Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Different doctor on medical card?

• 01-10-2015 6:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭

As far as i know you aren't allowed to see a different doctor other than the named doctor on the mefical card. I understand that.

I moved a few months ago and thought i would see a doctor in my new location and see what the story was. And they saw me as an emergency patient even though they weren't taking on any medical card patients. The receptionist never told me that at the time.

So im on the look out for a doctor that will take on new medical card patients but until all the forms are completed i really need to see a doctor. I am in so much pain, i somehow hurt my back, so much pain that i am willing to pay. Does anyone know if i walk in and flash money will they see me without the complicated story i received the last time, they weren't taking on new medical card patients, but they will see me anyway. I felt like a burden on them. I am waking up multiple times a night and its not funny anymore. I really need to see a doctor.

Just walk in, pay up, fill out forms for medical card and be done with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Where are you based. There are out of ours Doctor services in some areas D-doc in Dublin, K-Doc. This might be an option if you are waking up at night with. pain, you could find out at that point about changing doctors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

Where are you based. There are out of ours Doctor services in some areas D-doc in Dublin, K-Doc. This might be an option if you are waking up at night with. pain, you could find out at that point about changing doctors.

Based in Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭medicine12345

Does anyone know if i walk in and flash money will they see me without the complicated story i received the last time, they weren't taking on new medical card patients, but they will see me anyway. I felt like a burden on them. I am waking up multiple times a night and its not funny anymore. I really need to see a doctor.

Just walk in, pay up, fill out forms for medical card and be done with it?

In fairness they weren't getting paid to treat you if you weren't a patient of their's, so they're hardly going to be thrilled about it, nobody likes to work for free. So yes if you pay to see they privately, they probably will see you as they won't be making a loss by seeing you.

I asked about the medical card when making the appointment and the receptionist said it would be okay. Then the doctor said they weren't taking on any new medical card patients. Which was too late by the time i was sitting in the doctor's office. It wasn't my fault what happened.
    The receptionist should have told me they weren't taking on anyone new and the doctor himself said it. I was willing to pay back then when i was in the doctor's office and i am now.

The only difference now, im looking for a doctor that is taking on new medical card patients and while the forms are sent off, i can just pay up.

Im desperate, so much so, I'm dreading going to sleep because i know i'll wake up, each time it takes 20 minutes to get up out of bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭medicine12345

I asked about the medical card when making the appointment and the receptionist said it would be okay. Then the doctor said they weren't taking on any new medical card patients. Which was too late by the time i was sitting in the doctor's office. It wasn't my fault what happened.
    The receptionist should have told me they weren't taking on anyone new and the doctor himself said it. I was willing to pay back then when i was in the doctor's office and i am now.

The only difference now, im looking for a doctor that is taking on new medical card patients and while the forms are sent off, i can just pay up.

Im desperate, so much so, I'm dreading going to sleep because i know i'll wake up, each time it takes 20 minutes to get up out of bed.

Ok fair enough, hope you get it sorted out anyways. shouldn't have much of a problem finding someone to take you if you pay privately as its less complicated with forms etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭sandra06

ring the medical card people and ask then what doctor in the area have openings for new patients

sandra06 wrote: »
    ring the medical card people and ask then what doctor in the area have openings for new patients

Thanks for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

If you need to see a doctor at any time just contact your local "care-doc" which I believe is "SouthDoc" http://www.southdoc.ie/index.cfm

The medical card will cover any visits here or any callouts if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

The doctor gets about 8 euro a month per patient, no matter how many times you visit. Out of that, after expenses and insurance, they pocket very, very little, a euro if anything.

It's a bad business to be in, but there are many great doctors out there willing to help people out. I think op, pay up, and put the hand into the pocket for another 50 if you can. Fair play to them for seeing you that time.

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    If you need to see a doctor at any time just contact your local "care-doc" which I believe is "SouthDoc" http://www.southdoc.ie/index.cfm

The medical card will cover any visits here or any callouts if needed.

Callouts, no. At least I thought so. Visits, yes, if the GP is signed up. GP can make alternative out of hours arrangements. Doesn't have to be SouthDoc. Patients should make the enquiry with the GP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

myshirt wrote: »
    The doctor gets about 8 euro a month per patient, no matter how many times you visit. Out of that, after expenses and insurance, they pocket very, very little, a euro if anything.
    It's a bad business to be in, but there are many great doctors out there willing to help people out. I think op, pay up, and put the hand into the pocket for another 50 if you can. Fair play to them for seeing you that time.
    :confused: Source?

snubbleste wrote: »
    :confused: Source?

Assume you are not Irish, so no worries, don't be embarrassed. There is a little section within our system here in Ireland called the Primary Care Reimbursement Service. The capitation fees for doctors are extremely low in this country unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Balagan

myshirt wrote: »
    Assume you are not Irish, so no worries, don't be embarrassed. There is a little section within our system here in Ireland called the Primary Care Reimbursement Service. The capitation fees for doctors are extremely low in this country unfortunately.

And no extra charge for the condescending attitude, one presumes!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭mp22

Closed due to Illness.