Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farm Insurance (switch from FBD?)

• 19-10-2015 9:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭

Currently with FBD anyone know if its worth shopping around at the moment? Not a huge amount of competitors in the market it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Aviva and Zurich also do farm insurance

We got our farm quote on Friday €1428 up from €800 in 2014. No claims in past 5 years since we started. I called the woman who deals with me and told her to send the schedule that's covered as no way they were saddling me for management mistakes. 2 hours later reduced to €940. Ill still be pricing around .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,488 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Qprmeath wrote: »
    Currently with FBD anyone know if its worth shopping around at the moment? Not a huge amount of competitors in the market it seems.
    got my renewal last week, up 900 euro, i will pay what i paid last year or will move

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

whelan2 wrote: »
    got my renewal last week, up 900 euro, i will pay what i paid last year or will move
    Good idea, tell 'em to take it or stick it. Ours is due here soon as well. Might be well worth your while looking at the small print this year to make sure you still have the same cover.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Qprmeath

Fbd including house was nearly €2500. Zurich through a broker bout half that. Might need to make few adjustments to policy but cant see it going above €1500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Very timely thread.
    I just pulled out te schedule last night to send round to a few companies. Not due just yet but for last two years I was so busy at work I just renewed and maddened me.

I'm going to scan it in and send round for a few quotes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Jaysus ye must have everything insured at those prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭queueeye

Tried both Aviva and Zurich through a broker. Neither could get within an asses roar of FBD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

queueeye wrote: »
    Tried both Aviva and Zurich through a broker. Neither could get within an asses roar of FBD.

Does a broker really get u best prices?

Was just going to ask would I ring a broker or ring Aviva or Zurich direct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Was just going to ask would I ring a broker or ring Aviva or Zurich direct?

I find route 1 the best. call the insurance company yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭queueeye

FBD were around half the price the brokers quoted. I doubt they have that much margin to play around with.

Curiously though, got my car insured with the brokers. FBD were about 25 percent more expensive.

I find route 1 the best. call the insurance company yourself
    fbd must be reading this they just rang me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭orm0nd

moved from fbd a few weeks ago to Zurich through a broker,

saving of about €600 & increased values on livestock & the slatted sheds,( so pro rata the saving would have been more), broker pointed out to me the implications of under valuing

I'm in the process of moving the electricity from Electric Irealnd & the phone from IFA which will save another 800 to 900

1500 saving for a couple of hours consultation with the broker & about 10 minutes on line ... not to be sneezed at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Just missed a call from them here as well! My renewal is due now though. Costing me €3,300 to include everything here. Can't understand how posters here are finding other insurers bearing Fbd by 30% and others finding FBD 30% cheaper than their rivals. Am I missing something?

Spoke to FBD again - €2500 absolute best they could do. Am currently at about half that with Zurich with a couple of adjustments to be made when I pay in the morning. Does everyone pay public liability? FBD seem to include it as a standard but not sure whether Zurich do.

What did you pay last year?

About €2000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Public liability is essential
    My broker said fbd were making a loss on me

Its also vital to have everything valued properly
    20 years ago is no good as you'll only get half a shed rebuild or house rebuild for example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,590 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Renewed my policy with Fbd a few weeks back .got quote went to office to go through policy ,modified slightly some of valuations on stock and sheds got them to add policy for livestock theft which costb 180 .asked if I wanted to pay now I declined as I was waiting on a quote from Zurich and avivia .got a call day before renewal and I bluffed the **** out of them gave a price 150 euro below 2014 renewal price and almost 700 below my reviewed 2015 price .sat tight and they rang following day saying they'd do it at 2014 price including livestock theft .result !!

Just checked my quote from Zurich. It does include public liability. Only thing now I think needs changing is my farm shed is undervalued. Does everyone have a personal accident policy as part of their cover?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,590 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Just checked my quote from Zurich. It does include public liability. Only thing now I think needs changing is my farm shed is undervalued. Does everyone have a personal accident policy as part of their cover?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Justjens

I've been with Aviva for a good few years, currently through a broker, and premium was reduced this year without even asking.

Broker fees are approx 4% of the premium.

FBD have never been close on a quoting 'like for like' compared to Aviva.
    I have car and jeep with FBD, as they are the cheapest, and no increase for the jeep which is due at end of month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Just missed a call from them here as well! My renewal is due now though. Costing me €3,300 to include everything here. Can't understand how posters here are finding other insurers bearing Fbd by 30% and others finding FBD 30% cheaper than their rivals. Am I missing something?

I'm finding that hard to believe too, am currently with broker and Zurich. Paying 3k. For everything. When I had time I used to price around myself and left fbd as a result as they were 7 to 8 hundred more. Last two years left it with broker and they say that's the best they can do. I'm wondering if I'm making a mistake taking their word. ?

I'm ringing Sheridan Insurance in the morning to finalise my quote with Zurich. I'll give you an update then on what exactly I'm paying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I'm finding that hard to believe too, am currently with broker and Zurich. Paying 3k. For everything. When I had time I used to price around myself and left fbd as a result as they were 7 to 8 hundred more. Last two years left it with broker and they say that's the best they can do. I'm wondering if I'm making a mistake taking their word. ?

Purchasing group did a two year deal last year Aviva. Saves a lot of time for both the insurer and insured.

