Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I Booby Trap My House?

• 25-09-2015 7:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭

So if I have to leave the house for a few weeks and I decide to booby trap the house against burglars would I get in trouble if they got hurt on said booby traps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭brevity

Kevin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

I like boobys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

I believe ya! But my tommy gun don't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Fleawuss wrote: »
    Yes.
    donvito99 wrote: »
    No.

Well that's that settled. Lock 'er up mods!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,829 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

"Keep the change, ya filthy animal"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

That's what I said...booty traps.

I like boobys

Booby Twaps or just Boobys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If you put up a warning sign you should be in the clear legally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

kneemos wrote: »

Yeah but you reduce the craic element by a good 99%

Make America Get Out of Here

That was what I thought too.

All joking aside, I know some businesses that get broken into regularly for petty amounts. I think it would be a great way to discourage this type of anti-social activity. Massive boulders coming down narrow corridors and the likes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

Jayop wrote: »

The ones which bounce up and down, and that feel good to squeeze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

'Booby Twaps' are the gals you find in Thailand, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

No. (I'll be back)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Place high yield plastic explosive at strategic points around the house and wire it to blow up like Chinese fireworks factory if anyone comes within 12 feet of the perimeter. That'll learn 'em.

Just because I'm from Tyrone you don't have to be like that!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

So if I have to leave the house for a few weeks and I decide to booby trap the house against burglars would I get in trouble if they got hurt on said booby traps?

Only if they make it out of your gaff to tell the cops.

Remember, no body, no crime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Leave the Gas on, so when a Intruder turns on his Torch...

KABOOOOOM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Trev De rev

Did Kevin get in trouble when he booby trapped his house?????

Who is Kevin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Trev De rev

Who is Kevin?

This fella

lol aaah. I thought it was a boardsie who'd gotten in trouble for this sort of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

What happens if no one burgles your house and you walk through your door when you get home?

That's why you're on the big bucks.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

this http://www.nytimes.com/2003/10/26/nyregion/the-paper-chase.html?pagewanted=all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

I'd love to booby trap my house, keep annoying kids out. Some stupid law says I'm responsible for them til they're 18 though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

This fella

Why have you got pictures of little boys on your phone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭TheNobleKipper

I don't know but I'd do it, no risk no fun.
    And IF I get arrested I shall find a loop hole in the legislation to complain that my rights weren't read out in Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭starling

I hate posting useless posts with just OMFG :eek: but holy crap, speechless....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Jaketherake

The sledgehammer over the door is always a good start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

That's kind of announcing "Nobody's home!"

I would imagine then that most burglars would take their chances against a milk bottle balanced precariously over the door or marbles on the stairs unless he plans to have the house detonate which I think would be a bit overkill compared to having his tupperware nicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

One in 20 householders set booby traps for burglars
    A million homes in Britain contain booby traps and snares designed to catch burglars, according to a survey...

However, the homeowners themselves risk jail as it is illegal to set a trap to injure or kill an intruder.

The figures from insurance firm Direct Line reveal the measures people will go to protect their property.

Common booby traps include holes in floorboards, loose stairs, hidden trip wires, garden pits and even plant pots or ornaments attached to hidden strings.

According to the Crown Prosecution Service, a householder who "knew of an intended intruder and set a trap to hurt or kill them rather than involve the police would be acting with very excessive and gratuitous force and could be prosecuted."

In extreme cases, some property owners who have been repeatedly burgled have illegally set traps involving nail bombs or shotguns.
    So in the UK it seems it is only if you knew you were going to be burgled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

rubadub wrote: »
    So in the UK it seems it is only if you knew you were going to be burgled.
    Nothing new here; the burglars have more of a right to plunder your house safely, than you have to enjoy the peace of living in your house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Watched this excellent documentary called 'Home Alone', great piece informative viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Get one of them exotic pets, like a massive wild cat tiger or something. Starve it a bit and just let it prowl around. They'll be in for a surprise.