Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Game Changer - What would you change ?

• 25-10-2015 1:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

Was reading a few different pieces by ex pros - R&A, exiting Chief Executive - Current pros -commentators, etc.......

They all seem to have opinions about where and what we should do with golf next.

There does not seem to be a comfortableness when they talk about the game , there seems to be uncertainty and there is a lack of confidence.

It is a bit strange, as - Golf was never mainstream, it was alternative, it wasn't football or cool or team based.

When Tiger put the game into mainstream , did that create an unrealistic expectation ? Tiger was breaking ground, new ground. There was always going to be overshoot with that.

So big intro - but I was wondering what do actual "real" golfers want with the game - The opinions I'm reading about the game in mainstream outlets are a very narrow perspective. They are people who are too deep and too into golf.

So Boards ?

What one thing would you like to change about the game ?

What would you like to keep the same in the game ?

Are you happy with the way things are - this panic is not needed ?

Is the game still a bit too stuck up it's own ass too much :) ?

Is it ever acceptable for any round to be over 4 hours ?

Is golf equipment and price just gone beyond the beyond of stupidity ?

Technology - keep it coming , or please don't be on the phone at the course ?

Irish golf clubs - are they just past it , a life not compatible with modern life ?

Any other point ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭_DMac_

Cheaper membership options. I don't have a spare €1000 to join any of the 3 clubs closest to me :( other than that I think it's in pretty good hands.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

27 hole rounds

Rules

Love it

Is the game still a bit too stuck up it's own ass too much ?
    No, some clubs maybe but not the game

Yes, 27hole rounds! Seriously though it's a yes, some courses are long and you simply need that time to navigate it

No, it's a choice, nothing wrong with playing the game with lesser priced equipment

Phones are banned but still widely in use which is annoying, just a rule to be enforced

Irish golf clubs - are they just past it , a life not compatible with modern life ?
    We're grand, small island with lots of options so we're lucky

Any other point ?
    The game is for enjoyment, bad golf beats good work any day of the week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭yipsnomore

Pace of play. I played yesterday in a 4 ball cos my club insist on playing in 4 balls in winter feck sake. We lost 2 holes on the group ahead. Two of the 4 ball didnt blink an eye continued to walk slowly and just stand there visualising before shots. Four and half hours !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dont know

No pace of play is getting worse with young fellas slamming clubs and expecting to drive the ball 300 yards.

Is the game still a bit too stuck up it's own ass too much ?
    In some places yes. but game has changed massively in last decade. Why ? Money of course. Even Snobby clubs need the cash, usually cos they built trophy clubhouses when they were getting 15k entrance fees.

NOoooooooooooooooo

Free market, i have no problem if people want to be duped. Plenty of great value out there.

No phones please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

To answer my own questions -

Access to the game from outside its core group - a serious schools programme where kids get to try golf.

To think big, I'd love to see a few courses at 3rd level where education and professional golf is an option. With the right thinking we could become the Dutch of Soccer - with golf here, we have everything going for us.

I see Padraig has worked with Maynooth - but we could be world leaders with golf. We have done very well, but could do much much more.

The quality and low price that courses have been over the last few years - I think sadly things are going to go up. When you can play course for 15 to 30 Euro, it makes you explore more course - when you hit 50 Euro +, it is not a realistic option - so keep cost as is, or lower. But this is not realistic - you do pay for what you get quality wise - But I do think that if you are a GUI member - you should always be getting a much cheaper rate versus rack.

I'm very happy the way things are, I'm lucky in that I'm in a private club with mostly club stuff on and little to no restriction of casual play. I couldn't or wouldn't enjoy being in a club where I couldn't get out all week.

I'm generally very happy , but accept that golf needs more people from 20 to 40 years of age involved.

The game is more orientated for older people during the week (over 50s)

But, I have to accept my own hours are very unusual

It depends on the club. It has changed for the better over the last 20 years. But it is sort of live and let live. I would have had major hang ups about all this stuff when younger - but when you grow older , you shift right.

