Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you ever wonder if any of your friends have realised that it's you on Boards?

• 25-09-2015 11:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭

Sometimes I wonder. There a couple of my friends who I'm fairly certain use Boards. I wouldn't want them realising that it's me because I sometimes say silly things here that I wouldn't want them knowing about :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

DareGod wrote: »
    Sometimes I wonder. There a couple of my friends who I'm fairly certain use Boards. I wouldn't want them realising that it's me because I sometimes say silly things here that I wouldn't want them knowing about :pac:
    You're safe enough Ronan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

You're safe enough Ronan

I saw your cousin earlier in another thread. The Sidewards Man :pac:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I'm pretty open about my username. Always was. Probably too much so!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Tompatrick

DareGod wrote: »

Thinly veiled "I have friends" thread ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Notavirus.exe

I once saw a post that could only have been made by a relative. I'm certain of it, 100% doubtless.

Wait a minute, there is life outside of Boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Considering I use my name and the first word of where I'm from in my username, it wouldn't be too hard for someone who knows me to find me on here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

I saw your cousin earlier in another thread. The Sidewards Man :pac:

Loose the hard on lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

Loose the hard on lad.

You mad brah ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Tompatrick wrote: »
    Thinly veiled "I have friends" thread ?

I'm pretty sure saying "thinly veiled" was banned a few years ago? This is the second time I have seen it today.

But yeah I have friends. Sorry :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

You mad brah ?

I am Brian.

I think anyone who knows me HAS to know it is me on here. Though few of them have commented. Given the amount of personal information I give out here in general - I would be hard NOT to identify :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

A few people know who i am on this, and i'm ok with that, because most of the people i work with don't do discussion boards (most even don't know they exist!).

But, i will never admit to management that this is me, because i'm pretty sure there's a few things i've said that would rattle feathers or could be construed as requiring disciplinary action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

Does anyone know me?

Is there anybody out there? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

Send me a pm if anybody figured out who i am through my posts.

I'd like to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Does anyone know me?
    Well I've met some people who think they are you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I hope no one knows that I'm me!

I've recognised some people though from pics from my neighbourhood and who I've met socially but I'd never let on...lest I have to reveal myself in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

One of my good friends is a moderator so she knows me. Another friend is a lurker who sends me snapchats of my posts which can be quite annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭outsidein98

No one knows me yet as I've just opened a new identity. I no longer use several identities because people recognised me. But then again I tended to post in a specialised forum. So it was easy to spot me from certain details I would give out.

I didn't like that particularly the risk it would get back to my boss. Plus the fact that if I got into a virtual argument, someone might come to my door and punch me on my non virtual nose.

I know a few people who post here on boards. Some are easy to spot. None of you lot though except you Connor.

I once outed Jim Corr on another website. Spouting one of his conspiracy theories. That's my claim to fame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

No one knows me yet as I've just opened a new identity. I no longer use several identities because people recognised me.....

I once outed Jim Corr on another website. Spouting one of his conspiracy theories. That's my claim to fame.

And now we know who you are again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

wow, that was nice of you. remind me not to get into conversation with you :eek:

faithfully

jim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I have one friend who is a lurker and who knows my username on boards (hi friend, if you read this!) and I don't mind that she knows, I'm quite open with her about most things so I doubt that anything that I post would be a shock to her. Other friends have asked me if I use boards but I've refused to tell them what my username is, sometimes I reveal things about myself that I'd prefer them not to know. I think it would be quite easy to identify me though if you knew me in real life and then read my posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭outsidein98

wow, that was nice of you. remind me not to get into conversation with you :eek:

faithfully

jim
    I laughed and just for fun I checked some of your posts. My God it is you! I've outed you again! How's the sisters? Do you still fly those helicopters?

Honestly I'm not part of a conspiracy to out you. No definitely not. But I am part of the chemtrail thing. I have to go, my black helicopter awaits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Loose the hard on lad.

As in "release the young man with the erection"? How will that help?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I'm inherently recognisable and have logged onto boards at too many work places and home PCs etc to be totally anonymous anymore.

Never got any terrifying PMs though.

*Sits and waits*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

A couple of people know, and it's a bit weird that they read through most of my comments. None of it is personal though so I don't really care; it's just the creepy stalker aspect of going back through all my post history or keeping up to date with what I say. I don't mind if someone recognises the username on a post they come across on their own.

So if you could stop doing it, that would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

A couple of my mates though but its all in good fun. Theyre close enough friends that even posting here anonymously and if they see it, I dont mind (they usually already know)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

I laughed and just for fun I checked some of your posts. My God it is you! I've outed you again! How's the sisters? Do you still fly those helicopters?

Honestly I'm not part of a conspiracy to out you. No definitely not. But I am part of the chemtrail thing. I have to go, my black helicopter awaits.

ahh the sisters are grand. that andrea one is awful up herself these days. hangin out with the seoiges and the likes.

also, stalk much? :O

Loads of people know who I am on here - this username is pretty tied with my identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

I hope not.

Not that I've said anything incriminating on here, it's just that I started internetting in a pre-facebook era of Internet anonymity.

On the various places I've posted over the years I've tried not to identify myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭salamanca22

I had an account a few years ago but had to leave it behind because a friend saw me logged in and then started stalking my post history. Whenever we would hang out she would bring up posts I made about whatever topic I was interested in that day. Creepy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭NOS3

KatW4 wrote:
    One of my good friends is a moderator so she knows me. Another friend is a lurker who sends me snapchats of my posts which can be quite annoying.

Let's hope she sees this post and takes the hint. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I'm pretty open anyway about Boards with my friends, the only problem is, most times I mention Boards to people in conversation, like say something I read on here on a topic and I might ask my friends about it, and if I mention that I read it on Boards, they tend to look at me kinda funny and ask "Where?"...

Then the socially awkward penguin moment kicks in as I realise that not everyone has ever heard of Boards :o

My friends know who I am on Boards, they just don't care :o

I do wish my young lad would stop peering over my shoulder though, nosey little shìte! :rolleyes: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

Some of my friends were lurking and copped who I was from a single post.

They subsequently took the piss out of me, on boards until they got banned, and real life until they realised I didn't give a crap.

I hand my username out freely if it ever comes up, or I'm asked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

NOS3 wrote:
    Let's hope she sees this post and takes the hint.

I tell her to get lost all of the time! She's relentless :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Oftentimes in conversation people will tell me about the wealth of information they learned through boards.ie and I just play dumb and pretend I've never heard of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

Like medusa22, it'd be very easy to figure out who I am if you know me in real life and go bck through my posts.

I don't really give out my username though, although apparently I did years ago. I made a post weeks ago at this stage about someone I was pissed off at, that person then copy pasted it into a fb message to me a good six weeks later. Awkward as ****. Asked them how they know it's me and they said they knew my username from years ago. That was news to me anyway.

They'll probably read this post at some stage too, seeing that they're apparently in the habit of going back through everything I post. *waves*

I've copped a few people alright. One person I went to college with, they're far too liberal with personal info :P I know where they live and their approximate salary, like, just from coming across their posts in threads that interest me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,776 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Had a poster a few years ago pm me on my old account saying she knew me, but yeah I'm easy enough to figure out and people like ex's have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I'd be surprised if they didn't

Name gives away too much (really should change it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I am easy enough to find, A few people already have, don't know whether they in boards or not as they wont say, found a post by my daughter on here before as I regonised the question, she went mad and asked me was I stalking her :-)

Hello friends & family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

A few of the Limerick FC fans would know me, but that's it I'd say.

Loads of people know I am on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

id say ive been discovered by people, i have pics posted of myself so not exactly difficult! meh!