Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

price of scrap metal

• 29-09-2015 5:17pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭

does anybody know what the price is roughly for scrap metal these days. Have a share of scrap iron around the place and was thinking of loading up a load and taking it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Don't know exactly but I've heard is fallen back a lot
    Someone mentioned a figure of 50 euro a ton.
    No demand in China is what I heard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

djmc wrote: »
    Don't know exactly but I've heard is fallen back a lot
    Someone mentioned a figure of 50 euro a ton.
    No demand in China is what I heard.

lord I thought it was about €180 a year ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

lord I thought it was about €180 a year ago?

It was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

I got a tenner for 180kg of scrap at the start of the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 ruben37

Have been cleaning up the yard this past few week had a good few bits got £59 sterling cash per tone last week. It was a mixed batch of light and heavy scrap metal sold over the border they doped of the bin and picked it up for free, seemed very happy to get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

dug up a complete opel kadett car here when putting in footing 3 weeks ago. it was clean and not full of clay . called the local scrap place and they said €40 a ton for a car . I said if ye collect it in the next 2 weeksits theirs for free

no show after 2 weeks, advertised it for free last sunday at 7pm and 2 lads came for it at 9pm the same night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭mythos110

dug up a complete opel kadett car here when putting in footing 3 weeks ago. it was clean and not full of clay . called the local scrap place and they said €40 a ton for a car . I said if ye collect it in the next 2 weeksits theirs for free

no show after 2 weeks, advertised it for free last sunday at 7pm and 2 lads came for it at 9pm the same night

Did you check the boot for a body?

mythos110 wrote: »

no, it came complete with all contents, including seat covers, hub caps, drawbar and number plates. If there was a body in it well they really got lucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

mythos110 wrote: »

Local guy here had a cow died, so instead of paying dead lorry he managed to get it into the back of a scrap transit van and threw a tarp over it and a few bits of gates etc. Off he set for the first time ever to the local scrap yard with a few bits and bobs on the trailer and the transit van and when they went to unload the trailer with the grab, they squeezed the sh1te outa the van and there was bits of exploding bovine everywhere.
    He thought that they would lift it off with a set of forks and set it nicely to the side while he drove off. He was made pay for a industrial cleaning company to come in and clean the yard and the crane, which cost a fair bit more than knackery charges. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Must have been a Rear Wheel Drive kadett?

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Must have been a Rear Wheel Drive kadett?

it was in bits, we twisted the chassis pulling it out with the digger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

it was in bits, we twisted the chassis pulling it out with the digger

One man trash is another's treasure ;) especially when it comes to vintage cars, little things like grills and light surrounds are shocking hard get at a sane price for some cars! As a matter of interest have ya any pics of it?

yes I documented it because the next time I see the lad we bought this place off ill be showing him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I know where there's a few yokes buried, easiest thing to do when jumping them in and swapping ROI plates into them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭paulaa

Would any of you know the scrap value of a JCB 3C digger ?

about 6 ton weight. So perhaps 400 euro?

Is it a Mk2 or a MK3?

about 6 ton weight. So perhaps 400 euro?

Is it a Mk2 or a MK3?

Thanks MK2

Throw up a few photos, till we get a look at her! There are rough old dolls on donedeal looking a 1000.

Will do when I get a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Youd only get €40/ton around here. And you'd have to take it to the scrapyard for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

Just came across this on facebook
    https://niume.com/pages/post/m/index.php?postID=61333

Sorry I'm just getting back to this thread. This is the digger I was talking about

13151880_10209614361704345_1113707693929288423_n.jpg?oh=633b97715021c06e4b01b325606660f7&oe=57AF7A46

13139224_10209614376104705_3667095510666985514_n.jpg?oh=8061b1d5e49f1c345d77ab70a7371e9e&oe=57DCD821

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Ring your local scrap yard and ask,i,d say probably 75€ a tonne and its 8 tonne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

Dose it run? Could be worth an add on Dondeal. I know a lad who sold a worse looking one for 1700 Euro last summer and it was a pig to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

bit of paint - be grand

emaherx wrote: »
    Dose it run? Could be worth an add on Dondeal. I know a lad who sold a worse looking one for 1700 Euro last summer and it was a pig to start.

It hasn't run for at least 15 years. I haven't tried to get it started as I thought it would be a waste of time

Is the power steering ram on the front of the axle? If so it's a later model. Stick it up on Done Deal, you'd be surprised . Looked at a worse one up near Slane last year, he was looking 1250 and the cab was in bits, and no glass.

All I know is the year of manufacture is 1975.

I think I'll give it a good wash and clean and see what it's like.

Thanks everyone for the advice