Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At what age did you stop being embarrassed about your parents?

• 12-09-2015 1:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭

In my teens, I thought my dad was a dinosaur and totally uncool. The number of times I felt mortified. Didn't think he should be allowed out in public with his dress sense, his taste in music and his general medieval views on life. Then, at around 20, all of a sudden he became my hero as he knew much before I became embarrassed at him again in my twenties. Finally around 30, I realised he was very similar to me in a lot of ways and we became friends. I was never embarrassed at my mother. What age did you stop being embarrassed about your parents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd say around 21. I was always embarrassed of my mother, not so much my father.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Notavirus.exe

23. I finally got the courage to sleep on my own.

When I was about 15, and realised other people thought they were cool and copped on that it wasn't them...it was me! I'm proud as punch of both of them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

Weirdly, I never was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I was never embarrassed about my parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The older they get, the more laughs they give, and the more clear it is that i will indeed be going to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I'm embarrassed for you parents...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Around my early twenties. Never realised my Dad knew so much and my Mom has always been a chill person. Just me trying to be cool was the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I will let you know,

Great craic, love them and all,

But jaysus I've no idea what the auld lad could come out with!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Im nearly 20. Don't find either of them particularly embarassing, never did either, they can be irritating..but when Ive friends around they don't try to act cool theyre just down to earth and friendly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

I was never embarrassed by them really. Dad used to act the bollox when I had school friends over by trying to be funny but thats about it. The fact that all of my friends that know them hold them in high esteem makes me feel pretty lucky tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I was embarrassed by the fact they're older when I was in primary school but I got over that. I was never otherwise embarrassed by my mother but I think I'll always be embarrassed by my father. He's openly racist, sexist, homophobic, lazy and an extreme hoarder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Probably around 18ish. Everyone had always thought they were great but I could never see it. When I became 'an adult', they stopped the big parent act and just acted like normal people. They're pretty sound, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

My kids are still young all under 10 and tell me every day I am the best mammy and beautiful, naturally I believe them.

My dad had long hair growing up and still does, always the life and soul of the party, especially when the parents split up ! people used to call him the hippie but it never bothered me.

Candie wrote: »
    When I was about 15, and realised other people thought they were cool and copped on that it wasn't them...it was me! I'm proud as punch of both of them now.

Same here. Around 15/16. My mother is sound and my Dad was sound to my friends. The turn out at his funeral showed that. Some of them were as devastated as I was. Same with myself at my friends fathers funeral shortly afterwards. I felt like we lost one of the lads rather than a friends parent. I get on surprisingly well with most of my friends parents since I was a kid. Could sit down and chat away with them for hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

py2006 wrote: »

Isn't that one of the worst things you can say to anyone? (I struggle to think of a worse insult)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭adocholiday

I've never been embarrassed by my parents, in fact they are the 2 people I admire and respect the most in this world. After having me when they were both about 20 and having little to nothing in the way of money, they were wrote off by people and my prospects were deemed to be grim. They worked their hearts out and sacrificed so much of their own lives to provide a loving home for us and give us a great education; giving us a great appreciation for the things we had and instilling a great sense of pride in ourselves. 2 great people and it's a pity that many young people don't appreciate how great their parents are

Your parents sound wonderful.

I don't think it's that people don't appreciate their parents, it's that you're so secure as a child that you don't think about some things, and it's only when you grow up that you can see the big picture of exactly how much they've done for you. It's not just simple callousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

Was it Mark Twain who said that when he was 14 he was embarrassed by the ignorance of his father but when he was 21 he was amazed by how much his father had learned in 7 years,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

My two lads work for me and I think they're generally fairly unembarrassed.

My own old lad embarrassed me no end as a teenager and into mu early twenties, he was "a character" - it's only now(he passed away a few years back) that at family get togethers, one of the recurring conversations is "jasus, remember when he...." and instead of being embarrassed, we're all kinda sad that a character is gone. At the time, not so much..he had a habit of having loud public rows with politicians, Gards, fistfights, standing in Mass singing like a foghorn in a tune no hymn-writer ever imagined or wrote and wandering around in deeply odd clothes. We all used to cringe when he'd corner some poor sod and start regaling them with stories of the war...mainly as he was on "the wrong side" in it and felt obliged to inform the world as to why they were wrong about adolf...that usually went down well..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭blackcard

py2006 wrote: »

I wish I had the wisdom then that I have now. Back then, I cared more about the opinions of people I knew for 5 minutes than I did for those who had been there all my life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

Just tell their friends when they are round the house that they are hip to the groove. There is no way your kids will be embarrassed about that.

Letree wrote: »
    Just tell their friends when they are round the house that they are hip to the groove. There is no way your kids will be embarrassed about that.

Jeez, the flashbacks!

My dad used to say 'I'm hip to the groove, I'm a happening dude' whenever I'd tell him not to embarrass me by singing in the car. :o

I lived in terror of him saying it in front of my friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

I was more so annoyed with them at certain points in life mainly because I wanted to do something and they were against it.
    But never truly embarrassed.

I did get closer to them over time thought

At 13 I tore my cruciate and was travelling to and from Dublin for about 6 out the 8 months on crutches and my dad brought me up.
    We spent the entirety of every journey talking about everything under the sun! From political debates to **** he got up to as a teenager.
    I'm 18 now and I couldn't be happier to call him my dad.