Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any of ye getting good weights on grass?

• 14-09-2015 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if any of ye lads are getting good weights on grass alone? I'm struggling to hit 48Kg. A neighbour of mine says that he always has to feed to finish.

I kept a field back this year and just put the weathers on it yesterday. I'm hoping to add a few kilos in the next few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

arctictree wrote: »
    Just wondering if any of ye lads are getting good weights on grass alone? I'm struggling to hit 48Kg. A neighbour of mine says that he always has to feed to finish.

I kept a field back this year and just put the weathers on it yesterday. I'm hoping to add a few kilos in the next few weeks.

Nope - fecking disaster of a year for grass and lambs putting on weights...

I am only sending away some lambs this week, normally I'd have a good few sent off by now... and even the few I will be sending have gotten meal... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

I find the only way to keep putting weight on lambs is to keep moving them onto fresh grass every couple of days or they won't thrive. (Creep graze)

Move the electric wire every couple of days and that should help but yeah lambs hanging around this time of the year wouldn't be good thrivers anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

Find putting on weights, but not killing out well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Glad to hear I'm not the only one lads. They were thriving well up to a month ago, actually thought they might finish from grass alone, then the thrive stopped completely. going to start meal over next day or so . Only about top 10 % of lambs out gate so far this year. 1st April born lambs here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭hedgecutting eddie

Very same here so bought 2 tonne meal 3 wks ago and have meal ad lib to 120 lambs a lot of them over 50 kg s now , a old man was sayin that if u have sheep
    On one field this year don't graze with sheep following year , easier said than done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Going to get rid of a good few of mine this week as stores. Ewes need the grass more. Feeding em is too decking awkward...
    Prob should have done it a few weeks ago...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Very same here so bought 2 tonne meal 3 wks ago and have meal ad lib to 120 lambs a lot of them over 50 kg s now , a old man was sayin that if u have sheep
    On one field this year don't graze with sheep following year , easier said than done

Are you able to get paid up to full weight, 50kg are good lambs...too good if you're only getting paid to 22 kg deadweight.
    weighed lambs last week, only gaining 1kg/wk
    The lambs that went to the factory averaged 20.92 and averaged 45.5kg live and all fatscore 3, so happy enough but will have to start meal after the next weighing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,809 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Nope - fecking disaster of a year for grass and lambs putting on weights...

Sums up my own situation too and I'd say its the same for most in Western Counties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Glad to hear I'm not the only one lads. They were thriving well up to a month ago, actually thought they might finish from grass alone, then the thrive stopped completely. going to start meal over next day or so . Only about top 10 % of lambs out gate so far this year. 1st April born lambs here.

Snap
    Very same here green farmer. Going to get rid of a batch as stores to reduce the load and meal feed the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭hedgecutting eddie

arctictree wrote: »

Sell per head to factory or mart