Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

70 Year Old Man Fined € 2,000 And Sentenced For Protecting Himself

• 02-10-2015 1:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭

Heard on the radio yesterday an old man of 70 who lives in a very rural part of the countryside was fined €2,000, arrested and sent to the Midlands prison because he discharged his legally held Shotgun into the air to frighten off 2 men that had come up to his house in a jeep and tried unsuccessfully twice to kick his door in with the intention of robbing \ assaulting \ killing him.

The two offenders got away with zero repercussions.

What do the authorities think he should have done ?
    Just let them in and help themselves ?
    The poor man must have been scared out of his wits.

Sorry for the rant but for f**k sake this is so so wrong.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I know you said this is radio, but we're gonna need some kinda confirmation or backup source on this. Google's turning up nothing.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

So the would be robbers reported the scary man to the police?
    OP come on...

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Listen to the podcast of "Liveline" on radio 1 for yesterday 1st of oct.
    The old man in question rang in to give his story after Joe Duffy was talking about the sentencing of the 7 scumbags that attacked that poor family a while ago.

Supercell wrote: »
    So the would be robbers reported the scary man to the police?
    OP come on...

No obviously not..... the old lad must have said it to the Gardai that came to his house after he rang them after the 2 boyos left and it must have been one of them that done him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

vixdname wrote: »
    No obviously not..... the old lad must have said it to the Gardai that came to his house after he rang them after the 2 boyos left and it must have been one of them that done him

Then we only have his word for it for a second-hand source. The truth as to what happened could be entriely different.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Of course you're 100% right.

The old man rang up Joe Duffy to tell him a whole bunch of lies just for the sake of it or maybe just to pass a few minutes of his afternoon as he had nothing else to do and the two lads that tried to kick his door in really didnt do that at all, they were calling him to ask him if he had Jesus in his life.

Yep, youre definitely right, theres always two side to the story :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭allenview

Story is completely different to what he told joe,they were not thugs,but neighbours who came to his house about animals he kept and had broken out on to their land and would not remove,well known in the area as a very awkward person to deal with. Rte should have check out his story before letting him on air.

allenview wrote: »
    Story is completely different to what he told joe,they were not thugs,but neighbours who came to his house about animals he kept and had broken out on to their land and would not remove,well known in the area as a very awkward person to deal with. Rte should have check out his story before letting him on air.

Any link to this story on the net ?..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭allenview

Yes,I think the story was in the Leinster leader sometime ago to the best of my recollection,not the first time Harry was on radio,well known for ringing radio shows ,pat Kenny and Vincent Brown always something to do with justice or police .

Thanks for the info, I'll look it up.

I think, in fairness to the two, the OP should retract the allegation that they intended to commit a crime unless that was an actual finding in some forum such as a Court.

I have nothing to retract, the allegations were made on the Joe Duffys radio show in public by the old man in question, I, taking the old man on his word, simply asked if anyone else thought the idea of an old man getting fined €2,000 for discharging his Shotgun in such a threatening circumstance was out of order.

Nothing for me to retract your honour :rolleyes:

I have nothing to retract, the allegations were made on the Joe Duffys radio show in public by the old man in question, I, taking the old man on his word, simply asked if anyone else thought the idea of an old man getting fined €2,000 for discharging his Shotgun in such a threatening circumstance was out of order.

Nothing for me to retract your honour :rolleyes:

You did more than just refer to taking the shotgun off the man, you called them "offenders" and implied they intended to kill him.

Were they convicted of anything? Were they even accused of anything by anyone...apart from a person who was himself convicted of a crime and jailed?

And should they State hang on to his gun, maybe hand it back to him at the prison gates?

You did more than just refer to taking the shotgun off the man, you called them "offenders" and implied they intended to kill him.

Were they convicted of anything? Were they even accused of anything by anyone...apart from a person who was himself convicted of a crime and jailed?

And should they State hang on to his gun, maybe hand it back to him at the prison gates?

Listen my friend. I have no intention of getting into a "you said this and I said that" type of exchange with you.
    I've already made my point very clear, I relayed what was said on a radio show and asked others opinions...thats it.
    If you want to maintain I alleged anything then be my guest, I honestly couldnt care less about it nor can I understand why any of the above would bother you either.
    Now have a lovely weekend and i hope you day improves. ;)

Listen my friend. I have no intention of getting into a "you said this and I said that" type of exchange with you.

Well...you can't.

