Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit by van

• 07-10-2015 7:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭

Question is probably asked a million. On my way home yesterday I was hit by a van, fire brigade attended but I told them to cancel ambulance. Feeling fine, only bruises etc but on inspection of bike and helmet, bike looks like there's a crack on the carbon and the helmet is broke. Got his name and phone number, what are the next steps I sud take??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

Report to the Garda if you havent already.Get onto the driver,if no joy get a lawyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

You need to get onto insurance of van driver unless you contact him directly and work out the price of bike etc.

Solicitor may be needed depending on if other party plays ball or not.

Good to hear your doing ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

contact the garda, a&e or your doctor to get yourself checked out concussion can kick in at any stage, contact him and his insurance let him know of updates, bike into shop for a check over. hand him/his insurance the final bill (a&e, bike, time off work if needed, anything that cots you)

Its that simple really, some people like to let a solicitor look after it but if your'e comfortable yourself doing it work away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Get yourself sorted medically.

Take your time.

This might have affected more that you know.

Sadly I get that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Get yourself sorted medically.

Take your time.

This might have affected more that you know.

Sadly I get that.

This.

It can take a few days to clear out the adrenaline from your system.

You have two years from the date of the accident to register a claim with the injuries board and a solicitor may or may not be the way to go but remember they will take a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

pot p wrote: »
    Question is probably asked a million. On my way home yesterday I was hit by a van, fire brigade attended but I told them to cancel ambulance. Feeling fine, only bruises etc but on inspection of bike and helmet, bike looks like there's a crack on the carbon and the helmet is broke. Got his name and phone number, what are the next steps I sud take??

Yeah take it handy tonight. I remember when I was thrown off my bike the adrenaline was pumping like crazy I felt I could run a marathon. It was in the next few days bruising started to appear & the body started seizing, and the real effects took hold!

Just give yourself a day or two. Get yourself into a doctor for a check-up real soon okay and just make sure you listen to your body.

Happy to hear you're feeling okay now though,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Any damage to the van? Who was at fault? Hope you are OK.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

degsie wrote: »
    Any damage to the van? Who was at fault?

From the op its evident the van is in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

You have had a nights sleep and there are no signs of physical damage to your body so chances are you are physically fine. (IF) the van driver is 100% in the wrong then you should expect him/her to pay for your bike + helmet. If you are even slightly to blame for the accident you should chalk it down experience and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

From the op its evident the van is in the wrong.

Perhaps the op deleted some text. I cannot see where he explains the accident? or who is to blame?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

Get a solicitor. They will know best how to handle the situation.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

You have had a nights sleep and there are no signs of physical damage to your body so chances are you are physically fine.

Terrible advice. If the impact was serious enough to damage the helmet, get the opinion of a medical expert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭irishrover99

Who covers the solicitors bill if the OP gets one to sort this out?. Will the drivers insurance company pay the bill for that also. Otherwise he would be better of doing it himself as long as he's ok and only recovering bike costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Are you sure the van was at fault? Lots of people suggesting you tot up your bills and crease the van driver; maybe it's clean cut but you certainly havn't stated how you can be so sure that you are free of liability. Maybe get yourself to a doctor and prepare yourself to hear from the van drivers insurance from the damage to his van and lost earnings.

Either way, best of heath to you, it must have been a shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭shansey

Take your time.. what I thought was 3 week injury after being knocked down is still plaguing me almost 2 years on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭salamanca22

Who covers the solicitors bill if the OP gets one to sort this out?. Will the drivers insurance company pay the bill for that also. Otherwise he would be better of doing it himself as long as he's ok and only recovering bike costs.

Usually solicitors will work on a no foal no fee basis if they feel the client has a strong case. This means that if there is no payout at the end then they do not receive a bill from the solicitor. However, outlays will still need to be paid such as doctors reports.

OP, see a doctor. I was in a car crash a few years ago and felt fine after the crash, just a little dazed. A day later and I was sore, another day later and I was in bits. After an accident your body secretes a lot of adrenaline which will cover the pain that might be there, only after a day or so once your body gets back to normal will you start to feel the real pain. Almost 5 years later and I am still in pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,159 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Any damage to the van? Who was at fault? Hope you are OK.

The OP says he was struck by the van, so it seems obvious the van was at fault...

OP, you should have went in the ambulance and got a scan, if the impact was hard enough to damage your bike and helmet then you should have went for a CT Scan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    The OP says he was struck by the van, so it seems obvious the van was at fault...

why is it kind of obvious ? if I swerved out in front of a van and was hit. Im still struck by a van but Im at fault.

the fact is none of us were there so none of us know how it occurred or who was at fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

The op could have been cycling on the wrong side of the road for all you know.
    Did you witness the accident yourself?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Mod note: Thread is about what OP should do now, not deciding liability. Please stay on topic.

OP I would suggest what others have said. Get yourself checked out, as said adrenaline can take the sting out of the bang shortly afterwards. Then go to the guards. Feel better soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭horse7

<snip> Off Topic, see mod note above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭disco1

I was seriously injuried when a van him me. You need to report it to the guards they in turn will check his credentials. Whether it's your fault or not you will be able to claim against his insurance .he should have reported this to his insurance company but of course he is probally hoping you go away with any fuss.
    If the driver has reported it then you would have received a call from his insurance first thing this morning to see how you are and to get details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Fian

The people wondering if the van driver will sue you or suggesting you should chalk it up to experience have absolutely no idea how the legal system works in practice.

