Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rifle in for repairs

• 14-10-2015 8:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭

Left the .223 in for repairs in shop I purchased her from last Wednesday.
    Havint got phone call or anything from them yet. How long should I wait till I contact or go to shop to find out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

what is wrong with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

juice1304 wrote: »
    what is wrong with it?

Not ejecting empty casings
    I thought it was just the barnauls so swapped to Remington and then hornadys and done the same wouldn't eject them so I think the bolt is worn down so it's under warranty and in for repairs now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

did you not have major issues with that rifle recently?

Yeah but with new baby and all havint had time t drop it up so it's there now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭.243

id give them a good week,normally a busy shop would send repairs off in bulk to be repaired if they are not done "in house"

.243 wrote: »
    id give them a good week,normally a busy shop would send repairs off in bulk to be repaired if they are not done "in house"

They'd be fairly busy on sales but repairs I wouldn't be sure on.
    Don't think they're gunsmiths either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Rifter

They'd be fairly busy on sales but repairs I wouldn't be sure on.
    Don't think they're gunsmiths either

Was it a case of not extracting or not ejecting?

*no pun intended

Rifter wrote: »
    Was it a case of not extracting or not ejecting?

*no pun intended

The bolt just wasn't gripping the casing to pull it out of chamber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Rifter

The bolt just wasn't gripping the casing to pull it out of chamber.

Sounds like dirt under the extractor, unless the rifle has fired a high enough volume of rounds to wear down the extractor itself!

I know you've dropped it in for repair but its possible you'll be paying for a simple cleaning job! *simple as in stripping out the extractor, cleaning it down and re installing it!

Rifter wrote: »
    Sounds like dirt under the extractor, unless the rifle has fired a high enough volume of rounds to wear down the extractor itself!

I know you've dropped it in for repair but its possible you'll be paying for a simple cleaning job! *simple as in stripping out the extractor, cleaning it down and re installing it!

It's still under warranty so I'm covered for whatever is done.
    I went up today and was told they havint looked at it yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

Its not a big job it should only take ten minutes to fix however you could be waiting on parts etc... To be honest as it is a new rifle and you have had some trouble with it i would be saying i want my money back or a credit and get something else.
    They could probably do with polishing the chamber too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

It has been giving you grief since day one , the shop owner knows well about it because he was posting on here making excuses for it , id be looking for a new one , money back if possible and take your custom elsewhere.Noting worse than a gun giving you grief in the field ,especially in the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

range river mountain?

garv123 wrote: »
    range river mountain?

Yeah still havint heard anything from them yet.

Really poor form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

your not having much luck. is this the gun u paid a lot over the RRP for?

Never heard anything good about that fella from tallagh rod and gun.

My dealings with him werent good either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

Plus one for that!

No not having much luck at all. Anyone aware of what I'm entitled to here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Zenner

You have the same rights as anyone under the sales of goods act. If its under warranty you must return to retailer for repair first. if can't be fixed you are entitled to a full refund or another one. There would be a certain point of time expected to allow the retailer to have it fixed that's the question you need to look more into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

No not having much luck at all. Anyone aware of what I'm entitled to here?

Repair

If you start using the item for some time then it is deemed that you have accepted the item. But if you discover a fault then you are entitled to have the item repaired or replaced free of charge – provided you did not cause the damage. If the fault occurs within the first 6 months of owning the item, it is accepted that the fault was there when you bought it. In general, the seller can offer to repair the item first. This should be a permanent repair and the problem should not reoccur. If the same fault occurs again, then you should be entitled to a replacement or refund. If you are not happy with the retailer’s offer to repair the item, you can say no - but if you do this, you may have to use the Small Claims process if you want to take the matter further.

Remember, the retailer may charge you for the repair if you have been responsible for the damage to the product.

http://www.consumerhelp.ie/faulty-goods?gclid=Cj0KEQjwkqKxBRCIrK_riNm13Z8BEiQAdzdVkEAEGQGgtMFCp35v54fi0WCkypPO_atNFvDoyFxC82MaAsPh8P8HAQ#1

The problem on this appeared after a month of using it. I put it down to cheap bullets but then paying for proper bullets the problem started to get worse and the barrel started to become loose. Reported this problem to them several times. I've been up there an have contacted the owner of the shop several times aswell about it.

