Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sheep tags

• 22-10-2015 8:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭

I've always used the mullinahone tags. Never had an issue with them. However they don't do the colour coded discs that you can insert in for management purposes. I spotted that cormac do. So was thinking of changing over. Anyone use the cormac tagging ? How do ye find the retention rates etc ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

I've always used the mullinahone tags. Never had an issue with them. However they don't do the colour coded discs that you can insert in for management purposes. I spotted that cormac do. So was thinking of changing over. Anyone use the cormac tagging ? How do ye find the retention rates etc ?

The last order I got from Mullinahone, I also bought some management colour discs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

I didn't think they did them as their was no mention of them anywhere on their ordering form, where as cormac do, but I'll give them a buzz, and get them to include them in my order. Thanks !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I didn't think they did them as their was no mention of them anywhere on their ordering form, where as cormac do, but I'll give them a buzz, and get them to include them in my order. Thanks !!!

if fecking ewes would stop keeping their head down in the pen they'd stay in much better, one ewe on particular should be on her 3rd set

I'd be curious to see how well those discs stay on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭AnFeirmeoir

I'm happy with Cormacs

ganmo wrote: »

I'd be curious to see how well those discs stay on

You and me both. I put the order in anyway. Only a few cent a disc. Will be handy to colour code ewes according to what ram sired them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭lollipop19

We've been using the Cormac coloured discs for years and have no problems with them loosing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Sort of related...

I have some tip tags, also called slaughter tags here from Mullinahone.

I assume as they called slaughter tags, they are for lambs going to factory only.

Anyone know why this is? What's the difference between and slaughter tag and a mart tag?
    And is this a Mullinahone thing (to get me to prob pay more for a mart tag)
    Or an actual dept. thing?

Sort of related...

Anyone know why this is? What's the difference between and slaughter tag and a mart tag?
    ?

Are they the flexi tags ? There a few cent more then the white slaughter tags but are yellow so can be used for the mart as well as factory ?

No, the white tip tags that you break into two, before you tag the lamb.
    They are called 'slaughter tags' just wondering what's the difference, or is it just the colour of em?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

No, the white tip tags that you break into two, before you tag the lamb.
    They are called 'slaughter tags' just wondering what's the difference, or is it just the colour of em?
    Slaughter tags are white and to be used only if bringing straight from holding of origion to factory.
    "Mart" tags are yellow and can be used for either factory or mart for sheep under 1 year old .Also you can use them (I think)when tagging sheep in December that you intend to keep for finishing.Well the theory is that all lambs must be tagged by either 9 months of age or some date in, I think, early December.
    Both of these are one set ie tagged in just the left ear.Very little price difference in them ,maybe 10 cents depending on where you get them.

Personally usually get a few slaughter tags early on and then buy the rest as mart tags although almost all lambs here are finished but the yellow tags are handy for a few for the mart or to sell a few ewe lambs privately.Wouldnt dream of putting them in a ewe in any circumstance!! but some people would stick one in a dead ewe that had lost her electronic jewellery.Rather cheaper than using an EID set on a dead ewe.

EID tags are a double set ie one electronic and one a plain set.Must be used on all breeding sheep born since 2010(?) so at this stage very few ewes should have the old plain tags.You are supposed to tag all your replacements with these by mid December.

You can also upgrade your own or bought in sheep from plain tags to EID,say if keeping bought in ewe lambs for breeding that arrived with mart tags.

To be honest its a complete joke of a system and even those who designed and run it are not fully up on all the aspects of it.
    .Any more questions re. tagging just ask.

Really have too much time on my hands of a bank holiday Monday night!!!!!!!!!!!

Slaughter tags are white and to be used only if bringing straight from holding of origion to factory.
    "Mart" tags are yellow and can be used for either factory or mart for sheep under 1 year old .Also you can use them (I think)when tagging sheep in December that you intend to keep for finishing.Well the theory is that all lambs must be tagged by either 9 months of age or some date in, I think, early December.
    Both of these are one set ie tagged in just the left ear.Very little price difference in them ,maybe 10 cents depending on where you get them.

Personally usually get a few slaughter tags early on and then buy the rest as mart tags although almost all lambs here are finished but the yellow tags are handy for a few for the mart or to sell a few ewe lambs privately.Wouldnt dream of putting them in a ewe in any circumstance!! but some people would stick one in a dead ewe that had lost her electronic jewellery.Rather cheaper than using an EID set on a dead ewe.

EID tags are a double set ie one electronic and one a plain set.Must be used on all breeding sheep born since 2010(?) so at this stage very few ewes should have the old plain tags.You are supposed to tag all your replacements with these by mid December.

You can also upgrade your own or bought in sheep from plain tags to EID,say if keeping bought in ewe lambs for breeding that arrived with mart tags.

To be honest its a complete joke of a system and even those who designed and run it are not fully up on all the aspects of it.
    .Any more questions re. tagging just ask.

Really have too much time on my hands of a bank holiday Monday night!!!!!!!!!!!

Think that's it paddy ;)

Ah, I shook have ordered mart / factory tags but I don't and for slaughter ones, not thinking. So tis my own fault - but as wondering what the difference is exactly.
    Bit I suspect there isn't one, except one set are called 'slaughter' and the other are mart, despite having all the same info on them...

As for the bank holidays weekend, the days of a bank holiday being something big, out both nights, that kinda craic - are well behind me now too then ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

All in bed here so time for the pub and a pint or 2.
    As regards the difference think its the colour.Numbers etc are the exact same ie a continuation from previous batch.
    Something to do with EU regulation etc.
    Think the crowd I buy from just do mart and EID tags at this stage as for a few extra cents you have the option of mart,factory or private with the yellow ear ring.