Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The moment people finally stand up for themselves

• 24-10-2015 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭

Every stand up for someone who was being treated like crap or did you ever see anyone stand up for themselves after being consistently treated like crap. A guy I worked with has really low confidence but had a good job and made a fair chunk of change. A really nice guy but also a walkover so to speak. He was the type of guy who was attracted to several women who didn't respect him and as a result he got used again and again. For instance his last girlfriend kissed another guy in front of him. Everyone felt sorry for the chap but recently he dumped his girlfriend in front of everyone at the staff party!!

I love to see people stand up to bullies or stick up for themselves. Has anyone any other good stories about people who stopped taking crap off people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I remember this made news a few years back, an Australian bullying victim snaps at his long time tormentor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I remember this made news a few years back, an Australian bullying victim snaps at his long time tormentor.

He wasn't the only thing that snapped by the sounds of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Time for a bitta Bob

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Good lad. Fair play to him.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Was on a fas course with a fella called Danny,nice bloke who kept himself to himself but everyday at smoke break there was one loudmouth who thought he was a comedian and his mates would start into him,Danny never really let it get to him.....until one day he unleashed one hell of a load of slaggings back at him,he even had his own mates laughing at him,it was the most severe put downs I've ever seen happen to anyone,the other fella was left speechless for once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Jan Laco

Thanks for sharing that. I had never heard about it. The next video after that had an interview with the kid and his father. Really interesting. He's a really level headed kid. Great story.
    But to get suspended for it is a ridiculous decision. The school should have more cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭XplaygirlX

I had a friend who always asked me to meet up to go out almost every weekend. Knowing I had a child, that didn't seem to bother her, even when we went out I would usually end up paying for everything. Everyone closest to be tried to tell me she was using me, but ive learnt the hard way and dont bother with her anymore. She thought I was wired b/c I prefer to stay in on weekends and relax instead of going out. :( :mad:

And also another friend used to get credit. A right pig :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

they they asked me to move my desk again and if they ask me to move my desk again then i have to burn the building down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

XplaygirlX wrote: »
    I had a friend who always asked me to meet up to go out almost every weekend. Knowing I had a child, that didn't seem to bother her, even when we went out I would usually end up paying for everything. Everyone closest to be tried to tell me she was using me, but ive learnt the hard way and dont bother with her anymore. She thought I was wired b/c I prefer to stay in on weekends and relax instead of going out. :( :mad:

And also another friend used to get credit. A right pig :mad:

This is a pet hate of mine. As with my original story there seem to be a class of people out there who have no problem using people to boost their own ego or for money or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Another one that did the roads and sparked a few threads at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Something similar like this happened between two boys when i was secondary school. The smaller lad was being bullied by another known bully. They ended up in a fight and the smaller guy got the better of the bully. Everyone was like "fair play to him, he deserved it". After that the bully was so humiliated that he just wouldnt let it go. He kept trying to pick fights constantly with the lad. It got that bad, I think the boy ended up moving from the school in the end. I think the other bloke was a psychopath, well im fairly sure from what ive heard of him since.