Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ipads and Minister Noonan

• 26-09-2015 8:46am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 209 ✭✭

WTF....this is proof that the ministers of this country haven't a fecking clue as to how people are suffering with austerity measures....

Every kid of 5yrs old should have an ipad....Sure I'll hold off paying for food or the electricity so we have an ipad.
    Clown!
    (independent.ie/irish-news/digital-obsession/every-child-over-five-should-have-an-ipad-says-noonan-31559634.)
    Can't post links yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I don't see the problem? Just because you're skint, f**k everyone else?

Except for this: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/education-34252598

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Ipaid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

My kids primary school have a few ipads for every class. Its good that they get time on these yokes as an educational tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

For a start, he said every child should be given an ipad by the state, so stop the pauper moaning as it won't cost you a cent. And, there are some much better tablets than ipads out there.

Just another anti government rant. Read the article .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Mr.Carter wrote: »
    WTF....this is proof that the ministers of this country haven't a fecking clue as to how people are suffering with austerity measures....

Every kid of 5yrs old should have an ipad....Sure I'll hold off paying for food or the electricity so we have an ipad.
    Clown!
    (independent.ie/irish-news/digital-obsession/every-child-over-five-should-have-an-ipad-says-noonan-31559634.)
    Can't post links yet...

Emm... No.

That's not what Mr. Noonan was suggesting you do at all. He maintained that every child over five should have access to an iPad, or a tablet, and this opportunity would happen through the school, rather than expecting any parents to fork out a cent.

It's the season of silly promises and proclamations OP, you'll be hearing a lot more of this kind of populist crap in the coming months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

A lot of schools are already using them for educational purposes, my sisters included, and it hasn't cost us much. So quit whining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,701 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

The sad thing is things like this along with introducing a proper technology curriculum in schools that teaches kids coding and some form of computer hardware maintenance are vital and will only be paid lip service to as per the usual by all parties in the election run up.

Instead we will continue to rely on coder dojo and the likes to supplement the piss poor time it takes for any improvements to our education system

VinLieger wrote: »
    The sad thing is things like this along with introducing a proper technology curriculum in schools that teaches kids coding and some form of computer hardware maintenance are vital and will only be paid lip service to as per the usual by all parties in the election run up.

Instead we will continue to rely on coder dojo and the likes to supplement the piss poor time it takes for any improvements to our education system

Are they actually vital? There's no need to teach children software development skills as part of the curriculum, let alone any sort of computer maintenance when they'll usually only have to deal with consumer electronics rather than complex (not to mention expensive) IT equipment.

Coderdojo do an incredible job as it is for parents who want their children to get an introduction to software development and IT related subjects, but there's simply no need for IT as a subject on the primary school curriculum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Please give them an Android device. It's based on an open source system and not a stolen ideas (at least for not for profit) unlike every product Apple has ever made.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 209 ✭✭Mr.Carter

Right...so I'm wrong about how it's better to fund an ipad for all students from 5yrs old from the taxes or give a child a better dinner or keep their heating on over winter.
    ....oh ya...taxes where do they collect them from....us!!

Right...so I'm wrong about how it's better to fund an ipad for all students from 5yrs old from the taxes or gI've a chill a better dit or keep there heating on overy winter.
    ....oh ya...taxes where do they collect them ....us!!

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Every school child should have an ipad? Or access to one?
    What will that teach them? It's a prohibitive platform to learn on. 
    Style over substance, just like the minister's ploy. 

An android tablet would encourage more development using GO or python but if the minister had any sense, he'd be suggesting a galileo board (designed by Intel in Ireland)  or a raspberry pi be available in every classroom. The possibilities would be endless for our impressionable youth. 

Plus they're so much cheaper than paying a premium for an apple logo. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

As a minister who has helped facilitate the shafting of us taxpayers for the sins of others. You think he'd at least have the cop on to stay clear of the overpriced shyte that Apple churns out and maybe save us some money in the process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

So the welfare is getting a bonus, the kids are getting iPads.

Why am I working :pac:

Right...so I'm wrong about how it's better to fund an ipad for all students from 5yrs old from the taxes or gI've a chill a better dit or keep there heating on overy winter.
    ....oh ya...taxes where do they collect them ....us!!

Well that's why I pointed out that Mr. Noonan used the word 'should', in relation to every child over five having access to an iPad or tablet in school, because his use of the word 'should', implies intent to actually address the issue.

The reality however, is that no such thing will actually happen, and so you can relax OP, your taxes are safe, they're being used to fund dinner parties in Marco Pierre Whites at €124 a head, instead of being put towards investment in education...

That's... that's better, right? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Maybe the non tax paying multinationals could donate them to their future worker drones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,107 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Clown!
    Can't post links yet...

The said access to one. Learn to read a story properly.

ted1 wrote: »
    The said access to one. Learn to read a story properly.

And does the tooth fairy give out these ipads...to access one, it needs to be bought.
    Learn to think!!

