Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First time farmer - at 26?

• 14-10-2015 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭

I am just posting on this forum for some advice as I could with some at this point.

I am 26 at the moment. Up until I was 13 I grew up on a farm - Tillage and Livestock. My mother grew up on that farm and knew everything about farming etc but all my life growing up she wouldn't of had much of a hand in the farm as she had 3 young kids to rear. My uncles did most of the farming and I helped out at whatever I could as I loved farming. When I was 13 we moved to the nearest town and became ''urbanized''.

Most summers until I was 17 would of been spent helping my uncle on the farm, but that was 9 years ago and it was my last involvement in farming. This was due to college, travelling etc. I am now in a purely office job that, although I like it, it is not what I really want to do. I would rather be out active on a farm not sitting in front of a screen all day.

I now have a son (3) who is obsessed with Farming machinery and animals etc and its only through this that I have realized that I miss the farming and the active life.

So here I am 26, with only a very very basic experience of farming. Am I too late or would I just be ''laughed'' at trying to start farming this late?
    We still have about 5 acres left back in the countryside along with a bungalow house. Would this be sufficient to start farming with just sheep for the moment? Or am I been just a dreamer? I have uncles with land adjacent that would have no problem renting to me so I could stretch it to say 10-20 acres. I have a great interest in sowing my own veg but that's not for another year or so till I get settled. Its not about the money for me, I am in a very well paying job but Id rather get by doing something that I would love.

To summarize
    - How much money starting up would I need?
    - Am I been realistic getting into farming at 26?
    - What is a realistic turnover or how much would I be expecting etc?

Any answers, help, tips, advice etc would be greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

If you"re in a very well paying job stick with it, you could do a bit of hobby farming on the 5 acres in your spare time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Go for it if you are interested life is short but keep the job.
    You couldn't expect to make much if anything.
    Farming 5 or 25 acres is really just hobby farming you could rear you're own meat and veg.
    Perhaps get some grants as a new young farmer.
    You need to have handling facilities to get a herd number ie. A cattle crush shed for sick animals
    It's hard to put a number on it when we don't know what needs to be done on the place.
    Best talk to teagasc advisor before you start.
    I could guess 5 to 10k would build simple crush and shed and buy a few stock.
    It all depends how big you want to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭biffo2014

Thanks for the advice. I was told to keep the job and part time farm at first - i suppose a weekly wage is a good thing to have. Never thought of talking to a Teagasc advisor but I will take up that advice. When you say 5-25 acres is hobby farming , would that mean 50 acres for example would mean full time farming?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Y not start helping out on someone,s farm for a few months, farmers are always looking for a hand and that might be a good 1st step!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭Jimlh86

I was in a similiar situation to yourself. Farmed all my life until 16 or so then due to work and personal circumstances I drifted away. I am fortunate that my father still farms about 35 acres at home, so after talking with him I bought a few calves and now three years later I'm happily tipping away as a hobby. I work in a job I like but it can be stressful and farming has made me as I find it great for stress. Anyway I say go for because life is short and theirs no point regretting it when it too late! Best of luck

I am friendly with a few farmers so maybe a few months whenever I am free helping them out will be a good experience. Now just the matter of them taking me serious first......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I'd keep the job as you have 5 acres you most likely won't be able to get a fulltime wage from it. But there are a range of different systems open to you from beekeeping, duck egg production, duck meat production, hen egg to different colour hen egg production, goat milk production, goat boer meat production, build tunnels and produce soft fruit, herbs, cut flower foliage, keep rare breed sheep and show on the weekends in the summer, keep dexter cattle and show as well (social aspect as well), keep Kerry cows and milk produce speciality cheese, butter, icecream, etc. I'd go to famers markets and see what they do and ask for their opinion, maybe you could work with one of them.

These are just a few of the options open to you. Whatever you do the best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

biffo2014 wrote: »
    I am friendly with a few farmers so maybe a few months whenever I am free helping them out will be a good experience. Now just the matter of them taking me serious first......

You'll be grand. So long as your willing to work and learn. Would you think about doing an Ag course or something green cert perhaps? Instead of just volunteering your labour. Part time would suit you. You never know the opportunity to expand might arise at some stage? If you enjoy it,go for it. It'll be great for the kids to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Go for it fella. At 26 you're still young. Easy keep the day job and tend to 5 acres..

