Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immersion versus Mainland heater system

Options
  • 15-09-2015 5:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6

I am currently studying the difference between the immersion (with lagging jacket) versus the type of 24/7 water cylinders we get in mainland Europe. An Irish comedian in the US has a gag about this, and I see everyone in Ireland going mental about leaving "d'immersion" on. In France and Belgium I never even thought of switching it OFF in teh first place, so I decided to find out, but there is little to go by, it seems that the sealed units you get in Europe just don't exist here.

So far, I've established that there is a huge difference in the operating temperature, EU units typically set around 55C, whereas here in Ireland I can easily burn myself. I've heard claims that it is more efficient as you only heat when you need water, but I'm not convinced of that...

Heating the water up to high temperatures is going to result is huge losses during the transportation phase, as well as the loss of heat because the "lagging jacket" you can see in the picture is a lot less efficient then the fully sealed insulation on the water tank.

This just reeks of the equivalent of heating up the house for an hour or so a day, with high heat radiators instead of keeping the heating on a low level throughout the day, only to lower by a few degrees at night. There is plenty of evidence that the latter is a lot more economical.