Ok heres the final tally. Was at roughly €1250 with Zurich through Sheridan Insurance. This morning I added employer liability, personal accident and increased the value of farm buildings to €50000 to reach a total of €1740. Went through my FBD cover and tried to stick to what they were covering. Valued machines and house exactly as FBD did. Very little difference if any in what FBD were giving me at €2500 which was their absolute lowest offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Paid mine here last week.
    Aviva were 2150 (looked for 2320 on renewal letter).FBD quoted 2530 for the exact same cover whilst Zurich were 2700.
    Both Zurich and FBD priced from last years schedule and had reps from both here.All values insured were exactly the same.All 3 were priced on the basis of providing the exact same cover.

have a guy from fbd coming out on friday and we are ringing a broker my dad knows tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Not sure what use brokers are in this area as only three providers: FBD, Zurich and Aviva. Get quote for maximum cover all areas of risk from one and shop around. Public and employer's liability absolute musts. FBD also cover volunteers; ie a neighbour giving you a hand. The other thing lads is house cover I find pushes up the quote but difficult insure a farm house outside the three above.

barnaman wrote: »
    Not sure what use brokers are in this area as only three providers: FBD, Zurich and Aviva. Get quote for maximum cover all areas of risk from one and shop around. Public and employer's liability absolute musts. FBD also cover volunteers; ie a neighbour giving you a hand. The other thing lads is house cover I find pushes up the quote but difficult insure a farm house outside the three above.

I have employers liability in my new Zurich policy which covers neighbours giving you a hand.

that's the 1 you need, even if you ask a passer by to stand in a gap & he gets a kick from a bullock the fact that you asked his services makes him an employee eventhough no wages exchange

Zurich give better cover in the event of a revenue audit & livestock in transit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Would double check your policy. Volunteers are not normally classified as an employee no contract of employment nor could the relationship between you and the volunteer be classified as a master and servant one etc. Nor are they the standard general members of the public. I sought clarification from FBD and they cover 2 people only as volunteers so if you asked 3 neighbours to stand in a gap and a bull went for them etc you are bunched. Get any clarfication in an email; no good well I spoke to Tom and he said etc etc if anything happens,

Volunteers would be covered by PL (IMO)

orm0nd wrote: »
    moved from fbd a few weeks ago to Zurich through a broker,

saving of about €600 & increased values on livestock & the slatted sheds,( so pro rata the saving would have been more), broker pointed out to me the implications of under valuing

I'm in the process of moving the electricity from Electric Irealnd & the phone from IFA which will save another 800 to 900

1500 saving for a couple of hours consultation with the broker & about 10 minutes on line ... not to be sneezed at
    who did you go to for phone and electricity?

Ferdia co op, the fmp paper co op has negotiated a very good deal with airtricity,it beats hands down anything I've seen, switching seems to save me €800+,its only for ferdia members, has anyone gone on that new deal yet?

i went with airtricity- 20% discount , what are ferdia offering, energia have 22% discount atm

Not sure,but its greater than 20%,I'll check and get back to you I think it was 23

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I changed my car insurance from FBD last year to Allianz who were 150 euro cheaper.

I went online yesterday to get a few choices, all were around 390-400 except FBD who were 540.

had fbd out there now, renewal up 150 euro on last year, increased value as have new milk tank and changed some values of stock/house etc. Stayed with fbd. Better the devil you know and all that.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Of all the insurance companies I've dealt with FBD have been the easiest to get a payout from. One claim was in excess of €500k and no bother whatsoever getting paid. I couldn't say that about any other company...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Dawggone wrote: »
    Of all the insurance companies I've dealt with FBD have been the easiest to get a payout from. One claim was in excess of €500k and no bother whatsoever getting paid. I couldn't say that about any other company...

That's the usual line that is trotted out about how farmers shouldn't leave fbd.i had a tip last yr with a tractor and Aviva paid out very sharpish to the other party.2 phone calls from me and they did the rest.

had fbd out there now, renewal up 150 euro on last year, increased value as have new milk tank and changed some values of stock/house etc. Stayed with fbd. Better the devil you know and all that.......
    I got a quote of 590 euro for the insurance for both tractors, bit steep I thought.

Left it alone until today, the last day of cover, and rang up and asked if that was the best they could do.

'Hold on a minute' she says.

Came back a minute later with a quote of 510.:)

Great, says I, can I use the IFA discount on that?

A good days work for a phone call:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭paddysdream

boggerman1 wrote: »
    That's the usual line that is trotted out about how farmers shouldn't leave fbd.i had a tip last yr with a tractor and Aviva paid out very sharpish to the other party.2 phone calls from me and they did the rest.

Have to agree with you there.Lots of talk of how FBD are the best to pay out,have cover no one else provides(although this can be rather hard to pin down when asked for specifics) etc etc.Seems many farmers are brainwashed to see FBD as the only provider of farm insurance when they are just another competitor for our money.Have experience of a couple of claims,none as big as previous poster mentioned but still one was a 5 figure sum,and no bother with Aviva.My premium did not increase afterwards though this was a few years ago.
    That said would leave in the morning if someone else provides same cover for less.
    Honestly never get the love re. FBD.To me they are an insurance company nothing more nothing less.