Don't know if there are many full time farmers living off 50 acres either it depends how good the land is and how much you need to live.
    A man with a mortgage and family to support would probably want at least 80 acres but a lot depends on variables like how good a farmer he is , what borrowing he has and how much his wife makes.
    You might make more money in a niece market
    Like a polish woman and her husband an TV last week snail farming and exporting them to France.
    Personally I would prefer to live and bring up my kids in the countryside.
    Even making no extra money you could keep a pony ,dog cats,grow fruit raspberrys apple trees whatever. Horticulture might be an opinion.

Grow eucalyptus for coppicing firewood, foliage, processing firewood (buying timber and processing), keep pigs indoor or free range, geese, turkeys, mushrooms, unusual mushrooms, open a dog and catery, breed high end cats and dogs (legally of course),organic vegetables, just for kicks breed fallabella ponies and show, if you win the lotto buy a top thouroghbred stallion and stand at stud, if near a city rent out ground as allotments, livery for horses, shooting range (although not good for children), sheep's milk, can't think of anymore.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I'm i the only one to say your dreaming. 5 acres won't make a thing for you. To go full time and pay a mortgage and rear kids on a very basic lifestyle you'd need well north of 120 acres. 5 acres is a large site to keep a pony on. By the time you'd have a shed, crush and pens in you'd be lucky to see a return in 20 years, unless of course you go and put a poly tunnel or some form of intensive agri which of course will eat up a ball of money that your unlikely to have at 26.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭epfff

Miname wrote: »
    I'm i the only one to say your dreaming. 5 acres won't make a thing for you. To go full time and pay a mortgage and rear kids on a very basic lifestyle you'd need well north of 120 acres. 5 acres is a large site to keep a pony on. By the time you'd have a shed, crush and pens in you'd be lucky to see a return in 20 years, unless of course you go and put a poly tunnel or some form of intensive agri which of course will eat up a ball of money that your unlikely to have at 26.

I have to agree

I'm part time with north of 120acres with no debt but not well set up and can't see my way to borrow for more stock sheds handling facilities and fencing never mind going fulltime

I estimate If I had another 100k of capital to set place up I could then maybe consider

But invest 100k in another industry I'd probably get as good return with less effort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

I agree with Mimiame. I am a full time farmer and tell you need alot more than 120 acres these days. Most lads I know who are full time commerical farmers are farming over 300 acres and need it. The capital costs in farming are huge and its more and more about scale. Niche markets are well and good and fair play to any lad who makes it in them but the problem is they are niche!

Age wise etc you are grand I am older and started into farming after being away from it for years. Also any farmer will take you seriously and wish you luck but in IMO it would just end up doing you no favours unless you can get a decent job paying what you are on now or near enough it at home.

Just to highlight some of the probs with some alternative schemes such as wood growing etc. The Bio-Energy (Willow) Scheme 2015 (which includes michanthus) was scrapped by the Gov as only 4 lads took it up. Eucupltus was a disaster for lads who tried it as the hard frost a few years ago killed it all. Organic vegtables etc is not the simple. You need to but organic seed etc which is difficult to source and is pricey. Also you need 2 years conversion and its all tricky; noone in Ireland grows organic potatoes commercially as its impossible; blight will kill them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Miname wrote: »

I agree with you Miname on what your saying but I don't think the OP is talking going full time farming off thus patch. It's a perfect size of land for a hobby farm and to see if he still has the interest and can re ignite the passion he once had.

I farm a similar area op and you would have no bother rearing a few calves off it just to get the interest juices flowing. Ya won't make much off it so you will still need your off farm job but it will be there for yourself and your wee ones to spend your time off. Great stress reliever at times but sometimes a farm can be a stress generator too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭Good loser

For a dose of reality get the Farmer's Journal every week and read it cover to cover.
    A lot of capital and probably land is needed for farming. Much better to rent land long term rather than buy.
    Preferably got for nothing.

Generally I would say stick to the job.

A lot depends on your location. Are you in Dublin?
    See the earlier posts I thanked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Lads...the OP is looking at it as a lifestyle choice. We all know 5acres will not earn much and defo will not substitute full time employment, but with a bit of research into what OP wants to do he will turn a few quid. I have 20 6to11 mt old weanlings/bullocks on 9 acres with enough grass until first week of Nov all due to making the most of every square inch of ground I have. If he can develop a system that suits him and what he has in his head he will have a great quality of life in the evenings/weekends, as well as having fun with his kid in the fresh air and getting to spend time with him and maybe at the end of it have a few extra quid in his pocket.

