Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Augers making loud noise??

• 30-10-2015 11:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭

Lads auger between motor and last feeder is making aloud noise, theres a 12ft gap between last feeder and motor for extra feeders in the future. Would it be a stone? Ids are up the walls so anyone knoe how to fix it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Orby auger with the chain drive gear boxes; or flexy auger in a poly pipe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭angusangus

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Lads auger between motor and last feeder is making aloud noise, theres a 12ft gap between last feeder and motor for extra feeders in the future. Would it be a stone? Ids are up the walls so anyone knoe how to fix it?
    If it's over 80db you should be wearing hearing protection! Maybe ring your local agriculture department this is a health and safety issue and they can send out a guy to measure the sound level
    in the meantime I would suggest you get ear plugs and any animals in close proximity be moved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

angusangus wrote: »
    If it's over 80db you should be wearing hearing protection! Maybe ring your local agriculture department this is a health and safety issue and they can send out a guy to measure the sound level
    in the meantime I would suggest you get ear plugs and any animals in close proximity be moved

So what's this gotta do with fixing the problem, or did you miss the total point of the op question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

If they're Orby it could be a bearing or chain seizing up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

td5man wrote: »
    If they're Orby it could be a bearing or chain seizing up.

No batch feeder motor looks okay, flexi steel auger, is it hard to get back on if I explore?

Only have the Orby ones here.
    Is the "cut off" micro switch working properly? Would it have failed to stop the auger in time, and allowed the auger fill with feed between the last feeder and the motor? You might have to cut an inspection "window" in the auger tube to find out. Cut it at the proposed position of the last feeder nearest the motor. You can blank off this hole with a piece of tin and a few big jubilee clips afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

One of the augers here has a bend in it that makes a screeching noise when there's no meal running through it. Once the meal gets to that point the screech stops. You said it's between the motor and the last feeder so there's never meal there ? Maybe that's it.
    Wouldn't be hot on opening it. Remember that coil is like a wound up spring. If you open it at the motor it could take the fingers off you. Careful with it.

farmerjj wrote: »
    So what's this gotta do with fixing the problem, or did you miss the total point of the op question?
    If it's as noisy as the op suggests its a
    Health and safety issue and needs to be addressed asap! And hearing protection until the problem is solved is essential! Any animals also that may be affected or aggrevated by the noise should be moved as it's an animal welfare issue! First step is get the noise level measured and area assessed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Health and safety issue and needs to be addressed asap! And hearing protection until the problem is solved is essential! Any animals also that may be affected or aggrevated by the noise should be moved as it's an animal welfare issue! First step is get the noise level measured and area assessed

Do you work in the Civil Service by any chance?

Would it be possible to turn it back in case there is something stuck between the motor and the last feeder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,764 ✭✭✭White Clover

FFS the OP is looking for suggestions to prevent the screeching. It's not going to be screeching while he's working on it. If he can get it fixed before milking he won't have to get ear plugs for the cows or himself as it won't be screeching anymore.
    Some use you would be trying to troubleshoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Ah here there's no need to go spending money on someone to measure how loud something is when op already considers its too loud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

FFS the OP is looking for suggestions to prevent the screeching. It's not going to be screeching while he's working on it. If he can get it fixed before milking he won't have to get ear plugs for the cows or himself as it won't be screeching anymore.
    Thanks for that. it's a fantastic image of the op putting in his own earplugs and then the cows earplugs so that the auger that sounds like there's something wrong with doesn't damage their hearing when its breaking down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Bin empty, surfer running idle. ??!!!ðŸ‘ðŸ‘

Welcome to Boards ;-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I would suggest you get ear plugs and any animals in close proximity be moved

Why can't the Cows have ear plugs too? Why should they be inconvenienced by having to move?

I know there's a risk of a Cow losing a small pair of ear plugs but she could keep them clipped to the three point harnesses she ought to be wearing because of the step up to the cubicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Jb1989

image.jpg

Jb1989 wrote: »
    image.jpg

Would those headphones be under 80db. We have to consider the cows hearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Would you be Chemical Byrnes love child per chance?

With Stock> ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

if they are still working I would leave them alone, nothing worse than filling the hoppers by hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

I keep seeing the thread title as 'Angus making loud noises'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Opened the auger off the motor with the Bro, tricky but grand, some filings on the auger so maybe there was contact, sounds okay but ill see in the morning! If not health and safety could be giving me a buzz about torturous treatment to livestock, funny didn't stop cows from coming in. Tom morning could result in a deaf herd and herdsman:-)

ABlur wrote: »
    I keep seeing the thread title as 'Angus making loud noises'!

I wouldn't worry about it. Angus will have had someone measure the noise and arranged for proper hearing protection if it's too loud.

Farm safety should never be taken lightly
    I'm not here to lecture or debate
    I'm disappointed with the frivolous attitude of some here

ROTFLMAO .........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    ROTFLMAO .........

Shush, not so loud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Hey I'm half cut (maybe 3/4 😂) and I read it as angus making noise I was going 2 say better have the feck er making noise than not....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Opened the auger off the motor with the Bro, tricky but grand, some filings on the auger so maybe there was contact, sounds okay but ill see in the morning! If not health and safety could be giving me a buzz about torturous treatment to livestock, funny didn't stop cows from coming in. Tom morning could result in a deaf herd and herdsman:-)

I do think your cavalier attitude leaves you at risk of serious punishment though.

Which of the two crimes carries the longer sentence - being caught with noisy augurs or feeding nuts?