If a bunch of individuals want to create a certain atmosphere in their own club - I'm actually thinking - it is their prerogative. I can't believe I'm saying that - but If I was in a dirty local pub in a rough part of Dublin, they wouldn't come in there and try set the tone. It is your choice where you go.

But, someone being outright an arse is not on.
    But also, you thinking you can do anything you want in someone else's club is being a bit of an arse too.

But - golf has changed , everyone knows there is more to do. But at the end of the day, the youth set the tone and the pro game is full of just normal lads from all different backgrounds.

We have Tiger, Rory and the likes of Fowler to thank, for changing perceptions, modernising the game - as just a great game , not a status symbol

I sometimes play with lads in their 60s / 70s and they would not tolerate rounds over 4h15m - but in reality they target under 4 hours in a 4 ball - amazing to see.

The main issue is the pace they walk
    They have little or no shot routine
    They do not finish hole if gone
    They only let people look for a ball - the odd time and will make you go away if taking too long.
    They play real ready ready golf.
    The sequence on green is, bang , bang, bang. They look very little at putts and would not dream of lining up a ball or viewing from a few angles.
    They speak out about slow play and tell people if they are slow.
    They do not play honour - and if they do, all are ready at the same time to hit anyway.
    There is good communication when there is an unexpected pause in play.

It is primarily a culture they have created

It has shown me that - if you are not setting the tone , bad habits can come in.
    I even seen my own bad habits in new light.

Now they are a bit nuts - and you would be a little breathless with them - it is great to be home in 4 hours - but can be a little past relaxing at times.

After all that - it depends on your own situation and some lads like a long slow round - you can always pick a time and group that are fast if you want.

Another thing, is the course you play - to put a figure on it - this is 25% of it. A modern championship course , is for the young, single and good golfer (IMO)

Yes - a new driver over 400 Euro was a WTF moment , one particular make i seen, the new club, got worse reviews and stats than the older club.
    Then to add a non stock shaft to this - it is just getting beyond the beyond.

It should be always lessons and a few 1000 balls and a new clubs every 4/5 years (IMO).

Now every few years there are leaps in technology - there is no point in denying that.

But we love our gear , us golfers - we are idiots.

Again - I've softened here from reading here and talking to better players than me.

I do believe some of it is technology for technology sake

I'd imagine the phone will come in eventually - but they are a disruption to your day away from the world .

I guess I have covered that above - I've seen a slight return to a bit of life at golf clubs and maybe the demise of certain golf clubs in the right areas were very exaggerated.

But there seems to be a change to what a golf club is versus was.

It was a major social centre for many areas in the country in the past -

But now,

You cant drink.
    Then you may not bother eating.
    Then your round was too slow - so have to head off.
    Your friends are typically not in a golf club - so you will not socialise there.

They look like they were amazing places in their day.

But there is uncertainty now of what works and what the future for golf clubs is going to be like.

Any other point ?

I think I have said enough.

But - maybe looking at golf clubs during a recession was a very narrow perspective. Basically , everything was dire and dead from 2007 on. It was hard to ever see growth or a return for anything.

But - I'm seeing it in every aspect of life with friends and family - they are doing more and planing more and going out more.

Went to book a family get together in the golf club a few weeks ago - booked out for next 3 weeks - you never know , perhaps golf will be on the up again.

It is one of the best pastimes going and I've tried most of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

A bigger hole. If they ever brought in a referendum to increase the hole diameter to 8 inches I'd be at the front of the queue to vote yes. Golf is played on courses of 7,000yds (21,000 feet). 50% of the game should not be played in the last 40 feet of each hole. Good ball strikers should be rewarded.

Etiquette. I like that golf is a sport for gentlemen (and women). There's a respect for your fellow competitors that doesn't exist in other sports

I'm happy. I'm a member of a great course with access whenever I need it. Some clubs will fall by the wayside, but that's economics, not a sign of mis-management of the sport

I don't believe it is anymore. Golf has never been more accessible to the average punter than it is today. As long as there is demand for them, there will always be clubs with restricted access. And there is nothing wrong with that.