Thanks very much for all the responses. After taking in all bits of advice and very much appreciate it.

I prob wasn't as clear in my opening post but I never intended on going into farming full time, I was only planning on doing it part time along with my current job.
    My intention was not to make a living from farming but to be able to have a few cows and sheep maybe, and be able to produce my own veg etc. for my own consumption first and then go from there. I'm not necessarily looking to go into farming part time for the money but if I was able to make a bit of extra money after been able to produce my own meat and veg then that would be ideal.

Another factor was for my son. I would like him to have the same up bringing as I did - freedom of the countryside, working on the farm, getting outdoors and not stuck behind a tv etc. I am after taking all bits of advice that were both for and against starting to farm 5 acres and I intend in the next few months to start gathering money together, drawing up a plan, getting advice of local farmers, getting experience on a farm etc.

In an ideal world I would love to be able to buy proper farm and have enough land to live off - but we don't live in an ideal world unfortunately. With regard growing my own veg etc would it take much land to be able to produce my own veg year in year out? I do plan on renting land from my uncle prob an extra 5-10 acres so that would bring my total to 15 - for the moment. Ideally with 15 acres I'd love to be able to have my own veg produced and keep a couple of cattle and sheep. Is it possible?

Thanks for all the replies - very overwhelmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,832 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Lads...the OP is looking at it as a lifestyle choice. We all know 5acres will not earn much and defo will not substitute full time employment, but with a bit of research into what OP wants to do he will turn a few quid. I have 20 6to11 mt old weanlings/bullocks on 9 acres with enough grass until first week of Nov all due to making the most of every square inch of ground I have. If he can develop a system that suits him and what he has in his head he will have a great quality of life in the evenings/weekends, as well as having fun with his kid in the fresh air and getting to spend time with him and maybe at the end of it have a few extra quid in his pocket.

This is the point exactly.. This will be a pure hobby at that scale, but what better hobby is there if you have the interest..
    I have friends who race cars at different levels and they plough in €000's a year in their hobby..

These 5 acres could run a few animals provide a great interest and bar a bit of set up cost should at least finance itself going forward..

Someone suggested tunnels and intensive fruit growing.... Is anyone here actually doing this ??

_Brian wrote: »
    This is the point exactly.. This will be a pure hobby at that scale, but what better hobby is there if you have the interest..
    I have friends who race cars at different levels and they plough in €000's a year in their hobby..

These 5 acres could run a few animals provide a great interest and bar a bit of set up cost should at least finance itself going forward..

Someone suggested tunnels and intensive fruit growing.... Is anyone here actually doing this ??

I know a man down this side of the country with a few acres of polytunnels growing mainly strawberries for local shops and supermarkets.
    There would probably be more on a horticulture fourm than here.
    To the op the main cost in keeping animals is over the winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

Thanks very much for all the responses. After taking in all bits of advice and very much appreciate it.

I prob wasn't as clear in my opening post but I never intended on going into farming full time, I was only planning on doing it part time along with my current job.
    My intention was not to make a living from farming but to be able to have a few cows and sheep maybe, and be able to produce my own veg etc. for my own consumption first and then go from there. I'm not necessarily looking to go into farming part time for the money but if I was able to make a bit of extra money after been able to produce my own meat and veg then that would be ideal.

Another factor was for my son. I would like him to have the same up bringing as I did - freedom of the countryside, working on the farm, getting outdoors and not stuck behind a tv etc. I am after taking all bits of advice that were both for and against starting to farm 5 acres and I intend in the next few months to start gathering money together, drawing up a plan, getting advice of local farmers, getting experience on a farm etc.

In an ideal world I would love to be able to buy proper farm and have enough land to live off - but we don't live in an ideal world unfortunately. With regard growing my own veg etc would it take much land to be able to produce my own veg year in year out? I do plan on renting land from my uncle prob an extra 5-10 acres so that would bring my total to 15 - for the moment. Ideally with 15 acres I'd love to be able to have my own veg produced and keep a couple of cattle and sheep. Is it possible?

