Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

jim mcguinness faith & medjugorje

• 31-10-2015 10:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭

I was pretty moved by J. McGuinness's interview yesterday on TLL. It can't be easy to have lost 2 brothers. Someone said today is he strong catholic. McGuinness Effect has results, how much has his faith shaped him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭La Fenetre

What's his connection with Medjugorje ?

I know Lionel Messi spends time there whenever he can, and Marin Cilic the top level tennis player is from Medjugorje.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭cattolico

La Fenetre wrote: »
    What's his connection with Medjugorje ?

I know Lionel Messi spends time there whenever he can, and Marin Cilic the top level tennis player is from Medjugorje.

I'm not a believer in Medjugorje, or rather I don't take a position on it. However many people who have been transformed after visiting the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I think you should take a closer look at Medj. The Church can't pronounce judgement on the authenticity until the event has finished but it'd be a crying shame to wait until it's over before considering it.
    Our Lady appearing daily for +30 years must be a matter of significance.

I've been and loved it. Want to go back again. Hopefully by next Spring...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

I think you should take a closer look at Medj. The Church can't pronounce judgement on the authenticity until the event has finished but it'd be a crying shame to wait until it's over before considering it.
    Our Lady appearing daily for +30 years must be a matter of significance.

I've been and loved it. Want to go back again. Hopefully by next Spring...

Does She realy appear every day, or is it mass imagination? I have no strong view one way or another.

Yes. At 6:40 pm, local time iirc. The daily apparition doesn't concern me too much (as in I don't desire to see her) and only some of the visionaries see her; it's not a public appearance, if you get me.

I am very skeptical about Medjugorje. The supposed visionaries have a lot of vested interests in the economy around the place. So they are either incredible con artists who can keep up an act for decades or they are the real deal.. The topic tends to polarise catholics. Leaving the supposed vissionaries aside.. Medjugorje seems to have transform many people. Pray, Fast, say the rosary, go to mass. I suppose its basic catholicism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭katydid

cattolico wrote: »
    I was pretty moved by J. McGuinness's interview yesterday on TLL. It can't be easy to have lost 2 brothers. Someone said today is he strong catholic. McGuinness Effect has results, how much has his faith shaped him?
    Who?

katydid wrote: »
    Who?

Jim McGuinness. Do I really need to say more?

Yes. Never heard of him.

I am very skeptical about Medjugorje. The supposed visionaries have a lot of vested interests in the economy around the place. So they are either incredible con artists who can keep up an act for decades or they are the real deal.. The topic tends to polarise catholics. Leaving the supposed vissionaries aside.. Medjugorje seems to have transform many people. Pray, Fast, say the rosary, go to mass. I suppose its basic catholicism.

Read some of the messages and pray about it. Our Lady has been calling people to conversion, prayer, reading scripture, worthy reception of the sacraments and fasting.
    The apparitions (allegedly) began when the visionaries were children and one of them now lives and works in the USA. All the medical tests, psychological evaluations, etc; have been done with a long time and the Church is 'waiting' for the apparitions to finish before giving its official declaration. Pope JPII has said that if he wasn't pope, he would go. Benedict referred to it favourably too, iirc.

No-one is obliged to believe it but it'd be a shame to not discern whether God has chosen a little village in Bosnia to make Himself known.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Yes. Never heard of him.

Ditto.

Google says he's a former sports player and administrator. So not someone whose opinion I'd take any notice of myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

He's the guy who oversaw Donegal's All Ireland win a few years ago and is now a performance analyst with Celtic FC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Yes. Never heard of him.

I think he is the manager of U2 ?

Regarding medjugorie. How would it compare to Knock or Lourdes for example?

I actually know nothing about all three, apart from the fact that many people believe that miracles happen in these places + the fact that some people say they see apparitions of the earthly mother of Jesus. ( I think)?

LordSutch wrote: »
    I think he is the manager of U2 ?

Regarding medjugorie. How would it compare to Knock or Lourdes for example?

I actually know nothing about all three, apart from the fact that many people believe that miracles happen in these places + the fact that some people say they see apparitions of the earthly mother of Jesus. ( I think)?

That's Paul McGuinness, I think. This is some sports guy.

Anyway, I know little about these places; I'd be sceptical about moving suns or moving statues, but if they bring people consolation and spiritual comfort, no harm, I suppose.

That's Paul McGuinness, I think. This is some sports guy.

Anyway, I know little about these places; I'd be sceptical about moving suns or moving statues, but if they bring people consolation and spiritual comfort, no harm, I suppose.

