Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The contrariest person in ireland

• 09-09-2015 7:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭

I decided to start this tread after i met crossest aul fuqker in Ireland today. I was hired in buy a friend to haul corn that he was cutting. The fields belong to a man in his late 60s but is rented by farmer near by for corn. I arrived into the field at around 2. Hooked up to the first full trailer and was heading for the gap. I noticed the combine stopped and the head was on the trolly so i headed over to see if i could help. A stone went into the machine and bent a bar which was feeding in the barley into the drum. As we were fixing the combine i could hear someone coming but took no notice. I was tapped on the shoulder and as i came out from under the combine the glare in my eyes caused me to squint and i quickly heard "what the fuqk are you smiling at". This aul lad came over the field and tore into myself and the friend over picking up a stone and "parking the trailers in the wrong places" he was on about the combine being broke down even though there was another combine in the field with a 30ft head working aswell. He was mouthing away but we took no notice and he went off. 2 hours later we were finished and were heading for the next job about 30mins away. I spotted him coming again. He shot around the back of the combine which was reversing and up the ladder of a shot. He said "i changed my mind about the head lands i want them chopped". We were in a 30ac field which he owned but the field was rented out. The reply was noway, it wouldn't be good for the combine and we dont have time. He said "I'm driving combines long before your born and I've seen it done". The auld lad insisted mick rang his father as " i dont like your tone" and "you will meet lads like me" "if i had you hired to cut my corn i wouldn't pay you for not finishing a job" when the father answered obviously the answer was no. This rant was going on for 5 minutes. But what i didn't like was he stood at the top of the steps of the combine and wouldn't leave mick get off despite the work was ahead of us. If it was me I'd boot the grumpy sod off the side of the combine. I cant see why people have to be so ignorant and disrespectful. And in this lads case it didn't bother him what happened to the corn as the land was rented out. On the way home in the tractor we had a good laugh about it. Have any of ye have a story like this or how would ye handle this lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Was doing a job in a house in Cork City a few years back. I parked on the footpath on the road at the edge of the neighbours house. My colleague went out to put ladder back in the van when a man in his sixties approached screaming "is this your fuping van" obviously the fella that works for me cute out and pure cool says "no". Your man really got agitated and says well yer blocking my fuping driveway and I'm late for something or other. Now you'd back a lowloader out the gap in front of the van so my man said the owner is in that house. The house we were working on was rented by 4 guards and I was at the front door finishing up and chatting to one of the lads about hurling and I see this over weight auld fella running/wobbling up the driveway roaring "guard guard arrest this fupping bolloooocks he's blocking my driveway" I never seen a man so agitated. The tenant obviously clicks into guard mode and dealt with the situation and calmed his neighbour down and I backed up the van 18 inches. And got the two finger salute as he backed out. Funnieat thing was on way home I had phone on headset and dialled in to listen to voice mails. Got through first few and details taken for all but the fourth message started out with heavy breathing down the phone followed by "you fupping bastard if you don't move your f f f f f vecihle from the front of my house I'm dialing 9 9 9. We didn't stop laughing for half an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭jaymla627

davidk1394 wrote: »
    I decided to start this tread after i met crossest aul fuqker in Ireland today. I was hired in buy a friend to haul corn that he was cutting. The fields belong to a man in his late 60s but is rented by farmer near by for corn. I arrived into the field at around 2. Hooked up to the first full trailer and was heading for the gap. I noticed the combine stopped and the head was on the trolly so i headed over to see if i could help. A stone went into the machine and bent a bar which was feeding in the barley into the drum. As we were fixing the combine i could hear someone coming but took no notice. I was tapped on the shoulder and as i came out from under the combine the glare in my eyes caused me to squint and i quickly heard "what the fuqk are you smiling at". This aul lad came over the field and tore into myself and the friend over picking up a stone and "parking the trailers in the wrong places" he was on about the combine being broke down even though there was another combine in the field with a 30ft head working aswell. He was mouthing away but we took no notice and he went off. 2 hours later we were finished and were heading for the next job about 30mins away. I spotted him coming again. He shot around the back of the combine which was reversing and up the ladder of a shot. He said "i changed my mind about the head lands i want them chopped". We were in a 30ac field which he owned but the field was rented out. The reply was noway, it wouldn't be good for the combine and we dont have time. He said "I'm driving combines long before your born and I've seen it done". The auld lad insisted mick rang his father as " i dont like your tone" and "you will meet lads like me" "if i had you hired to cut my corn i wouldn't pay you for not finishing a job" when the father answered obviously the answer was no. This rant was going on for 5 minutes. But what i didn't like was he stood at the top of the steps of the combine and wouldn't leave mick get off despite the work was ahead of us. If it was me I'd boot the grumpy sod off the side of the combine. I cant see why people have to be so ignorant and disrespectful. And in this lads case it didn't bother him what happened to the corn as the land was rented out. On the way home in the tractor we had a good laugh about it. Have any of ye have a story like this or how would ye handle this lad