Thanks for all the replies - very overwhelmed.
    Around 1\4 an acre will grow enough root veg (spuds,carrots,parsnips ect) for the year no problem.
    The rest you could grow in a tunnel.

djmc wrote: »
    I know a man down this side of the country with a few acres of polytunnels growing mainly strawberries for local shops and supermarkets.
    There would probably be more on a horticulture fourm than here.
    To the op the main cost in keeping animals is over the winter

As ive said before in other posts if OP buys Nov calves either in Dec or runners in feb he will only need a small shed and by following nov/dec he'll have them to 380kg and 2.20per kg in mart so no big winters.

Around 1\4 an acre will grow enough root veg (spuds,carrots,parsnips ect) for the year no problem.
    The rest you could grow in a tunnel.

Would that be 1/4 of an Acre per veg or would I be able to grow Spuds, Carrots, Parsnips etc together in that space for the year?

As ive said before in other posts if OP buys Nov calves either in Dec or runners in feb he will only need a small shed and by following nov/dec he'll have them to 380kg and 2.20per kg in mart so no big winters.

What would be rough cost of buying them and then feeding them till they are sold off? Is there much to be made on them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

is there frontage on the 5 acres you own?
    Perhaps you could sell a few sites along there to finance a bit of set up and purchase of additional land?

What would be rough cost of buying them and then feeding them till they are sold off? Is there much to be made on them?

For runners at 4mts between 380 and 480 (dairy bbx, hex, lmx) grass and 1kg of meal per day at 30c a day per kg. not including fert for grass and diesel costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

Would that be 1/4 of an Acre per veg or would I be able to grow Spuds, Carrots, Parsnips etc together in that space for the year?

You'd grow the lot in that much . I will measure my garden at home and give you a more accurate amount.

is there frontage on the 5 acres you own?
    Perhaps you could sell a few sites along there to finance a bit of set up and purchase of additional land?

Theres only a tiny bit of road frontage, but I would rather keep the 5 acres to build for myself in the near future. But selling for a site is one to keep in mind. Thanks

For runners at 4mts between 380 and 480 (dairy bbx, hex, lmx) grass and 1kg of meal per day at 30c a day per kg. not including fert for grass and diesel costs.

What weight would they be when you buy them at 4 months? I could get grass cheap enough, maybe even free off friends to help me start up. Sorry for all the Questions - just curious

About 140kg

OP assume as BIFFO tag you are from the Faithful; recommend Teagasc or Kirwan in Birr both excellent for Ag advice. Make sure your shed has enough slurry capacity for closed period. Recommend the younger cattle alright as easier to handle but not sure if they will make masses going forward as pricey in the mart and finishers making no money again this year so will be a give somewhere in the chain I reckon. Look into contract rearing heifer calves for a dairy lad and try and get 20 acres off the uncle. Best of luck in this. More farmers the better.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DrSeNaMGwTA
    Someone was asking on this thread about did anyone here grow soft fruit.
    Well here's a clip of someone in wexford growing strawberries.
    If this doesn't cheer you up on a miserable October evening nothing will.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Benny122

Hi there.

I come from a farming background. But left farming during boom for work and now there's no work I'm thinking of going back into farming.

I'm thinking of leasing land and buying sheep - however I'm finding it difficult to get land to lease in Kerry. There are sites for sale e.g 7 acres for 35k.

Would I be better off buying or investing in a site. Would I get a bank of back me as a starter farmer - I have some funds behind me.

Would I make an income from it - how do I get a herd number etc.

Would I get a starter grant?

I have no farm machinery - prob wouldn't need much just want a small start up for sheep.

I'd appreciate any information in this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

theres lads making a living and own no land, i personally know two lads in this situation, then theres lads with 100+ acres farming and have a fulltime job, im fulltime farming on less than 100 ac-very little borrowings and no mortgage, would be into a few other things when i have time also to generate cash, no easy mind but im happy at the moment anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭parishsavings

I would advise OP to go for it.
    It is a great hobby to have and if you break even your grand, and if you turn a few pound even better.
    There aren't many hobbies with the potential to make money, no matter how small.

I am in a similar situation, help a farmer at the minute to get a taste for it and hopefully buy a small holding down the line

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 62 ✭✭WexfordFarmer

All I can say to Benny as well is go for it think about the things you can not the things you can't do (wise man once told me).Also if land was away I would advise you to invest in a sheep handling unit (contains small crush and footbath troughs and a faur few gates also )well worth it for a small fortune extremely handy to load and dose sheep far away instead of giving yourself a headache going up and down the road drawing sheep to the yard and back to the field ,also invest in a manure spreader as that will be what is used constantly.