Still no word from anyone about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

You're in Tallaght, the shop is in Tallagbt. Call in and stop fannying around with texts and phone calls. Harder to fob you off when you're face to face. Ask them when they will have it sorted and if they don't give you a date give them a deadline to have it fixed or you want recompense or refund

Was only up the other day and there was no one in who deals with guns.
    That was the only day I've been free.

Tell them you are a prominent poster on boards and have posts going back over months on your progress with the rifle. The posts detail all the issues you've had and the dates.

They'll sh1t their pants, with the thoughts of loss of business.

Tell them you are a prominent poster on boards and have posts going back over months on your progress with the rifle. The posts detail all the issues you've had and the dates.

They'll sh1t their pants, with the thoughts of loss of business.
    Highly doubt the owner cares sure he posted on one of the threads himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I don't know about the shop or anybody involved but seeing as the shooting community in Ireland is so small, I'm amazed that they're risking bad publicity by not sorting you out quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭hexosan

I gave them the benefit of the doubt at the start but I've been in the shop four times now and each time to no matter what I ask I'm told the guy who deals with that isn't here, they've taken my number and I never hear back from them.
    It's a nice shop, good location, prices are on far side of high and it has the worst staff I've dealt with in a gun shop and that's saying a lot considering some that are out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Wadi14

guys you are being led a merry dance by the guys in the shop. go in ask who is in charge in the shop right now, not who's in charge but not here, tell them what you want and tell him to sort it now, and your not leaving until he has it resolved to your satisfaction as they have fecked you about for long enough, and by the way try and go in when there are shoppers in the shop make sure your heard, by the person in charge and the other shoppers.

Thanks for all the advice lads. Right now I don't want the gun back fixed or not. I just want my refund. There's plenty of cheap better guns out there and some nice ones on this site for sale that'll leave me a lot more satisfied . Il be going up first thing morning and won't be leaving withou my refund. Shocking treatment of a regular customer and I know plenty of people who il be passing on this treatment to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭amadablam

Thanks for all the advice lads. Right now I don't want the gun back fixed or not. I just want my refund. There's plenty of cheap better guns out there and some nice ones on this site for sale that'll leave me a lot more satisfied . Il be going up first thing morning and won't be leaving withou my refund. Shocking treatment of a regular customer and I know plenty of people who il be passing on this treatment to.

Having had a similar experience, don't expect a refund to come easy, regardless of how right or wrong they are. You may just get your rifle repaired and returned. More than likely, that's all you will get. They might be more reasonable than the rfd I dealt with though.

Prominent poster or not, people can be belligerent and boards or a threat of it, is not going to get you a guaranteed result.

I ended up in the district court to get my situation resolved and I won but it was a long drawn out fiasco. It was also expensive and stressful.

Best of luck to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

No need for district court, this can be handled in small claims court for €25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭amadablam

aaakev wrote: »
    No need for district court, this can be handled in small claims court for €25

It can if the rfd doesn't force the situation to a point where legal costs get higher and the legal scale brings you into the district court bracket. As I said, I've recently been there unfortunately. The situation can escalate quite quickly.

So yes, there is need for district court if the situation is forced in that direction.

Unfortunately the gf had to take the car today so I couldn't get up today but il be going up tomoro morning. I did however contact the owner through a text as his phone was engaged when I tried to ring him. So he knows that il be going up tomoro.

Best of luck

A fab shop with plenty of modern stock - I've had similar experiences with the staff, on a much smaller scale...buying fishing gear and some bullets & cartridges.

Enquiring about cartridges and prices is a boring exercise when the staff are ill informed and unwilling to assist or engage in conversation.

They seem to have no interest whatsoever......apathy written all over their faces......I've never met staff who appear so bored with their job. A real pity as the shop has such great potential and a good shooting & fishing shop is badly needed in the capital.

