Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ALDI SUNDAY 1st Nov: Bauhn 55" Full HD TV - €550

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Love the way one of the stand out features is "Remote control with batteries" :pac:

The energy rating image gives B55-63FHDF which returns nothing on google?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 KosaH

"The integrated Saorview HD tuner gives you access to over 50 digital TV channels and 24 radio stations, all subscription-free!"

Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Popeleo

KosaH wrote: »
    "The integrated Saorview HD tuner gives you access to over 50 digital TV channels and 24 radio stations, all subscription-free!"

Really?

Not really. Just some muppet in the office copying and pasting the UK website details and replacing Freeview with Saorview:

https://www.aldi.co.uk/en/specialbuys/sun-01-nov/product-detail/ps/p/product-page-94/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭greasepalm

ok then i will buy the tv and will return it faulty as the 50 digital channels dont work.freeview listed and is that not mpeg2 and saorview is mpeg4?

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

greasepalm wrote: »
    freeview listed and is that not mpeg2 and saorview is mpeg4?

It mentions FreeviewHD, which is MPEG4 DVB-T2, which is backwards compatible with MPEG4 DVB-T1 which Saorview uses (in basic terms).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

byte wrote: »
    It mentions FreeviewHD, which is MPEG4 DVB-T2, which is backwards compatible with MPEG4 DVB-T1 which Saorview uses (in basic terms).

Plus if you live on the East coast,you can pick up digital tv from the UK.There's the 50 channels straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭PeterDuggan

Many bad reviews for previous models of Bauhn tv... http://www.productreview.com.au/p/bauhn-50-127cm-full-hd.html.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 enoefay

The details are really poor on this product ...

Whats the refresh rate and the response time ..?
    Is there an optical connection for a sound bar ..? Cause it would be needed (2 x 8w speakers is not great)
    I assume its LED as it doesn't state otherwise ..?

The price is really low and generally when it is then its time to run a mile ...

The cheapest 55in HD TV argos has is 749

But at least it has all the details about it ...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

https://www.aldi.ie/en/specialbuys/sun-01-nov/products-detail-page/ps/p/55-full-hd-tv/?pk_campaign=ie_product_newsletter&pk_kwd=2015-10-30_15-20

Any reason why this TV should or should not be purchased.
    Description
    Get large screen entertainment of the highest quality with the Bauhn 55" Full HD TV, offering full HD resolution, a built-in Saorview HD tuner and USB playback. Full HD 1080p provides great clarity and vibrant colours, with up to 5x the resolution of standard definition TVs. Enjoy a cinematic experience in your own home whatever you’re watching and enjoy a crystal clear viewing experience on this impressive 55" display.

The integrated Saorview HD tuner gives you access to over 50 digital TV channels and 24 radio stations, all subscription-free! In addition to 3 HDMI ports that are ideal for connecting your high definition devices, the Bauhn TV boasts 2 USB connections that let you play back your digital photos and movies from a USB device.

Built-in Saorview HD tuner
    1920 x 1080 resolution
    Wall mount VESA standard size 200 x 200
    Remote control with active energy batteries
    Metal feet stand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

kceire wrote: »

No reason not to if you can house a 55". I can't :o

It's full HD.
    3 HDMIs.
    Dual USB.
    Speakers might not be great but thats easily addressed.

And as usual, the ALDI 3yr warranty is the 'deal sealer' IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭moleyv

It doesn't say what the refresh rate is. If it is low it may be more noticeable on such a large screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

What 50 channels can you get on saorview? Thought there were only 8 or 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭PeterDuggan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

In fairness, there was 20 reviews on the first link. I'm sure there was '000s sold. Most were on to complain that TV failed after 2yrs. Its €200 lower than Powercity's cheapest offering in the 55" range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Did we ever think we'd see the day when we'd be wondering if a 55" tv for less than €600 is a good buy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What 50 channels can you get on saorview? Thought there were only 8 or 9

They just lifted the blurb from the UK description, the addition of Saorview being the only change.

Shoddy stuff tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,259 ✭✭✭chicorytip

550 euro is not exactly bargain price territory for that type of "spurious" product. A Panasonic 50" plasma would be a better alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

dodzy wrote: »
    No reason not to if you can house a 55". I can't :o

It's full HD.
    3 HDMIs.
    Dual USB.
    Speakers might not be great but thats easily addressed.

