Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could I sell photos online although I'm not a professional photographer?

Options
  • 03-10-2015 2:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭

I'd like to sell some photos online. I'm by no means a professional photographer but I take photos all the time. I've got tens of thousands I've taken in the last few years and at least a fraction of them are decent, some are even very good in my opinion.

I made an account on Canstockphoto a while ago. I had to send them a number of photos to be accepted on to the site. They accepted me but when I started uploading photos to sell they rejected them one by one (they even rejected one of the ones that had gotten me accepted in the first place). They gave reasons for rejecting them but only one reason ("this picture is overexposed") made some kind of sense. One of the others they rejected was a picture of a comma butterfly and they wouldn't accept my title 'Comma Butterfly'. Another one was a picture of Carlow Castle and they rejected that because it was copy protected or something even though it was my own photo. I ended up deleting my account.

I think I need to stay away from stock photography sites and find a site that sells photos to people that just like the photo.