You should contact the van driver initially but with a crack in a carbon frame it is unlikely that they will handle this outside the insurance company. His insurance company will be absolutely delighted if all the compensation they need to pay out is to replace your bike and helmet, hopefully you don't develop any adverse medical issues, adrenaline can have almost unbelievable masking effects on physical injury,

If you don't have any personal injury you are unlikely to need a solicitor, you should be able to deal directly with the insurance company and get the full price of a new bike and new helmet from them. PIAB are there for personal injuries, you don't need to involve them for property damage only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

disco1 wrote: »
    I . Whether it's your fault or not you will be able to claim against his insurance

Eh what ??? :eek:

Time for me to go out and smash my bike into a parked car. Could do with a new one like :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

D3PO wrote: »
    Eh what ??? :eek:

Time for me to go out and smash my bike into a parked car. Could do with a new one like :rolleyes:
    Well technically he's correct. You can put in the claim regardless and then the insurance company will decide if they want to pay out or contest liability.

You don't have to prove they are liable to make a claim against them. That only happens if they contest it.

Yes it's ethically unsound, I'm just pointing out that he's technically correct.

The advice in all of these cases is basically the same:

1. Go to your GP and get checked out, even if you feel "fine"
    2. Report it to the local Garda station, even if you don't want anything further to come of it
    3. Contact the driver to discuss the next steps. Or preferably their insurance company if you're sure you're going to make a claim.

I know from experience that your head tells you not to do anything of these things, that you want to just move on and get past it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Sorry to learn of your accident. Hope the physical damage is minor. Bikes etc are easily replaced!

Don't get involved in an investigation or analysis of the cause or blame—it will just become a pointless and endless debate. You know what happened and that's all that matters.

Hope it does not put you off cycling! Take care.

seamus wrote: »
    Yes it's ethically unsound, I'm just pointing out that he's technically correct.

The best kind of correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Taxuser1

You really need to think this one through carefully. A medical opinion is certainly valid as is a legal expert. In advance of you making any rash decisions, I have the following items on sale in Cycling Adverts

Neck Brace
    Shoulder Strap
    Eye Patch
    Teddy Bear with matching Eye Patch

PM for a no questions asked quote.

pot p wrote: »

Now that I have a bit more time OP...

Firstly there is no hurry for you, unless you want back on the bike ASAP. I kind of did want that too. I sort of did :/

Have yourself checked over by a doctor, and have the bike checked somewhere too. You'll have to get a new helmet though. They are designed to take an impact and should be discarded after an impact. (never knew that myself)

You'd be surprised at the various pains that can occur over the coming days, possibly.

I'd advise not dealing directly with the other party.

It's a very irish thing to do so.

They pay insurance for a reason. They are probably like most Irish people and are more concerned about their no claims bonus because they have no idea how that even works.

They pay a lot of money in case this stuff happens.

They don't like to use their "cover" when they need it.

You might even agree with them? I'd have once. You wouldn't like to lose you no claims either!

Educate yourself on the insurance game and probability.

Unless you are a freak who has lots of accidents (no one will insure you btw) There is a good chance any insurance company can get a lot of free money out of you for a long time as you are a safe bet.

Plus people are generally pr1cks when it comes to stuff like this.

I got knocked off my bike on an empty roundabout, even though I was bright yellow and lit up like a fuppin' light house. The fella who did it couldn't have been more accommodating.

He didn't report the accident when he said he would.

I was pressured by my missus to deal directly with him cos maybe he had a young family and stuff... but by pure chance the insurance company got involved.

His account of the event was amazing. He even had witnesses ala his mate in the van. 'twas my fault.

I had no one. Not even one witness, I was too stupid or shocked to do that stuff, even though I probably could have had loads of witnesses. .

But I did have a Mobius camera on my head which recorded the whole event.

Suffice is to say that since the event i've had a few changes to my life. A sport I once did is out the window due to an arm injury.

I used to commute at least four days a week to work and as much as I gave it a lash for a few months after, I can't, I just can't. :( and that's hard for me mentally as I am not one of those lovely PC friendly people. I'm from the "kick up the arse" "shure you'll be grand" generation.

I've crawled out of bed at stupid o'clock with the intention of man'ing up and commuting but ...

meh.

I've spent a lot of money making sure I am safe on the bike. I've even bought a rear bike camera off here last week.

But

meh.

So in short, go to a doctor as you wish, make sure you are fully OK. There is no rush and you take into account all your costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

OP, you should have went in the ambulance and got a scan, if the impact was hard enough to damage your bike and helmet then you should have went for a CT Scan.

I was struck by a car, it however had right of way.
    CT scan is not indicated ( there are specific guidelines for CT in head injury)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Are cyclists made of sugar? Is it not possible to be involved in an accident and just not get hurt? Happened to me a couple of times. Thankfully op was wearing head protection, hope he/she gets sorted out with bike etc. Let's not get all 'compo culture' on this.

Suggesting someone should get a check up after a bang to the head has nothing whatsoever to do with compo culture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

So thats why American Football players never get concussion and don't show after effects of brain injuries - I guess its those magic helmets!

....... oh wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

As someone that was involved in a low speed crash( I was moving up through traffic at a red light, light turned green and the 3rd car turned left with out indicating, so she was prob doing about 10kmh and me about 15-20) , Refused an ambulance because I was grand and didn't want to waste the overly stretched recourses I'd recommend any one that takes a knock to the head get themselves checked out.

I got my other half to drop me to the hospital to be sure only to spend the night throwing up waiting for a CT scan. A year and a half later I still get bouts of vertigo caused by the crash, my head was fine but damaged something in my ear.

My advise was based on my experience and never mentioned compo, just expenses, they are two very different things.
    If I was to have waited a while before submitting my expenses the driver would be still waiting for a bill. I've paid out well over €2k on medical expenses and lost twice as much in time off work because I closed my claim with the insurer and just wanted it sorted and back on the bike.

Are cyclists made of sugar?

They are made of people flesh. Little grey matter in a human shell.

Bit like Daleks really.