Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Skanger Journalism Glamorising Scumbags?

• 25-09-2015 6:22pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

Is it just me or is the standard of newspaper journalism pure skanger level of intellect and obsessed with making superstars out of scumbag criminals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

How do you glamorize a skanger?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I detest that term - skanger. And Scumbag is overused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Terrible sensationalist journalism is not a new thing and is not more widespread than in the past.

I don't think the papers are trying to glamorise criminals: they simply know that you'll always shift copies with tales of crime, and especially murder.

It's always happened. Have a look at reports about Jack the Ripper, for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I detest that term - skanger. An Scumbag is overused.

Sub-human garbage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

Is this about that Hutch fella who was shot dead ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Saipanne wrote: »
    Sub-human garbage?

Scum. Sub-human scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I blame Paul "The Bollix" Williams. Giving stupid monikers to scumbags since the early 90's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

There's also a skanger who owns a lot of the media don't forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭EasycomeEasygo

Hollywood does it all the time, films like Casino and Goodfellas are great examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Reiver wrote: »
    Scum. Sub-human scum.

Sub-scum scumwads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Uncle Ben wrote: »
    There's also a skanger who owns a lot of the media don't forget.

Let me guess, you're an anti water charges fella who thinks DOB is the worst thing since Joe Stalin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 230 ✭✭garrixfan

Hollywood does it all the time, films like Casino and Goodfellas are great examples.

That's it. Funny thing is I would hazard a guess the OP loves The Godfather movies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

Let me guess, you're an anti water charges fella who thinks DOB is the worst thing since Joe Stalin.

No just making reference to what I read in Moriarty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Is it just me or is the standard of newspaper journalism pure skanger level of intellect and obsessed with making superstars out of scumbag criminals?
    Maybe said newspapers did a poll, and found that most of its readers are scum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

ehhh! How about neds or chavs, does that sound better. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

And are great films in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

All that hate, Santos Careful Xerox. 'Twill engulf you. You gotta let go.

All that hate, Srameen. 'Twill engulf you. You gotta let go.

My mother used to say "Don't hate something but you can dislike or detest it". You'll note I didn't mention hate at all. Not a hateful bone in my body - never was never will be. This life is too short for hate, bigotry or malice.

ehhh! How about neds or chavs, does that sound better. :)

No. All very lazy use of your words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

As far as I recall all this name calling started because newspapers could not name individuals who were they alleged involved in crime if they were not convicted of any crime,even though most people would have known who and what they do. The monk, the penguin,factoryjohn,the syco etc the papers then published photos of the named individuals with a tiny black mark across the face,giving these instant credibility in the underworld.

With the publics fascination with crime and crime gangs going back years,and not just in this country,the papers sales sored when they did stories on these guy's ,Paul Williams IMO took it to a new level and actually started making up stories to glamorise some of these people and made a huge fortune from it.he then became just a spokesman for some Garda and now IMO has lost all credibility as a journalist.