Even the website is taking months to update......a reflection and indication of the shop and attitude

http://www.rrm.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭hexosan

You hit the nail on the head there.
    J.R. wrote: »
    Best of luck

A fab shop with plenty of modern stock - I've had similar experiences with the staff, on a much smaller scale...buying fishing gear and some bullets & cartridges.

Enquiring about cartridges and prices is a boring exercise when the staff are ill informed and unwilling to assist or engage in conversation.

They seem to have no interest whatsoever......apathy written all over their faces......I've never met staff who appear so bored with their job. A real pity as the shop has such great potential and a good shooting & fishing shop is badly needed in the capital.

Even the website is taking months to update......a reflection and indication of the shop and attitude

http://www.rrm.ie/

Unfortunately the gf had to take the car today so I couldn't get up today but il be going up tomoro morning. I did however contact the owner through a text as his phone was engaged when I tried to ring him. So he knows that il be going up tomoro.

He's probably after reading it on boards.

FFs lads. a death of a friend puts me back. Clearly havint been on the site for a while and I come back to grief.
    Gun has been sorted and il be collecting it during the week. Problem was in the bolt but god forbid I come back to let yas know how I got on.
    Pity that boards has been going great but you lads go and fcuk it up yet again. Great bunch ain't yas

Sorry to hear about the death of you friend (R.I.P.) - not easy trying to carry on with everyday life when something like that enters the equation.

I don't think that the lads slagging match was meant to be hurtful - it's obvious that they weren't aware of your personnel circumstances at the time of posting. I'd imagine it was just a bit of banter with no intention of upsetting you.

I'm glad your rifle is sorted ......I'd imagine you need a bit of a lift with the way things are for you, with the loss of your friend.

FFs lads. a death of a friend puts me back. Clearly havint been on the site for a while and I come back to grief.
    Gun has been sorted and il be collecting it during the week. Problem was in the bolt but god forbid I come back to let yas know how I got on.
    Pity that boards has been going great but you lads go and fcuk it up yet again. Great bunch ain't yas
    But you have been posting in other sections of boards?? It was only banter from the lads anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

What did they say was wrong with the rifle?
    What caused the problem is it model specific or just a single issue?

What did they say was wrong with the rifle?
    What caused the problem is it model specific or just a single issue?

Problem was in the bolt.
    The ejector on the bolt was the problem and the spring behind it was missing a tiny piece of it thus leading to the bolt not gripping onto the spent bullet and that's what it was. It been sorted and il be back plugging foxes this week with it.
    Thank god.

Update.
    I was contacted yesterday about it and the bolt is being sent back to the shop and a brand new bolt is being sent back to shop for me. Idk why original wasn't sorted but I'm happy that progress is being made and the lad I spoke to was very helpful and is gonna give me gun back one way or another this Saturday along with some boxes of ammo.
    Can't say anything bad about them now as he's being very helpful letting me know each day of the progress of the gun.
    After the loss of my mate this is just what I need so I'm happy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

Glad to hear its working out ya now but its too little to late for their reputation I'm mine and id say many others eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭gearoidol

Update.
    I was contacted yesterday about it and the bolt is being sent back to the shop and a brand new bolt is being sent back to shop for me. Idk why original wasn't sorted but I'm happy that progress is being made and the lad I spoke to was very helpful and is gonna give me gun back one way or another this Saturday along with some boxes of ammo.
    Can't say anything bad about them now as he's being very helpful letting me know each day of the progress of the gun.
    After the loss of my mate this is just what I need so I'm happy .

dodderangler I hate to be a pain here but I thought you couldn't just stick a replacement bolt in a gun without re headspacing.maybe someone with abit more knowledge here might give their opinion or it might be worth giving a buzz to one of the gunsmiths for their opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

gearoidol wrote: »
    dodderangler I hate to be a pain here but I thought you couldn't just stick a replacement bolt in a gun without re headspacing.maybe someone with abit more knowledge here might give their opinion or it might be worth giving a buzz to one of the gunsmiths for their opinion.

I was of the same belief, hopefully store owners are aware of this and have organised someone competent to look it over once the new bolt arrives.