Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Child locks on Crew Cab Van

• 27-10-2015 6:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭

I recently bought a new Citroen Dispatch Crew Cab van .
    Pretty happy with it in most respects.
    However I sometimes carry my young children in the back seats ( though the main use is for my business) .
    A serious omission seems to be child locks on the back doors. Its not a problem at the moment as my elder two are old enough to know better.
    I have a six month old baby though and would be concerned as she gets older .
    Does anybody know if a clever auto electrician could alter central locking to lock the back doors from the dash ?
    Also is there a legal requirement for new cars to have rear child locks , and do crew cabs slip through the net?
    Not interested in a discussion on road tax etc. , let's keep this on topic lads!

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

Maybe put some 'gaffer' tape across the handle for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭thadg

get on to the main dealer. they can programme the locks.

the berlingos lock the back doors automatically at 5 mph. I got the main dealer to change this as it was very annoying, nearly pulling the back door handle off every time I got out of the van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Rippy

Mine also auto locks the back doors , and I have to press a button on the dash of use the key fob to unlock . Its also a concern as to what could happen in an accident and no one could get the passengers out ? I will get on to Citroen. Really surprised actually that they could get away with these glaring safety omissions on a factory conversion.

most crewcabs are only done when they come into the country unless it is a fairly fresh van

thadg wrote: »
    most crewcabs are only done when they come into the country unless it is a fairly fresh van

Van is only 5 months old. its an official Citroen product., listed on their price list . I think the conversion was done before it was imported , would it matter anyway ?

if you look on the door where the catch is there might be a black circular knob with a groove in it . turn this clockwise or anticlockwise and this might activate it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

If it's taxed commercially you need to look at whether you can carry non-business personnel. This may be the reason that child-locks are not fitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

+1.

Crew cabs are only designed for the transport of employees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,153 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Put the toddler in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭kirving

Will insurance cover be valid in the event of an accident with a child in the back seat?

The vehicle is insured as a six seater for business and social , domestic, pleasure use . No restriction on the age of passengers .

Del2005 wrote: »
    Put the toddler in the middle.

That's the back up plan if there's no way to get it sorted .

Rippy wrote: »
    The vehicle is insured as a six seater for business and social , domestic, pleasure use . No restriction on the age of passengers .

Insured but you could have a problem if taxed commercially.

If it's taxed commercially you need to look at whether you can carry non-business personnel. This may be the reason that child-locks are not fitted.

Here we go again with this pc nonsense.

You are insured to carry any passenger in a crew cab or other commercial which has seats and honestly who gives a damn about the no private use of a commercially taxed vehicle. Half the country uses their commercials privately its totally unworkable to expect them not to. Most people I know who have crew-cabs do so specifically so they can have commercial tax and fit a baby seat/bring kids or other family members around also.
    Insured but you could have a problem if taxed commercially.

When are people going to understand there is no connection between tax and insurance. If you never ever taxed your car and crashed it the insurance don't care never mind which type of tax it has if it is taxed.

Here we go again with this pc nonsense.

You are insured to carry any passenger in a crew cab or other commercial which has seats and honestly who gives a damn about the no private use of a commercially taxed vehicle. Half the country uses their commercials privately its totally unworkable to expect them not to. Most people I know who have crew-cabs do so specifically so they can have commercial tax and fit a baby seat/bring kids or other family members around also.

When are people going to understand there is no connection between tax and insurance. If you never ever taxed your car and crashed it the insurance don't care never mind which type of tax it has if it is taxed.

you want to read he posts you quote bud, I wasn't talking about insurance at all

You want to read the last sentence of the first post, bud.

Well, I take it from that you have it taxed commercially. Good luck with that.

are you just jealous or something?

you will always get these do-gooders talking tripe about commercial tax etc etc:rolleyes:

no garda would even bat an eye lid to this. this man is paying enough tax.

make your child an un-paid employee in the company and the job is oxo:cool:

The way your post was written gave the impression to me you were saying insurance could be an issue for a commercially taxed crew-cab.

Are you suggesting there is even the slightest chance he will get in any trouble over it? It's totally ignored, once you have tax the guards don't care (and rightly so).

I have a number of family members using commercially taxed crew-cabs for mostly private stuff alone never mind all the people I know and people around the area with commercial jeeps or crew cabs for partially private use or totally private use and commuting and I've never heard a single one have even the suggestion of hassle.

It's amazing how someone comes in looking for a bit of advise and people come out with stuff that completely irrelevant to what he asked.

and rightly so, tax should be a flat fee regardless of commercial or engine size.

a 2005 530d is now 600 euro dearer than an artic, reckless carry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭veetwin

Sadly typical of the Motors forum these days. OP asks a valid question about his door locks and in very quickly becomes an accusatory discussion by misinformed keyboard warriors about tax and insurance:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

mullingar wrote: »
    +1.

Crew cabs are only designed for the transport of employees.

Design of crew cabs has zero to do with motor tax or classification of vehicles here in pixe land.
    If the crazy motor tax and VRT system wasn't so stupid most of these vehicles would be registered as private and not commercial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

How crazy would private vrt and tax actually be on such a yoke though?

I think tax would be roughly €570 private, based on emissions of 170.
    VRT would be 27% through. Double what it is on crewcab rate?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    How crazy would private vrt and tax actually be on such a yoke though?

I think tax would be roughly €570 private, based on emissions of 170.
    VRT would be 27% through. Double what it is on crewcab rate?

Commercial vehicles are still on the CC system so the absolute least they will be is 710 (2.0 minimum) but most are 2.5 or 3.0 litre so over a thousand.

Even at 710 you would be insane to pay it when you can tax it for 333.

What I'm saying is that if it were classed as a private vehicle on co2 from day 1. as opposed to a commercial vehicle where commercial vrt was paid and cc tax paid.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What I'm saying is that if it were classed as a private vehicle on co2 from day 1. as opposed to a commercial vehicle where commercial vrt was paid and cc tax paid.

Its still over 200 euro difference in tax (a months worth of diesel or more of some) and would be far more in VRT.

In reality people tax their vehicles on vehicle class. 99% of people with any from of commercial vehicle tax it commercially regardless of use while all cars are taxed as cars on the private scale. This is not what the law says but that's how it works as it makes sense.

In reality the above is how the law should be written. Commercial vehicle pays commercial rate of VRT and commercial rate of tax (333 euro for most everyday vehicles) and cars pay tax on a scale of cars. Nice and simple and none of this rubbish of trying to get people to pay over 1000 euro to tax a commercial jeep.

Then you get into the areas of what makes a car a car as oppose to a van etc.
    not a debate I'm bothering to have tbh as the belief that commercial vehicles are somehow entitled to cheaper tax, regardless of what they're used for is widespread. The thread is off-topic enough as it is.