I'm a Catholic and I am pretty sceptical about Medjugorje. It tends to polarise Catholics. That said many people who have been there come back transformed. I suppose God can reap where he has not sowed. Who knows, time will tell.

As regards Jim McGuinness, Well I suppose I was impressed by his Faith and Conviction. Certainly in sport he did something no-one expected. I was impressed when he said he was sure he would see his dead brothers again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭indy_man

Jim McGuinness gave a recent interview on the Late late show. He came across as very sincere, deep and all round decent guy. Not much was mentioned about his faith but then again RTE is not exactly promoting faith as much as it did in the past, take that Saturday night tripe with Ray DArcy as a example.

indy_man wrote: »
    Jim McGuinness gave a recent interview on the Late late show. He came across as very sincere, deep and all round decent guy. Not much was mentioned about his faith but then again RTE is not exactly promoting faith as much as it did in the past, take that Saturday night tripe with Ray DArcy as a example.
    Why would RTE promote faith?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭Nick Park

Why would RTE promote faith?

For the same reason that RTE promotes GAA sports. Because a huge number of the Irish population (the people who ultimately own RTE) see faith as being important enough to their lives to participate in religious services on a regular basis.

As a committed secularist (who happens also to be a Christian) I want to live in a secular State where religion is afforded no special privileges, but neither is it subject to any special discrimination or penalties.

Therefore religion, as with any other popular interest or activity, should be covered by a taxpayer-funded broadcaster.

So, we take it for granted that RTE provides coverage of gaelic games, soccer and rugby. At times such coverage is critical, exposing poor practices and scandals, within these sports, but for the most part it is positive.

In the same way RTE should provide coverage of religious matters, given that more people participate in religious events each week than the combined total of those who participate in all forms of sport. And, in a just and fair secular society, such coverage would include criticism, but would for the most part reflect the positive participation of such large numbers.

I might add, as a non-Roman Catholic, that it would be only fair, given that Catholics comprise the vast majority of religious participants in Ireland, that minority religions should feature occasionally, but that the majority of religious broadcasting should cater for the larger Catholic audience.

That's how secularism should work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭La Fenetre

Nick Park wrote: »
    For the same reason that RTE promotes GAA sports. Because a huge number of the Irish population (the people who ultimately own RTE) see faith as being important enough to their lives to participate in religious services on a regular basis.

As a committed secularist (who happens also to be a Christian) I want to live in a secular State where religion is afforded no special privileges, but neither is it subject to any special discrimination or penalties.

Therefore religion, as with any other popular interest or activity, should be covered by a taxpayer-funded broadcaster.

So, we take it for granted that RTE provides coverage of gaelic games, soccer and rugby. At times such coverage is critical, exposing poor practices and scandals, within these sports, but for the most part it is positive.

In the same way RTE should provide coverage of religious matters, given that more people participate in religious events each week than the combined total of those who participate in all forms of sport. And, in a just and fair secular society, such coverage would include criticism, but would for the most part reflect the positive participation of such large numbers.

I might add, as a non-Roman Catholic, that it would be only fair, given that Catholics comprise the vast majority of religious participants in Ireland, that minority religions should feature occasionally, but that the majority of religious broadcasting should cater for the larger Catholic audience.

As a non Roman Catholic as well, and someone who prefers a secular state I agree. Showing a football game, or talking positively about football, is not promoting football to the exclusion of other sports. Only reporting on football hooligans, while refusing to show any football games or anything positive about the sport would quickly be acknowledged for what it is. Some sectarians want to mask this reality whenever something positive is ever shown about certain faiths in the media, or when a person even dares to mention their particular faith in a positive manner on TV. Truly secular states and organisations don't take sides between belief and non belief, they don't exclude any positive portrayals while exclusively promoting only negative aspects, and the continued practice of exclusion on that basis. However many with a ulterior sectarian agenda would like to adopt and warp the meaning of the word secularism to mean exclusion of any positive portrayal or display of certain faiths, and they seem to think their attempts are opaque and well masked, when in fact they are see through.

That doesn't answer my question at all. I asked why RTE should PROMOTE religion. I've no problem with it providing religious material for viewers, just like it provides sports or music. But PROMOTING it? It doesn't promote GAA, it shows many sports, more or less in line with their popularity.