Right...so I'm wrong about how it's better to fund an ipad for all students from 5yrs old from the taxes or give a child a better dinner or keep their heating on over winter.

Are you serious? You came on complaining that parents would have to go cold this winter in order to buy ipads. You were wrong because they would be free. Now it's the old "but they're not free because my taxes pay for them". Ok, let's close the schools, disband the gardai, close all hospitals and stop welfare payments so you can spend all that tax money on heating your home.

It's called a society.

TallGlass wrote: »

So the the welfare can get a bonus and the kids get tablets. And the nurses get paid and the schools open and you have food to eat and the lights stay on and the roads are built and................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Anyone who's earning so little they're having trouble keeping the heating on or putting food on the table, isn't paying any income tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭questionmark?

The sooner our kids are introduced to tech the better. Would rather it was Android rather than Apple products.

We also need to introduce foreign language at primary school, Chinese been a good starting point.

Future will be based around tech services and with China becoming richer we need to be able to do business with them.

Sorry hold on I got that wrong. Government asshole blah blah waste my money blah blah water charges bah humbug anti everything blah blah Paul Murphy baaaaa. There that's better to complain rather than offer up anything positive.

And does the tooth fairy give out these ipads...to access one, it needs to be bought.
    Learn to think!!

It'll cost less than 10 euro per student. They'll have about 1 per class. Much different than the 300 euro per student that you are leading people to believe is the cost. They spend more on photocopies or year for each student

The sooner our kids are introduced to tech the better. Would rather it was Android rather than Apple products.

We also need to introduce foreign language at primary school, Chinese been a good starting point.

Future will be based around tech services and with China becoming richer we need to be able to do business with them.

Sorry hold on I got that wrong. Government asshole blah blah waste my money blah blah water charges bah humbug anti everything blah blah Paul Murphy baaaaa. There that's better to complain rather than offer up anything positive.

*Mandarin or Cantonese is the languages spoken in China.

The money that will/may be used to fund these ipads could put to better use...like health care.
    I'm in hospital with my kid, no health insurance because we cannot afford it.
    We were 2.5 days in A&E, then 3 more days in a ward waiting for surgery, they are great here..but the system is broken.
    Fcùk the ipads...imho

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Please give them an Android device. It's based on an open source system and not a stolen ideas (at least for not for profit) unlike every product Apple has ever made.
    Oh apple are right chancers at times, but you do realise that Google copied/"stole" the iPhone OS interface near lock stock and barrel in the first place? The original Android was itself a "copy" of the Blackberry OS, but they changed tack pronto when the iPhone flew off the shelves. The pad OS' are just an extension of that.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

TallGlass wrote: »

Feel free to stop.

*Mandarin or Cantonese is are the languages spoken in China.

/Pedantception :p

seamus wrote: »
    Anyone who's earning so little they're having trouble keeping the heating on or putting food on the table, isn't paying any income tax.

Property tax...water rates(tax)......car tax....tv licence....all taxes regardless of low income.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Property tax...water rates(tax)......car tax....tv licence....all taxes regardless of low income.

TV licence? Why are you letting the kids go cold just so they can watch fair city?

It's better than a 300e fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

For a start, he said every child should be given an ipad by the state, so stop the pauper moaning as it won't cost you a cent. And, there are some much better tablets than ipads out there.

Just another anti government rant. Read the article .

By the State? Who funds the State?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

It's better than a 300e fine.

I don't have a TV licence and the inspector never mentioned anything about a fine to me. It isn't a requirement to have a TV. Get rid of it and buy a tablet :pac:

Traditional and Simplified Mandarin to be extra precise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Menas wrote: »
    Traditional and Simplified Mandarin to be extra precise!

Mainly simplified though. Traditional is only used in places like Taiwan, mainlanders use simplified characters.

The money that will/may be used to fund these ipads could put to better use...like health care.
    I'm in hospital with my kid, no health insurance because we cannot afford it.
    We were 2.5 days in A&E, then 3 more days in a ward waiting for surgery, they are great here..but the system is broken.
    Fcùk the ipads...imho

That's a very weak argument . We have budgets for a reason , a % goes to each area.
    I can't really afford health care but I make sacrifices so the family is covered

A car and a tv is optional.

That's a very weak argument . We have budgets for a reason , a % goes to each area.
    I can't really afford health care but I make sacrifices so the family is covered

I'm happy you can.....unfortunately we cannot, like a lot of people.

Get rid of the car and TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Wow thanks for your contribution! Sure why dont you post every language spoke in China along with every regional dialects or maybe we'll just stick with saying Chinese for a one size fits all for the purposes of this thread.

A car and a tv is optional.

A car is needed for work...A tv is a basic enough one with saorview.

Wow thanks for your contribution! Sure why dont you post every language spoke in China along with every regional dialects or maybe we'll just stick with saying Chinese for a one size fits all for the purposes of this thread.

Start a thread guys

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Not an AH topic. Try Politics Cafe.