And as usual, the ALDI 3yr warranty is the 'deal sealer' IMO

The 3 year warranty is worthless if you get the TV home and discover a dead or stuck pixel, like I did before.
    At least in a shop you can ask to see the TV unboxed and working before you buy and as for the 3 year warranty, Richer sounds give a 6 year on their TVs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

chicorytip wrote: »
    550 euro is not exactly bargain price territory for that type of "spurious" product. A Panasonic 50" plasma would be a better alternative.

If only they existed any more...no decent plasmas can be got now...spending €500 on a 5 year old kuro will get you a real telly to be proud of, even a second hand Panasonic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭styron

Invincible wrote: »
    The 3 year warranty is worthless if you get the TV home and discover a dead or stuck pixel, like I did before.
    At least in a shop you can ask to see the TV unboxed and working before you buy and as for the 3 year warranty, Richer sounds give a 6 year on their TVs.

Most monitor/TV warranties are immune to a dead pixel or two, but Aldi also have a 60 Day no quibble refund if anything doesn't meet your expectations, provided you retain the original packaging and receipt.

I wouldn't mention it as faulty though - particularly as they and most retailers/manufacturers consider a dead pixel or three (among two megapixels - 2073600 [1080p]) below that threshold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

I wouldn't touch this tv. With very few panel manufacturers left, tvs are still items where you usually "get what you pay for". The mother has a 2 year old Vestel tv with terrible speakers and the panel is already giving up, getting blocky and having to reset the tv a lot. I have a samsung for 3 years that's been perfect so far. If you have the €550 now, save it and add another €550 to it next year and you'll get a proper TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

chicorytip wrote: »

Plasma will have a reflective screen and the danger of screen burn. Plus it's 5" smaller.

And, maybe I'm wrong, but the cheap Panny stuff is just rebadged tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,332 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

The mother has a 2 year old Vestel tv with terrible speakers and the panel is already giving up, getting blocky and having to reset the tv a lot.

If she'd bought it in aldi it would still be under warranty. I have a 7 year old Mirai bought in Tesco & it's still working fine, it luck of the draw.

loyatemu wrote: »
    If she'd bought it in aldi it would still be under warranty. I have a 7 year old Mirai bought in Tesco & it's still working fine, it luck of the draw.

It's a bit over the 2 year mark now, probably 2 years and 3 months. There's a lot of junk out there in the TV market. My sister got a 32 inch Panasonic tv there recently for around €280. Thought that was a great bargain for a reputable brand. I did a bit of googling and it seems that even Panasonic use Vestel panels in their cheap tvs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

Soarer wrote: »
    Did we ever think we'd see the day when we'd be wondering if a 55" tv for less than €600 is a good buy?

Cheap != Good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I think Samsung and LG are the only manufacturers to not sell rebranded third party tvs as their own these days.

Akrasia wrote: »
    I think Samsung and LG are the only manufacturers to not sell rebranded third party tvs as their own these days.

Sony don't use 3rd parties and also make the best tv's money can buy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Sony don't use 3rd parties and also make the best tv's money can buy.

Lordie, you need to update your thoughts there mate, you are 100% wrong.

Sony exited panel manufacturing a number of years ago due to heavy losses, so much so that the Sony TV division was completely separated from the Sony parent because it was dragging it down.

Samsung, LG and Sharp have been providing Sony with their panels for the last number of years and then went to an un-named China supplier last year for its updated X-Reality Pro processing engine and Triluminous colour technology.
    Unreliable supply led them back to LG for it's premium range this year but the quality of blacks are very poor from LG so the best Sony models this year are below flagship level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I wouldn't touch this tv. With very few panel manufacturers left, tvs are still items where you usually "get what you pay for". The mother has a 2 year old Vestel tv with terrible speakers and the panel is already giving up, getting blocky and having to reset the tv a lot. I have a samsung for 3 years that's been perfect so far. If you have the €550 now, save it and add another €550 to it next year and you'll get a proper TV.

I bought a Vestel before thinking 'Sure, it'll be fine'. It actually went bad after two weeks, first developed a vertical line, then one HDMI stopped working, couldn't believe it.

