Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Custom Mouthguards?

• 10-09-2015 7:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭

Howya lads.

So, I've been using the same custom mouth guard for a while now, I got it in the states when I was doing my postgrad, I was on the Rugby team so we got two free ones each, which was nice. I lost one years ago when a bag was swiped from a changing room unfortunately and now the other one is just feeling like it's time to change.

I haven't a clue where to start to look for one in Ireland, how much it would cost or what materials to go for.

I also haven't used a boil and bite in like 12 years but I've read recently they are atually kind of dangerous and best avoided.

What say ye all, should I definitely avoid the boil and bite and go for customs?

And Where should I get the customs?

Edit: Will be used for Brazilian Jiu Jitsu training.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 paranoid user

try posting the the boxing or rugby section. you will get suggestions here but id guess a lot( not all) of people that post /look here do not use mouth-guards.

were the other two use them all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 615 ✭✭✭mikehn

Brother is a Dental technician and supplies custom mouth guards as well.
    Does good business with the local GAA and Rugby players. Might be a good starting point to look up dental repairs numbers in your area and they may be able to steer you in the right direction :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

I don't wear a gumshield for BJJ, but when there's any sort of striking involved, I'd always go with a custom. Even the more expensive boil and bite ones never fit as well in my experience.

A lot of dentists can do them for you, or some gyms have somebody who comes around now and again to take impressions etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Clive wrote: »
    I don't wear a gumshield for BJJ, but when there's any sort of striking involved, I'd always go with a custom. Even the more expensive boil and bite ones never fit as well in my experience.

A lot of dentists can do them for you, or some gyms have somebody who comes around now and again to take impressions etc.

I use one for BJJ because ice seen someone lose a tooth when rolling, and I like my teeth :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 39,029 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I've two mouth guards.
    One is a custom for striking, MMA, competitions, etc. Impression taken by a dental technician who came to the gym.
    The other is a lighter boil and bite I use for rolling. I'm going to change it soon. I've seen SISU guards recommended online, I think I'll go with them.
    They are slimmer, more lightweight compared to a full moth guard so perfect for grappling.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Impact gumshields are custom fitted and they are great. Very reasonable when compared to your dentist (prices from €55) and they have an at-home kit too. An Irish company too :-)

link here: http://www.impactgumshields.com/

Found a dentist not far away who make them for €39, 4 day turn around. Fitting on monday and colelction on Friday. They even give you the mould to keep. Think I'll go with them.

€55 is a good price too though, most places quoted 75+.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Let us know how you get on, €39 seems an exceptionally good price. I would be interested to hear how it stacks up quality wise.

I have an impact gummy and its fantastic. I used to have a €50 top of the range shock doctor but there is no comparison in the quality and fitting.

Mellor wrote: »
    I've two mouth guards.
    One is a custom for striking, MMA, competitions, etc. Impression taken by a dental technician who came to the gym.
    The other is a lighter boil and bite I use for rolling. I'm going to change it soon. I've seen SISU guards recommended online, I think I'll go with them.
    They are slimmer, more lightweight compared to a full moth guard so perfect for grappling.

Anywhere in Ireland selling the SISU guards? They look pretty much perfect, very light and lots of breathability. €25 on amazon.co.uk

• Registered Users Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Kevin Shanahan at Progum.ie will look after you. He does plenty of MA schools in Ireland

Anywhere in Ireland selling the SISU guards? They look pretty much perfect, very light and lots of breathability. €25 on amazon.co.uk

A quick google shows the following

http://www.gaelicperformance.com/sisu-1-6mm-ultralight/
    http://www.myclubshop.ie/equipment/gum-shields/sisu-mouth-guard.html
    https://www.gosk8.ie/mouthguards/271-sisu-16mm-adult-mouth-guards.html

Prices similar to amazon, and all appear to be based in ireland.
    I haven't got my jands on a SISU, but if it does what it suggests, I think it'll be better for rolling.

A quick google shows the following

http://www.gaelicperformance.com/sisu-1-6mm-ultralight/
    http://www.myclubshop.ie/equipment/gum-shields/sisu-mouth-guard.html
    https://www.gosk8.ie/mouthguards/271-sisu-16mm-adult-mouth-guards.html

Prices similar to amazon, and all appear to be based in ireland.
    I haven't got my jands on a SISU, but if it does what it suggests, I think it'll be better for rolling.

yeah, 1.6mm, you'd barely notice it, seems pretty much ideal.

If I pick one up, I'll let you know how it fits

Think I'm going to order one myself.

Well in that case let me know ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭Dave 101

Just a got 2.4 from gosk8 today, fast delivery, fitting is easy and it a very tight fit, mainly because it's a hard plastic when set could barely get off so I remoulded but it still is very tight, easy to talk drink and swallow with it on etc