Yes, but not by much. 4 hours should be a target for a 4-ball with 4:15 being acceptable. Anything longer is taking the piss.

Supply and demand, if people pay it then manufacturers will ask for it. Myself, I prefer to wait 12 months and get my gear 2nd hand at a more respectable price. But then I do that with anything that depreciates like a lead balloon e.g.. cars.

I love a gadget and I've no problems if someones gets a phone out on the course to check the football scores. Taking/returning calls is different as it impacts play (see etiquette above).

I think Irish clubs are starting to adapt to current economic times, but I don't agree with the need to adapt to the "modern life". Not sure what modern life is? There is a perception that we are all too busy for 4hr rounds of golf. My parents were busier in the 80's than I am today (for that I am grateful). My dad still made time to play golf each weekend.

Any other point ?

I think I've said enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭the long lad

This is a very interesting topic. I'm currently living in Australia and have been playing a lot of golf over the 'winter' months here. Around Melbourne in particular is golf heaven and there's a lot we could learn in Ireland about the way things operate:

There are 2 key things I'd change:

1. The handicap system. All Australian courses work on a slope basis and your handicap is determined based on the best 8 out of your last 20 rounds. It eliminates the bandit (unless you want to purposely play badly for 20 rounds) and means handicaps are much more current - there's nothing to turn people off golf like not being able to play to their handicap. I believe all the courses in Ireland have been 'sloped' and with a worldwide handicapping system on the way, it'd be great to see a move in this direction.

2. The role of the pro. There's a real feeling in Ireland (and maybe it's correct) that a club/teaching pro is a failed player and they now do a bit of coaching and sell golfballs in a shop. This has been touched on above, but I believe it'd be great to see a guy who becomes a trainee pro get a top class education in all things golf, from club fitting, to coaching, to golf course and resort management, to course maintenance. Very few pros make it as players, in Australia the majority of trainees don't expect to, they're merely educating themselves for a career in and around golf. For me, having educated professionals running golf clubs is the way forward.

The craic, the comradery, the fact that everyone can play and have their own issues and own goals/targets. When you step back and think about it, it's an amazing game (even if it drives us mad at times) and I hope I'm still playing into my 80s.

There's no need to panic. Overall, the game is in great hands. It's a bit expensive but I believe it's flattening out... i.e. wages going up a bit more quickly than club memberships are and lots of competition between clubs for members.

Ireland's biggest asset is the amount of competitive golf available, from club comps to scratch cups at every grade to team competition. I'm excited about going home to some of that in the next few years.

Is the game still a bit too stuck up it's own ass too much smile.png ?

In Dublin, my experience is that some clubs are stuck up. In my experience outside of Dublin, that hasn't been the case overall. Every club has dickheads, accept that and avoid them. It would be nice to see clubs look beyond their own members and see what they can do to bring things forward i.e. don't turn away members because it's going to clog up the timesheet.

Yes, it's very difficult for a fourball to finish in 4 hours on a busy day. It's worse in Australia with a lot of tourists and casual golfers playing. I'd love to see the game speed up a bit, but I can't really see how.

Ireland is light years behind in terms of technology in my opinion. The average Joe in Ireland is still buying clubs that aren't suited to him/her or fitted. Club fitting is massive in Australia and available to an exceptionally high standard in every golf shop. You end up paying slightly more but for a higher quality product that's going to last. The cost of equipment can only come down over the next few years though, last year's model will do for most of us.

Just turn off the phone. As someone who's in a busy job, I love having the excuse to turn off the phone. It's the one place work (and the missus!) can't annoy me.

A little bit of open mindedness is needed in some Irish clubs. Courses should be full of youngstars every day in the summer, even if their time is slightly restricted. The recession has forced a lot of clubs to cop on though and the competition between clubs for members is very positive.

Any other point ?

Overall, the handicap system is the most annoying aspect of Irish golf. I'm hoping it changes soon. If they could change it and stick a roof over Ireland, I'd be home in jig time.