That said my current TV is a UMC manufactured 'Sharp' Aquos and it's fine, great picture but dreadful sound (have a seperate), was 449 for a 50", still on sale in Tesco. Don't regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭ralphie

Anybody buy this 55 inch TV in Aldi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭eronayne

Looked at it last night instore and couldn't figure out if it was a plasma screen or LCD/LED so didn't purchase.

would probably give it a punt if it was not a plasma panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

eronayne wrote: »
    Looked at it last night instore and couldn't figure out if it was a plasma screen or LCD/LED so didn't purchase.

Why plasmas have a much better picture. Reason they didn't catch on was because they were more expensive to make and people wanted ultra thin screens even if football looks a blurry mess on most of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Plasmas are great, but nobody makes them anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭ralphie

I think it's LED.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

Jaysus, what made you think it was plasma?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭highdef

Try pick it up. If you can't pick it up easily enough, it's probably plasma. Doubt it though. Eight years ago I gave my in laws my old aldi 32 inch led TV. It was nearly 5 years old at the time. Still in perfect working order and is used daily.... Sometimes you get lucky with these bargains. Having said that, it's so old that it has dvi instead of HDMI and doesn't do hdcp but they are happy connecting the sky box via scart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭Ten Pin

Looking at the energy label from aldi site, at 90 watts it's probably LED/LCD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

Not a hope this panel is a plasma :).

For the price, it is most definitely a bog standard LED/LCD, better quality OLED panels are way more expensive. My 7 year old Panasonic plasma is still going strong, picture quality can't be beaten, however plasmas are heavy, expensive to make and power-hungry, therefore no-one is making them any longer.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

It's LCD or (highly unlikely) Plasma, there is no such thing as a LED screen.
    What LED indicates is the technology behind lighting the LCD screen.
    Stupid marketing people make it out that LED screens are better when in reality they don't exist.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

slave1 wrote: »
    It's LCD or (highly unlikely) Plasma, there is no such thing as a LED screen.
    What LED indicates is the technology behind lighting the LCD screen.
    Stupid marketing people make it out that LED screens are better when in reality they don't exist.
    Actually there are led screens where every pixel is a separately addressable OLED so you can get plasma levels of darkness, great if you watch a lot of horror or sci-fi. They are the future, but for early adopters you are talking about a laying down a couple of grand for a TV.

In the meantime most things described as LED just use LED's instead of fluorescent as the backlight for an LCD panel.

And yes marketing people should flung out to space on Ark B.
    Sick and tired of seeing TV's with a "HD Ready" badge and not knowing if they are really HD or not.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

highdef wrote: »
    Having said that, it's so old that it has dvi instead of HDMI and doesn't do hdcp but they are happy connecting the sky box via scart.
    off topic just try a HDMI-DVI converter

http://www.buyincoins.com/item/325.html#.Vjkn3mtDvDc €1.53 and if you order now it would make a nice Christmas present.

If it has a VGA input then Plan B might be http://www.buyincoins.com/item/18138.html#.VjkpC2tDvDc HDMI to VGA €5.52

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Tesco were selling 50in Blaupunkt tvs during Christmas last year for 300 euro. Was very tempted. Looked nice too.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

AMKC wrote: »
    Tesco were selling 50in Blaupunkt tvs during Christmas last year for 300 euro. Was very tempted. Looked nice too.
    Junk too unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

Very hard to get a decent Telly at the Mo. LG range is shocking poor at the minute...they had great sets this time last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

zerks wrote: »

Plus if you live on the East coast,you can pick up digital tv from the UK.There's the 50 channels straight away.

Just in case anyone is going to buy this telly (or any digital terrestrial TV) on the basis of picking up the UK digital channels (aka Freeview), this is actually a very difficult thing to achieve for most of the east coast. Anything other than the border counties are going to need an industrial sized aerial to have a chance at picking up Freeview. Reports of anyone getting it in Dublin are few and far between. Here is an example thread from the Terrestrial forum a few weeks ago on boards with someone in Cavan trying to improve their reception from a fairly massive looking aerial...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057509482

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,063 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Very hard to get a decent Telly at the Mo. LG range is shocking poor at the minute...they had great sets this time last year.
    Really? I was just thinking the LG range in Power City these days is absolutely fantastic looking, haven't been keeping up with the reviews and wouldn't pay Power City prices though.

Samsungs current range and they're ugly curved screens and ugly plastic fake chrome stands can feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Etnies

This is like a crash course in TV's. I'd like to know where everyone grabs their knowledge of which LCD's are being used in which TV's and by what company. It seems to change every other month - what to buy and what not to buy.