Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice for Computer Repair Job?

• 07-10-2015 9:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hi. I'm currently interning somewhere to learn about PC/phone/tablet repair, and something came up the other day, something I'd like some advice on. My mentor, whom I'll call John, was transferring files from a customer's hard drive to another hard drive. I look away for a minute and joke "Tell me when you've found the child porn", to which I only got silence. I looked back and on the screen was a whole list of folders, each one with names like "Boy getting (f-word)" and "Boy getting spanked".
    The word boy had both of us concerned. Neither of us went into the folders, or checked to see what files were in them (if any). Upon seeing the names of these folders, we talked about it and I suggested to John that he call his bosses and ask what should be done. The bosses replied back saying to just copy the files and leave it alone, don't go into the folders. Apparently, this is a thing that happens quite often, according to the bosses.
    I'd like to ask advice of those in the computer repair trade, does this happen often? What do you do?
    At what point should I ring the guards and say "Hey, I'm a computer tech, a customer has got what I think is CP on his hard drive"?
    I'm asking because I'm wary of the possibility of me calling out and getting someone into legal hot water over nothing, and then getting slapped with a lawsuit in return. I'm also wary of letting an actual CP'er slide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Uno my Uno.

thatitguy wrote: »
    Hi. I'm currently interning somewhere to learn about PC/phone/tablet repair, and something came up the other day, something I'd like some advice on. My mentor, whom I'll call John, was transferring files from a customer's hard drive to another hard drive. I look away for a minute and joke "Tell me when you've found the child porn", to which I only got silence. I looked back and on the screen was a whole list of folders, each one with names like "Boy getting (f-word)" and "Boy getting spanked".
    The word boy had both of us concerned. Neither of us went into the folders, or checked to see what files were in them (if any). Upon seeing the names of these folders, we talked about it and I suggested to John that he call his bosses and ask what should be done. The bosses replied back saying to just copy the files and leave it alone, don't go into the folders. Apparently, this is a thing that happens quite often, according to the bosses.
    I'd like to ask advice of those in the computer repair trade, does this happen often? What do you do?
    At what point should I ring the guards and say "Hey, I'm a computer tech, a customer has got what I think is CP on his hard drive"?
    I'm asking because I'm wary of the possibility of me calling out and getting someone into legal hot water over nothing, and then getting slapped with a lawsuit in return. I'm also wary of letting an actual CP'er slide.

You should call the Gardai, you have the reasonable belief that an offence has taken place and you should report it. In such circumstances a person is protected from a lawsuit by the defence of privilege, that is, you are under a duty to report crimes to the Gardai and they are under a duty to receive such reports.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

If you want to keep your job, you should do as your bosses say. If your firm loses a contract you will be targeted. If you want to out a pornographer keep a few details and post a letter to the guards in a few months time. The guards have to show that someone had exclusive use of the computer and try to find evidence of payment for porn. They will check with ISP etc. You could trigger an investigation yet no one is prosecuted and the only casualty is you. Better to do it anonymously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Report it to the Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

This is how they caught Gary Glitter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭mightyreds

I think leave it alone you saw only folder names if you try to make a compliant nothing will be done, if you had opened the folders and had proof then make the call but as is now you've just a suspicion,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Report it anonymously once the computer has gone back to the customer.

'Happens all the time' is a bit worrying! I used to work in the PC business and while we came across some interesting bits and bobs on people's computers we only had a potential child porn situation once. The Police (in the UK) didn't take any action as it was borderline on how old they were but I say they scared the guy ****less.

Unfortunately these thing are more accessible than they ever were.

Edit: Why are you copying files? HDD/SSD upgrade? If so lose the original and help it find it's way to the guards.

This is how they caught Gary Glitter...

That stupid eejit had even managed to replace the splash screen (the boot up image) with child porn. That piece of .... should spend the rest of his days inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 thatitguy

Report it anonymously once the computer has gone back to the customer.

'Happens all the time' is a bit worrying! I used to work in the PC business and while we came across some interesting bits and bobs on people's computers we only had a potential child porn situation once. The Police (in the UK) didn't take any action as it was borderline on how old they were but I say they scared the guy ****less.

Unfortunately these thing are more accessible than they ever were.

Edit: Why are you copying files? HDD/SSD upgrade? If so lose the original and help it find it's way to the guards.

According to my mentor, when he got off the phone, the bosses said "once a week". Now, I don't know whether this means they find actual real CP, or if there's just scares like this were there is a possibility but no certainty once a week.
    As for why we were copying files, I presume it was for a HDD upgrade. I think the customer wanted to keep the original, so no chance on just losing it (losing it would get us in trouble with the customer anyway, I think).

I'd like to ask not just of you but of anyone else here. Let's say I had called the guards (or mentor did). What exactly would have happened? Would the guards have come in, confiscated the computer, examined it, and then given it back with the owner none the wiser if it turns out there was no CP?
    I'd also ask how exactly am I meant to report such things anonymously? At most, I'd have a name and a phone number, which would more likely than not be a mobile, not a landline. I wouldn't be able to show security camera footage, not without discarding anonymity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,581 ✭✭✭✭L1011

"Boy" may not mean under 18 but I'd still be rather suspicious.

Should anything come of a report, any recent legitimate content will have a data controller statement on it and performer proof of age available to the Guards if needed. That's how some charges against Rolf Harris were dropped - suspected underage were adults and proof provided

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭mightyreds

thatitguy wrote: »
    According to my mentor, when he got off the phone, the bosses said "once a week". Now, I don't know whether this means they find actual real CP, or if there's just scares like this were there is a possibility but no certainty once a week.
    As for why we were copying files, I presume it was for a HDD upgrade. I think the customer wanted to keep the original, so no chance on just losing it (losing it would get us in trouble with the customer anyway, I think).

I'd like to ask not just of you but of anyone else here. Let's say I had called the guards (or mentor did). What exactly would have happened? Would the guards have come in, confiscated the computer, examined it, and then given it back with the owner none the wiser if it turns out there was no CP?
    I'd also ask how exactly am I meant to report such things anonymously? At most, I'd have a name and a phone number, which would more likely than not be a mobile, not a landline. I wouldn't be able to show security camera footage, not without discarding anonymity.

It would have to be sent off for forensic examination at a random guess with paper work and transporting it place to place i reckon it could take 2 months to get back that's if they took it. Maybe they have some way of just popping in store brief check out and go from there though.

The guards would seize anything the thought was relevant. Certainly the laptop used and the HDDs involved; probably any diagnostic equipment that was used with the machine. I wouldn't expect anything back inside 24-36 months.

It would be a huge hassle to everyone involved - that's life. Do you think it's worth it to report a potential 'peadophile'? I put the word in inverted commas for two reasons. Gay men tend to use boy in the same way straight men use the term girl, e.g. sexy girl could mean someone in their 40s. Also there isn't necessarily a link between viewing child pornography and acting out but that's a whole different discussion that probably isn't suitable for boards.ie. Also I'm not disputing the term peodophile isn't correct in either case, unless it's hebephilia.

Assuming it did go further you'd almost certainly be called to court as a witness, if not calling anonymously. On that point isn't there something like crimestoppers here where you can report anonymously?

I say all this as you've asked for the information. I make no judgement on you as a person if you decide it's not worth the hassle. Me, I'd report it. I'm largely an idiot. As others have pointed out they would leave it.

Once a week is a fecking scary thought though!