Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cross of Cashel "Retirement"

• 11-09-2015 5:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭

The "Cross of Cashel" is to be "retired" (U21 Hurling Trophy); does anyone know why GAA decided to "retire" this trophy and, who initiated this decision?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

It's a unique and iconic throphy I don't really see the need to retire it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭toxicloan365

Couldn't agree more; strange that it wasn't reported in the media until now. I guess the decision was taken some time ago, but kept under wraps......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

GAA Museum must have an empty spot

inpho_00847187.jpg
    I wonder is it to do with the religious symbolism of it?

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    GAA Museum must have an empty spot

inpho_00847187.jpg
    I wonder is it to do with the religious symbolism of it?

Croke Park would have to be renamed then and that's not going to happen any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

It's too f*"kn heavy. I'd love to know who cast it, must've been Desperate Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

I hope the new cup has a bit of character to it.

They made some b*lls of the new Bob O' Keeffe cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

In the present age we live in this trophy is too sectarian!

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Sean Amhlaoibh

Xenophile wrote: »

Well said sir!

Let's hope the GAA also starts to remove the many, direct links it has to church organisations/parishes throughout Ireland, as well.

In fact, many GAA trophies include Christian symbols e.g. Sam Maguire cup; isn't it about time that these symbols were also erased from all GAA trophies (and medals)? All the newer trophies e.g. Nicky Rackard, Lory Meagher are thankfully free of sectarian bias.

Well said sir!

Let's hope the GAA also starts to remove the many, direct links it has to church organisations/parishes throughout Ireland, as well.

In fact, many GAA trophies include Christian symbols e.g. Sam Maguire cup; isn't it about time that these symbols were also erased from all GAA trophies (and medals)? All the newer trophies e.g. Nicky Rackard, Lory Meagher are thankfully free of sectarian bias.

Do you want Croke Park renamed aswell?

It would extremely stupid of the GAA to try and erase it's past just to keep a few whingers who can't accept that religion played a big part in the history of this country (and other country's as well).The GAA reflects Irish history in a lot of ways and trying to deny it and cover it up would daft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,218 ✭✭✭zetecescort

They'll be renaming any club named after famous republicans in the country too at that rate :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

Xenophile wrote: »
    Well said sir!

How is it sectarian? Its a statue of Christ on the cross which Protestants use too. I think people forget that much of the symbolism used in Catholicism is shared with Protestantism too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Sean Amhlaoibh

Very Bored wrote: »
    How is it sectarian? Its a statue of Christ on the cross which Protestants use too. I think people forget that much of the symbolism used in Catholicism is shared with Protestantism too.

Christian sectarianism!

Ah for goodness sake, Christianity is a big part of Ireland's heritage. I'm not a Christian and I don't find it offensive to have crosses representative of various things. Just the same as if I went to a Muslim country I expect to see Islamic symbolism and if I go to Israel, Jewish.

Hold on lads, can we get back to the point? Are GAA retiring the Cashel cup due to wear and tear or due to Christian design?

In fairness, I wasn't the one who brought the issue of "sectarianism" up yet its my post you cite...

I can't see how its due to wear and tear, its a big sturdy yoke of a thing.

I can't believe it's due to Christian design.

Is there something we are missing here?

Maybe they just felt sorry for Limerick! :-)

It will give them a chance to hold on to an All-Ireland trophy, forever!

I can't believe it's due to Christian design.

Is there something we are missing here?

Maybe they just felt sorry for Limerick! :-)

It will give them a chance to hold on to an All-Ireland trophy, forever!

I'd say it'll end up in a museum. I would be disappointed if it were true, but I have a feeling the GAA could be moving towards direct sponsorship of trophies as the next step in its move to make ever more money. Bringing in a new trophy would be a less controversial way of doing it perhaps and would bring less noise from the traditionalists, though it would be a great pity if it happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,736 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I'd say it'll end up in a museum. I would be disappointed if it were true, but I have a feeling the GAA could be moving towards direct sponsorship of trophies as the next step in its move to make ever more money. Bringing in a new trophy would be a less controversial way of doing it perhaps and would bring less noise from the traditionalists, though it would be a great pity if it happened.

They have actually moved away from direct sponsorship.
    BOI and Guinness used to exclusively sponsor the football and hurling championships respectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I think it's a beautiful trophy, shame to see it being retired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

I think it's a beautiful trophy, shame to see it being retired.

I'm the opposite, I always thought it was a crap looking trophy, a cup is always a better trophy in my opinion, the bigger the better (hate seeing people lifting a tiny cup), and the one thing about that u-2- trophy is that when lads are lifting it, they shake it so you only ever see the base of it in photos. So you just see its square base.

Also people giving out about "sectarian" symbols above are surely on the wind up I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Man alive it's some ghastly looking piece of work. Celtic crosses and that sort of stuff I don't particularly mind but this particular example is a horrible block of metal with a creepy sculpture of a Jewish guy being tortured to death on top of it.

Must be the weirdest sporting trophy in the western world. Good riddance.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Man alive it's some ghastly looking piece of work. Celtic crosses and that sort of stuff I don't particularly mind but this particular example is a horrible block of metal with a creepy sculpture of a Jewish guy being tortured to death on top of it.

Must be the weirdest sporting trophy in the western world. Good riddance.

I think the reason they are retiring it is that the GAA knows its blasphemous to worship any God but Cody in hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

The Coca Cola Cup?