You said what you said in the OP, I pointed out that some of it is fairly outrageous. You are casting a slur on 2 people who are not accused of any wrongdoing. And your defence? "I am merely repeating the story of a man who was jailed"? That's no defence at all.

It doesn't bother me. You are the person who said their thread was "a rant" and apologised for it in your OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭mada82

Well...you can't.

You said what you said in the OP, I pointed out that some of it is fairly outrageous. You are casting a slur on 2 people who are not accused of any wrongdoing. And your defence? "I am merely repeating the story of a man who was jailed"? That's no defence at all.

It doesn't bother me. You are the person who said their thread was "a rant" and apologised for it in your OP.

He hasn't named anyone. Give it a rest would you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭lollsangel

I find this difficult to believe as a few years back my grandfather shot a round into the air from his legally held gun to frighten away some young lads who kept breaking into the back garden of the house. Gardai just took the gun off him.

mada82 wrote: »
    He hasn't named anyone. Give it a rest would you.

Check the forum rules about mini modding.

The OP accepts he was going on a rant. I have merely pointed out that in that rant he has said some fairly unfair things about the victims of a crime. His sole defence is that he is repeating the story of a convicted criminal.

Check the forum rules about mini modding.

The OP accepts he was going on a rant. I have merely pointed out that in that rant he has said some fairly unfair things about the victims of a crime. His sole defence is that he is repeating the story of a convicted criminal.

Nameless victims. Could be a made up story. I'm finding it bizarre that you want him to retract comments and you say I'm the one mini modding.

mada82 wrote: »
    Nameless victims. Could be a made up story. I'm finding it bizarre that you want him to retract comments and you say I'm the one mini modding.

Not naming people does not mean one has free rein to cast slurs about them, to accuse them of crimes etc.

I would have thought that obvious rather than bizarre, but we can agree to differ.

Not naming people does not mean one has free rein to cast slurs about them, to accuse them of crimes etc.

I would have thought that obvious rather than bizarre, but we can agree to differ.

He's repeating a story he heard on the radio. I'm sure plenty of threads have done the same.

No one has been named and no location details either.

Lets agree to differ as you have suggested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

The old man rang up Joe Duffy to tell him a whole bunch of lies just for the sake of it or maybe just to pass a few minutes of his afternoon as he had nothing else to do and the two lads that tried to kick his door in really didnt do that at all, they were calling him to ask him if he had Jesus in his life.

Yeah sure maybe he had nothing to do and made up a load of lies.
    Or maybe he was concealing the actual details of the crime he was convicted for Who knows.

...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

lollsangel wrote: »
    I find this difficult to believe as a few years back my grandfather shot a round into the air from his legally held gun to frighten away some young lads who kept breaking into the back garden of the house. Gardai just took the gun off him.

This man went to gaol because he didn't pay a fine. Not for discharging the firearm as such.

As a pensioner, older than this guy, I abhor this attitude that age is a defence against the law (like the lady with the satellite dish earler in the week). At what age do we get to be beyond the law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Yeah.. maybe they should sue the old lad for 'emotional distress'.... :rolleyes:

conorhal wrote: »
    Yeah.. maybe they should sue the old lad for 'emotional distress'.... :rolleyes:

Um.

Who said anything about them suing? You must have mistaken me for another poster who intimated that. If you got that impression from any one of my posts, by all means quote it and we can go through it together.

We did get this interesting contribution though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Heard on the radio yesterday an old man of 70 who lives in a very rural part of the countryside was fined €2,000, arrested and sent to the Midlands prison because he discharged his legally held Shotgun into the air to frighten off 2 men that had come up to his house in a jeep and tried unsuccessfully twice to kick his door in with the intention of robbing \ assaulting \ killing him.

The two offenders got away with zero repercussions.
    The truth as to what happened could be entriely different.

Threadfail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

As a pensioner, older than this guy, I abhor this attitude that age is a defence against the law (like the lady with the satellite dish earler in the week). At what age do we get to be beyond the law?
    65. On my 65th birthday I'm off shoplifting. **** you world, I'm old!!!1!

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

OP, You've been stitched up like a kipper by a 70 year old. You must feel like a twat now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,586 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Another bull**** OP from somebody far too intent on some recreational outrage to bother considering if it was even true or not. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Closed.

OP we need links to provide information so members can have an informed discussion, not a he said she said type scenario. If someone has links PM them to me and I'll put them in the OP and reopen the thread, cheers.