Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Returning to Ireland with my Girlfriend

• 21-09-2015 11:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

Hello there I'm looking for some advice on immigration to Ireland for Non EU citizens. I am currently living in Qatar my girlfriend and I have been going out for almost one year and are planning on getting engaged.
    Qatar is not a country where we see ourselves living for much longer.

I am intending to move back to Ireland in the coming months to start another job and would like my girlfriend to come with me I am looking for the best options that would be available in terms of visas etc.

Any advice would be much appreciated and I'd love to hear from anyone in a similar situation!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Have you contacted the Irish embassy in Abu Dhabi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 spartan5power

I have but I was told they do not give advice on such matters. I was home recently and went to my local CIC they were quite helpful and gave me a phone number for the INIS I called them and explained the situation and was told that marriage is the easiest way to go. I want to marry this girl but on my terms I want to let her have the opportunity to see what it's like living and perhaps working in Ireland before she decides she wants to leave her country for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I was in a similar situation - non EU gf. We just got married in her country after a year together to make it possible for me to live there and her to live her. It saved all sorts of messing around with travel visa, student visas etc.

If you feel like she's the one, just do a quick registry office deal, then everything gets easier. You can travel here or there as you choose.

Then have a religious wedding later if you want it.

And have a prenuptial agreement just in case is goes pear-shaped and she wants to go home or whatever...so you can cancel everything without much damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

ireland dosent do prenups

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

As a Qatar national your gf needs to apply for a holiday visa to come to Ireland with you. This would apply wether or no you were married.
    If she is still here in 3 months it is simply a question of presenting herself at your local Garda station to see the Immigration Officer (a Garda, usually only wearing his "immigration officers "hat part time) to process her application for permission to remain. She will receive a GNIB card with a time limit and a stamp which will indicate the limits on her activities ie wether or not she can work, good luck

Well she's actually not Qatari.. but I believe her nationality falls into the same bracket as a Qataris would being a person who requires a visa to enter Ireland so essentially it's the same story.

Thanks a million! I do appreciate the message! but I wonder have you anything to back up the statement? From what I understand if you enter the state as a tourist and seek an extension on your tourist visa (unless it is a D class visa) you are liable for deportation because you are confirming that you intend to overstay your valid tourist visa.

If anyone has some clarification on this I would really appreciate it. It is preferable however that the advice comes from someone in the know, I don't want to be unfare but I'm not looking for the answer you heard from the fella in the pub the other night..

Thanks lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

I'm an immigration information officer but you obviously need information from someone more qualified than I so I wish you the best of good luck with your query

Thanks for the message can you confirm for me then that this statement on the Citizens information website is false?

"What do I do after my arrival if I wish to stay in Ireland for longer than 3 months?
    Visit/holiday visas are only granted for short term stays and never exceed 90 days. It is not possible to extend your stay beyond 90 days. You must leave the State on or before the date which has been stamped on your passport by the Immigration Officer when you entered"

Are there special circumstances taken into account? Or should I take this as gospel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭PolaroidPizza

have you looked into getting her a student visa? she can stay here up to a year, but it is a bit more costly than the civil partnership/marriage route.

Thanks for the reply! I haven't actually do you know a bit more about going this route? I know there is some sort of English preoficiency exam, this wouldn't be an issue.. What kind of cost are we talking?