Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Portable milking machine

• 27-09-2015 12:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭

Anyone have one?
    Thinking of investing in one just from point of view of getting colostrum out of a cow easily after calving instead of having to run her into parlour if im on my own.

Presume electric is the one to go for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Anyone have one?
    Thinking of investing in one just from point of view of getting colostrum out of a cow easily after calving instead of having to run her into parlour if im on my own.

Presume electric is the one to go for

Theres a crowd up in the Midlands - Stradbally? - who have them in the store tho not sure if they are the electric ones. They are also the agents for PEL fencers IIRC.

We've ended up with what passes for a calving pen next to the machine room for the dairy so am tempted to run an extra PVC vaccuum line across to power a bucket & pulsator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Sorry to go off thread but always wondered about this. When you put a freshly calved cow through the parlour, how do you handle the beastings? I know there's a diverter valve, but won't the line up to the valve be contaminated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Think I heard a price of 600 for one at last years ploughing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Sorry to go off thread but always wondered about this. When you put a freshly calved cow through the parlour, how do you handle the beastings? I know there's a diverter valve, but won't the line up to the valve be contaminated.
    I used a beastings bucket and flush the claw piece after milking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Into a dump bucket here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

How far away is calving pen from parlour? Seen lads with ordinary 1 inch water pipe from vac pumps to calving pen

Cow Porter wrote: »
    How far away is calving pen from parlour? Seen lads with ordinary 1 inch water pipe from vac pumps to calving pen

Ah its 60m I'd say.
    Bloody fresh cow slipped tonight on way into parlour. Get her up but she's v tender had a rough night last night trying to get a backwards calf out of her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

kowtow wrote: »
    We've ended up with what passes for a calving pen next to the machine room for the dairy so am tempted to run an extra PVC vaccuum line across to power a bucket & pulsator.

I've seen that done on a few farms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭mattP

A stool, a bucket of nuts and an empty bucket :):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ah its 60m I'd say.
    Bloody fresh cow slipped tonight on way into parlour. Get her up but she's v tender had a rough night last night trying to get a backwards calf out of her
    leave a few calves on her for a day or 2. How is she today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Midfield9

Connachtagri had a selection of them at the ploughing. No idea of brand/price

whelan2 wrote: »
    leave a few calves on her for a day or 2. How is she today?

She's grand now. Ran around the field this morning trying to get her in. Collecting yard need to be grooved . Like glass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Cow Porter wrote: »

This is a common enough thing to see, just need to ensure that if bucket fills or spills that the line needs to be washed through.. gets damn messy otherwise..

Also there are still spades of small units in sheds from old bucket plants.. easy to set up and run independently from main machine and no chance of dumping a bucket of milk into the vacuum pump which I've often seen.. If you had the numbers to warrant it its the way to go..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭visatorro

lost a super second calver here over the last week. she calved by herself fine but slipped in yard. tried again a couple of days later she got anxious and slipped again. shes walking around the paddock slowly, no point in bringing her into the yard. was drawing her by hand in paddock but has mastitis now.
    even if portable job cost 1000 if it saved a cow a year wouldn't it be worth it.