Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Re joining the dole queue, living with an unofficial landlord

• 03-10-2015 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Bit of a long post, sorry.

I arrived back from abroad after a good few years and after only a few weeks of claiming I have found myself back in work. The downside is that

a- It is only a three month contract

b- I'm not entirely convinced it will last three months. It is a public demand based job, and whether the demand is there for the two months I am meant to be there remains to be seen.

Here lies the tricky part. Since coming home I stay with my Mam down in Wexford. The commute is utter torture, I just don't have the time to leave work, look at gaffs and get the bus home and get any reasonable amount of sleep doing this. Thankfully I have just had an offer of accommodation which I have snapped up immediately given how hard it is to get. The problem here is that I have a feeling the homeowner is not a declared, tax paying landlord, as he has not asked me for any one month in advance rent nor any deposit (it's not a scam, I've met him and he's a kosher family man who owns and lives in the gaff, I'll be living in a self contained granny flat out the back). Of course I couldn't care less that he isn't paying his taxes, more power to him if he can get away with it as it gives me less of a headache regarding deposits and move out notifications and such.

What I am asking about is what happens if this job ends on or before 9 weeks. When I was coming off the dole the guy at the office told me that my file is suspended for 9 weeks- basically if I require dole again in under 9 weeks due to the end of the job I will get it immediately without having to wait for an assessment as long as I have a termination letter from the employer.

I have two questions here:

a- If I am claiming before 9 weeks, I will want to be signing on/ collecting from Dublin post offices/ dole offices. Obviously I will have to submit a Dublin address for this. Will they ask why I am living at this address, who else lives there, and under what terms I live there? (when I had to satisfy the habitual residency requirement I had to provide a written estimate of my mother's weekly earnings and a utility bill with her name on it). Or will they just give it to me based on the details I submitted in Wexford (obviously getting a return bus from Dublin to collect my 188 every week is a fairly sizable chunk out of it that I don't want to be spending)

b- If I last longer than the 9 weeks, I presumably have to go though the assessment. Will they ask me for the homeowner's details and earnings?

The problem is, if I lose the job, there is quite honestly zero job opportunities where I currently am, there are lads down here pouncing on every opening for years with either no luck or a piddling few weeks here and there. The bottom line is I have to be living in Dublin with secured accommodation to get myself in the job market.

Thanks for reading if you bothered getting this far, it is very long winded :-) I would also ask the moderators to maybe delete this after a few days once I have gotten a few answers if they could, while my details are vague I don't want to be getting any landlord in trouble if the revenue looked at this :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

If landlord is renting in my opinion its up to him how he deals with it,but when coming back to SW office you will need to declare your new address-if renting i think you'll need some sort of proof-like letter from landlord stating that your renting,and maybe some receipts which i believe could be bank transfer or written ones confirming amount say for every month.

Don't think any other details would be required about landlord.So you might need to have chat with him about being able to provide those,and confirmation of renting to you-not sure how it would sit with him in that context thou.

Also giving out new address will most likely trigger visit from local SW officer to confirm that you do live at named place and are person who claims from that address.

Think it would get more complicated if you also wanted to claim rent allowance-thus more details would be needed from you and landlord-bills,statements etc.