Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Custom Computer for Oculus DK2

Options
  • 05-11-2015 4:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭

Hi guys,
    i am currently doing my masters in college and am going using the oculus dk2 as part of my project so i need to build a custom pc that will be able to run it. i am trying to be cheap enough as possible as havent much money to spend on it. Never built a pc before so any help on parts would be really appreciated. I dont need to worry about future proofing the pc as i only need it for the oculus for less than two years and then i will be done with it.
    Dont need a monitor or hard drive as i can get them from the college and i can put my own operating system on it.
    Im hoping to get it as far below €1000 as possible but if you know a build that is a bit over it please let me know also as i may be able to fork out the extra money on it.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭Xenoronin

Q: What are the minimum requirements and recommended specifications for the Oculus Rift Development Kit 2?

A: Minimum requirements: A desktop computer running Windows 7 or Windows 8, 2 USB 2.0 ports (at least one powered), and a dedicated graphics card Nvidia GTX 600 series or AMD Radeon HD 7000 series (or better) with DVI-D or HDMI graphics output.

Recommended specifications: In addition to the minimum spec it is recommended that your dedicated graphics card be capable of running current generation 3D games at 1080p resolution at 75fps or higher.

Probably looking at
    i3 4170 CPU
    nVidia GTX960
    H87 Motherboard
    8gb DDR3 RAM 1600MHz
    450W PSU