered the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Very rare part of Ireland to A) Have no pub for 12 miles and B) have no hackney or taxi service to get you there, both of which deprives one of their constitutional right to drink and drive ;)

Does it say Hunter101 on your birth cert?

This was just a massacre. He is trying to defend the indefensible.

Seriously though. How can anyone drink and drive after hearing about that kid dying recently? Where yer man got seven years? How can anyone do that?

Saipanne wrote: »

Seriously though. How can anyone drink and drive after hearing about that kid dying recently? Where yer man got seven years? How can anyone do that?

Well, we do it an awful lot less than we used to. Somebody always will. If we didn't have idiots, the rest of us wouldn't know where we fell on the bell curve. The world needs bell curves...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,813 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

you d be surprised what foolish things people with potential mental health problems would do!

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    you d be surprised what foolish things people with potential mental health problems would do!

When I said the word sociopath, I meant it. Incapable of feeling empathy for others. It's the only explanation.

so what do we do about it or what should we do about it?

Almost what we do. Long bans, and longer sentences where death or injury are involved. And publish court reports with names, addresses, and photos.

Not much more than we do now. Come down hard on drink drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

It's despairing to see some people still defend those who drink and drive and also think it's excusable because they live miles from their nearest pub with no taxi service. Few enough who drink and drive are caught without the gobshites getting off through some ridiculous loophole.

Saipanne wrote:
    Guys, you're soooo narrow minded for not recklessly operating a tonne of metal at 60mph while drunk.

Recklessly? I've had 4 or 5 pints and drove home for 25 years without incident. A couple of pints doesn't turn you in to some race driving lunatic at all!

endacl wrote: »
    Almost what we do. Long bans, and longer sentences where death or injury are involved. And publish court reports with names, addresses, and photos.
    Not much more than we do now. Come down hard on drink drivers.

hmmm, punishing mental health problems! hmmm, thats working, isnt it!

why not start serious investing in our mental health services, by providing free, yes free services such as counselling etc to people with addiction problems such as alcohol and drug addiction. lets start taking our mental health problems seriously. yes i know, we are slowly getting there, we are starting to realise the issues with mental health problems, we re starting to talk about them, and starting to react to these realisations but we re not doing enough. was recently talking to a psychologists about these issues. he said, christmas time is a disaster in this country mainly due to alcohol related issues. he said its good for his business but its a real messy time for people. stay safe out there folks, enjoy your christmas but please do look after yourself and others, and if you think you're in trouble, please get help.

Recklessly? I've had 4 or 5 pints and drove home for 25 years without incident. A couple of pints doesn't turn you in to some race driving lunatic at all!

OK. It's only just gone midday, and I've already had enough stupid for one day.

Unfollow thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

The accused seemed to be 'happy' with the evidence as presented. So, as I understand it, to avail of a particular point of law (the loophole), it needed to be argued at the time of the court case or certainly within the appeal period (30 days?). Only a new fact would mean that an appeal would be allowed now.

The accused can, of course, raise this with their legal advisers.

WARNING: STUPIDITY ALERT!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

can the admins tracethis guys ip and alert AGS please.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,781 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Moderator: Thread closed.