Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kitchen Build ~ worktop type & 8x4 sheeting query

• 05-10-2015 6:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭

I'm going to make my own kitchen (in a holiday home) and I'm wondering what type of 8x4 sheets I should be using?

I was thinking of making the frame using planed 3x2 and then using 2x2 as open grill shelving within the units. I'd use mdf for closing off the back of the press.

Should I be looking at anything is particular? Pitfalls etc.

I'll be putting an open shelf unit on one wall but that will be the extent of wall units in the kitchen.

I was looking at making my own doors, similar to the way they are made in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LgEjdfpRZa4

Can thin sheeting with a tongue & groove effect be bought in Ireland?

tongue_and_groove_plywood_slotted_plywood.jpg

Any recommendations for worktop suppliers in Cork/Kerry? Ditto for 8x4 sheeting etc.

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 faithful chippie

Look up European kitchen cabinets, much simpler than the 3x2 frame you're on about. Do you mean to put 2x2 across the inside of the unit to make shelves? Might be easier to use a piece of edged MFC (melamine faced chipboard) or use a wire basket type shelf.

If you're dead set on making your own doors grand, builders merchants might have beadboard like that, maybe a specialist timber supplier it depends.

There are places you could get edges lengths of mfc made up to suit you, a quick google threw out cuttosizepanels.ie and agetek.ie, the first one being in cork no idea who or what these places are but from the website seem to have what you want. Local builders merchant/timber suppliers might have some selection of worktops.

Good luck with it!

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭PaddyBloggit

Thanks for the reply Faithful chippie.

I think you have got where I'm coming from. The kitchen is going to be a functional piece of work rather than a decorative piece of work. I'll be hand priming and painting when finished.

I looked up European kitchen cabinets but couldn't see anything close to what I'm hoping to do.

The overall kitchen will have only two double doors and a two corner entry doors. I'll have one open unit for two wicker baskets, two drawer units and an open shelf unit roughly 3 feet long on one wall and that's it. The other wall has a free standing dresser and a hood between it and the window.

I was thinking of using the 2x2 but I'll look at your edged MFC suggestion. Thanks for the links. No amout of googling here brought up those sites for me.

I'm for doing what I can but know that my lack of expertise will curtail me.

Your post has helped a lot ... you've given some great leads to look at.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭dathi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Jimmy_M

I didnt watch all of your video - but i gather from a quick look that hes doing some kind of framing with pocket joints. and filling the middle with that tng stuff.
    The framing bit can be a bit difficult for a novice.

I made my own shaker style doors with t&g effect, but i made them out of MDF. Basically you take a sheet of 12 mm MDF, cut to your door size with 5mm over. You use a router to inscribe vertical 'v' lines.
    You take e.g. 70mm wide strip of 6mm MDF. Cut this to length to act as the rails of the door. You glue it on to the front and you end up with an 18mm thick door.
    Cut off the 5mm overhang (because the 6 mm might not have matched up exactly with the edges of the main 12 mm structure) for a nice clean edge.

Downsides - the edges can be a bit rough with mdf - they need sanding and coating in PVA. I used bathroom/kitchen paint to paint them.
    I saw it being done on some uk diy forum but cant find the thread now..
    I can bang up a pic of finished product later.

Also - I made my unit carcasses out of 18mm white melamine covered MDF. I used the iron on edging for the exposed edges. Im sure people will be quick to say you shouldnt use mdf in the kitchen as it would be destroyed should something leak on it. I havent had such catastrophe (yet) - cost was an issue at the time... I reckon i built the whole kitchen for about 200 euros.

Edit: found the link to the post i saw http://www.ultimatehandyman.co.uk/forum1/mdf-doors-t28119.html

dathi wrote: »

Looks like what would work for me .... thanks!

Jimmy_M wrote: »
    I didnt watch all of your video .....

If you can stick up a photo that would be great.

I haven't much of an area to do but a local guy quoted me over €6k to do a simple job, no wall units (just a section of open shelving).

I said forget that, 'tis only a holiday home after all. I'd be handy with the saw so I reckon I'd stick something half reasonable together.

I have more but cant lay my hand on them right now....
    My kitchen was small enough too... 1 wall about 3 or 4m long to take everything inc sink hob and oven. Not much counter space left on it (but i was able to put some on the opposite wall) - anyway found a scan of my crude plans design.jpg
    And then a couple of the doors before they were painted.... (I painted them white)
    doors.jpg
    Ill get a pic of the entire finished project later

Jimmy M, your doors are exactly what I'm thinking of. They would be ideal for my set up.

I'm thinking of making the whole frame with 3x2s and using the 2x2 lats as shelving inside. I could panel the frame internally with some type of marine ply or other.

Any thoughts on this?

I sussed out worktop today and I can get B&G worktops locally and tongue & groove effect red deal 8x4 sheets.

I think they stock the drawer runners too.

What type of paint did you use? What's the story with Farrow & Ball paint?