La Fenetre wrote: »
    As a non Roman Catholic as well, and someone who prefers a secular state I agree. Showing a football game, or talking positively about football, is not promoting football to the exclusion of other sports. Only reporting on football hooligans, while refusing to show any football games or anything positive about the sport would quickly be acknowledged for what it is. Some sectarians want to mask this reality whenever something positive is ever shown about certain faiths in the media, or when a person even dares to mention their particular faith in a positive manner on TV. Truly secular states and organisations don't take sides between belief and non belief, they don't exclude any positive portrayals while exclusively promoting only negative aspects, and the continued practice of exclusion on that basis. However many with a ulterior sectarian agenda would like to adopt and warp the meaning of the word secularism to mean exclusion of any positive portrayal or display of certain faiths, and they seem to think their attempts are opaque and well masked, when in fact they are see through.
    I agree with all that. But it's nothing to do with the question, which was why should RTE promote religion, which was what indy-man suggested. Actually, to be accurate, he used the word "faith". But the question is the same. There's a difference between providing religious material for those that wish it, and promoting it, which involves a specific agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭sing_dumb

Whatever you own personal views / opinion / faith or none.....Medjugorde is a very special, spiritual place, where great healing and transformation happens. Been there several times, and met Muslims, Japanese Akita believers, Buddihists, even Native Americans, and every other creed possible, there....and not one had a bad word to say about the place. Quite the contrary, in fact. 2million visit there every year, between Mar - Oct, and its still basically a little village, not commercialised like Lourdes. I first found myself going there, after the sudden death of my gorgeous 8yr old daughter, from a one-in-a-million form of Stroke, and, believe me, I hated God then. The thing is...you don't actually,( in so much) ~go~ there...but...popular opinion is that you're "invited". coz of whatever the heavy Cross is you're carrying. Long, long tiring journey to get there, expensive enough to travel, certainly no luxury there, but....hey...the spiritual rewards....simply .indescribable. Great place of prophesy too, none of the recent world / Irish events would be a shock to me, as we have been sorta fore-warned. It's the accuracy / veracity of the prophesies, actually, that I find more scary.

For myself personally, I can honestly state that I felt (slow + gradual) healing over there, of my wounded, sad, grieving and bereaved inner soul. I've no idea why or how...but...maybe it's because it's the only place in the world where there is real peace and soul food to be found? It's not been authenticated by the Vatican yet, because the Bishop of Mostar and Sarajevo won't admit it's REAL. Who cares...??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭Nick Park

That doesn't answer my question at all. I asked why RTE should PROMOTE religion. I've no problem with it providing religious material for viewers, just like it provides sports or music. But PROMOTING it? It doesn't promote GAA, it shows many sports, more or less in line with their popularity.

I think it does promote GAA. Basically, if you watch most sports coverage, the presenters are pushing the popularity of their sport, in ways that are quite 'evangelistic'. It isn't really a "Meh, we're showing sport, but you can take it or leave it and we don't really care if you like it or not."

And when the rugby presenters are talking about rugby, they are pretty enthusiastic too. And don't get me started on soccer; they just go on and on and on...

Of course they show sports followed by the majority more than minority sport; not too much coverage of the Tiddlywinks League, but that's par for the course. (To use a sporting analogy) They are not promoting sport, just giving the punters what they want - and boring the rest of us to death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I think it does promote GAA. Basically, if you watch most sports coverage, the presenters are pushing the popularity of their sport, in ways that are quite 'evangelistic'.

Ah here, I have to ask how much sports coverage do you watch? Yes the main presenters (Michael Lyster for GAA, Darragh Maloney for football etc.) are/seem enthusiastic, of course they have to be! But then if you actually listen to the analysis... Brolly and Spillane have laid massively into the game (Gaelic) over the years, see Eamo and Giles giving out stick about players/teams (if I have to hear one more story about street football in South America versus young lads being too fancy in Europe...). I've lost count of the amount of times I've heard a half time analysis in which the analysts say you're better off not watching :P

On topic, I haven't actually seen it. Is it still up on Player? I'm guessing they have a time out on how long they keep shows up there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

sing_dumb wrote: »
    Great place of prophesy too, none of the recent world / Irish events would be a shock to me, as we have been sorta fore-warned. It's the accuracy / veracity of the prophesies, actually, that I find more scary.

Where would I find these prophesies? What ones would I look at to find an example of a scarily accurate one?
    And have you any thoughts about the purpose of these prophesies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭brian_t

c_man wrote: »
    On topic, I haven't actually seen it. Is it still up on Player? I'm guessing they have a time out on how long they keep shows up there...

http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/the-late-late-show-68/10486266/

13 days remaining.

brian_t wrote: »

Thanks, about 21 minutes in for anyone else curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

Medjugorje is controversial. While there are people who swear by it, others including Croatian bishops are very negative towards it. For instance, one criticism was that the messages were a bit odd until the Franciscan took charge. I found the spot interesting. People take comfort from it.