I did a bit of wood work for a couple of years in school - but this was my first propper project since then - my tools consisted of small circular saw from lidl, cheap router and bit set rfom B&Q or woodies, cheap Black n decker jigsaw and some hand tools; square and a straight edge etc clamps plenty of clamps. My point is i was a relative novice

Forgot my pic of finished product again...sorry
    I'm thinking of making the whole frame with 3x2s and using the 2x2 lats as shelving inside. I could panel the frame internally with some type of marine ply or other.

Any thoughts on this?

I cant really visualise what you're going for in terms of the carcass, but, personally speaking I'd avoid the complexity of framing and cladding. I used 8x4 sheets of white melamine covered MDF and made a simple cube like you would expect - now you might be after something different in terms of look so this may not suit you.

Same for the shelves, i just used same sheets. I faced off exposed cuts with a white edging i got from ebay.
    The shelves you describe sound like what you might see in a hot press? If thats what you're after go for it.

Re the doors: framing and filling in with that T&G sheeting sound more difficult than what i did. The t&g effect look can be easily got with a V type router bit. I just followed the description in the link i posted above.
    Altho it may end up cheaper your way. It all depends on what you're comfortable attempting.

In all of it, the best tool i got to know was the router. It can be great for finishing off edges eg if you got with the slats for shelves finish the edges off with a small round-over bit or a chamfer - leaving them square will make it very harsh or industrial looking.

Re paint - i used crown kitchen and bathroom paint - its more expensive its supposed to be wasable... Ive had no probs with it.
    Since i was going on to MDF i sealed it first with a PVA solution - I read it kinds of water proofs it a bit and also makes the MDF take the paint better.

Thanks for that Jimmy.

When you made the carcass with the melamime mdf did you just glue and screw together or did you use angle brackets or such like?

Your way sounds simpler. I reckon I'd face it with lengths of 2x2.

Re. the shelving ... I guess I was looking 'alternative' when I thought of using the 2x2 as shelving.

I have the circular saw, a bench saw and the router so I think I'd have enough to work for me. I'll need to practise using the router a bit before I'd feel confident enough to do the T&G effect on the doors.

I'm going to call to the local hardware shop on Saturday to see what they have in stock and I'll base the build on what they stock and the cost of the different materials.

I'm raring to go ... I just need to get the initial research and order for materials sorted.

Your posts are a great a great help Jimmy ... thanks.

What type of sink did you put in? I'm thinking of getting a ceramic sink.

What type of plinth did you put in? I've seen legs done with a slightly fancy design and it looks like a nice feature.

No probs... (and no pic again sorry)

My sink was a run of the mill stainless steal, draining board with the small sink in the middle - bought it off adverts for 20 euro second hand. As i say cost was an issue at the time. My countertop was solid beech wood from ikea...again cheap - think its only 25 mm thick, but was easy to work with to get the sink in.

Re doing the t&g in the MDF - yes practic on scrap... Use a straight edge clamped to the wood as a guide. Dont go all the way to the endof the sheet or you'll have holes at the edges (you'll only ever make that mistake once :) )

Re the carcass - I just screwed them - no glue.

Re plinth (thats the kick board bit at the bottom right? :) )- I used ikea legs on the units. They have clips on them that clip onto the leg and then a kind of barbed piece at the front goes into a groove cut in the kickboard. I used MDF for the kickboards and cut that groove out myself with my little circular saw set to shallow (could use the router also if youve a thin enough bit). I painted it black.
    I wouldnt really recommend MDF there as it will suffer in a puddle - but i was living in the house on my own and i was just v careful :)
    plywood is a better job - dont be bothering with marine ply thats overkill.

Thanks Jimmy.

Calling to Hardware supplier tomorrow to see what they stock. That will determine how I'll tackle the build.

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭mikehn

http://www.adverts.ie/other-diy-renovation/kitchen-dismantled-ready-to-go-fast-sale/8928473
    http://www.donedeal.ie/kitchen-for-sale/kitchen-units-plus-sink-and-extractor-unit/10590562?offset=4
    Would you not go with something like the above. Would prob work out cheaper that buying the makings.
    You can also buy nice doors very reasonably in Noyecks Tralee and they generally have some lengths of worktop going cheap that have been damaged a bit in the stores

I'd probably do damage to the units taking them out. I reckon I'd put up something reasonable as fast. I'm not too worried about getting a 100% perfect finish. It's a holiday home I'll hopefully retire to and I'll be downsizing. Aiming for less bells and whistles. I have a U shaped kitchen here with lots of empty presses.

The one I'll make will be simply made - I've a good enough grasp of carpentry to do a half decent job and I'm looking forward to trying my hand at it.

I did think of buying an old kitchen and working with it but I think I'd waste more than I'd use. Cooker, dishwasher & fridge are taking a good bit out of what I have to make and I have a dresser painted up to fill an area in too.

My design only has one double door under counter unit, a double door corner unit, an open shelved unit and two drawer units. On the wall is roughly a 3 feet open shelved unit. Utility has a work top with one double door unit underneath worktop and open shelving/larder style unit on wall.

I'm going on a reccy tomorrow and I'll have a trailer the following Satuday to buy materials.