The only thing lads like that understand is a boot up the hole our give him a bigger bollicking back, the worse I came across was when on placement was sent to lift branches/trees of ditches that had been cut with a saw blade talking 20 foot lengths of timber, and alot of it, done the job anyways no bother...
    Two days later the farmer comes roaring and shouting at us about breaking up the fence and not telling him, the fence had got mangled when the saw blade was cutting with wire/stakes broke all over the field and said farmer was in field when all this was being done, I lost the plot as had put up with a raft of other crap previously and told him to get f**ked you know well the fence was broke up when the saw blade was in and how did he expect the fence to stay put when half ton trees where being dropped on it, got right up in his face and he knew if he didn't back down it was going to end up in a fight, he walked off anyways muttering and apologized later....
    The funny thing was the local digger man was in the yard witnessed the whole lot and went on to tell us a ream of stories about what said farmer had put students through over the years and was the biggest prick in the area, he was that bad the same lad when doing his sheds for the grants back in 07 had to ban him from going near the workers as he try and go off on one every day at them too haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭C0N0R

jaymla627 wrote: »
    The only thing lads like that understand is a boot up the hole our give him a bigger bollicking back, the worse I came across was when on placement was sent to lift branches/trees of ditches that had been cut with a saw blade talking 20 foot lengths of timber, and alot of it, done the job anyways no bother...
    Two days later the farmer comes roaring and shouting at us about breaking up the fence and not telling him, the fence had got mangled when the saw blade was cutting with wire/stakes broke all over the field and said farmer was in field when all this was being done, I lost the plot as had put up with a raft of other crap previously and told him to get f**ked you know well the fence was broke up when the saw blade was in and how did he expect the fence to stay put when half ton trees where being dropped on it, got right up in his face and he knew if he didn't back down it was going to end up in a fight, he walked off anyways muttering and apologized later....
    The funny thing was the local digger man was in the yard witnessed the whole lot and went on to tell us a ream of stories about what said farmer had put students through over the years and was the biggest prick in the area, he was that bad the same lad when doing his sheds for the grants back in 07 had to ban him from going near the workers as he try and go off on one every day at them too haha

Sound I'm going to meet the farmer for my placement this morning, I'll be looking to see if any hedges have been cut recently!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

As a young person I honestly think that most auld boys don't have any dependence in young lads full stop, most older men like talking to older men the same age as themselves. I'll probably end up doing the same myself when I'm older. Look at all the father and son farmers where the auld lad refuses to hand over the reigns :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

About 10yrs ago, My dad bought about 50 bales of Hay off a neighbour who we would have known to see and would have been reasonably chatty to. I drew down the 1st two loads on a Friday, the 2nd one I was talking to yourman, and told him my dad would be over to pickup the last load the sat morning. Yourman wasn't around then, my dad would have paid him if he was, we thought nothing more about it, yourman knew where we lived anyways etc. Anyways I was away at something the Saturday afternoon and most of Sunday, I'd missed two calls off yourman, thought nothing of it, we'd missed a call or so on the house phone also (back in the days before caller id etc). Anyways Monday morning about 10am when I was in having breakfast, I heard a loud banging on the door outside, and there was urman, when I answered I could tell he was fuming, he shouts out where is my money, we had a deal, I was mean to be paid Saturday!! We gave him a cheque straight away, and were largely speechless at him ha, he stormed off in a huff, was the last time we ever dealt with him ha, I heard afterwards from afew next door neighbours of his that he was well known for the likes of that ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭tomieen jones

Timmaay wrote: »
    About 10yrs ago, My dad bought about 50 bales of Hay off a neighbour who we would have known to see and would have been reasonably chatty to. I drew down the 1st two loads on a Friday, the 2nd one I was talking to yourman, and told him my dad would be over to pickup the last load the sat morning. Yourman wasn't around then, my dad would have paid him if he was, we thought nothing more about it, yourman knew where we lived anyways etc. Anyways I was away at something the Saturday afternoon and most of Sunday, I'd missed two calls off yourman, thought nothing of it, we'd missed a call or so on the house phone also (back in the days before caller id etc). Anyways Monday morning about 10am when I was in having breakfast, I heard a loud banging on the door outside, and there was urman, when I answered I could tell he was fuming, he shouts out where is my money, we had a deal, I was mean to be paid Saturday!! We gave him a cheque straight away, and were largely speechless at him ha, he stormed off in a huff, was the last time we ever dealt with him ha, I heard afterwards from afew next door neighbours of his that he was well known for the likes of that ha.
    The same neighbour might have wound him up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,566 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Kovu wrote: »
    Me :)

I'll fight you for the title..and more than likely win!

At the moment. .....want a bleedin' bet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Just read the tax defaulters list I see a neighbour of mine who I would burn at the stake got fined for using Agri diesel for non Agri diesel use.
    I cannot wait to see him in the local I will sow it into him.

At the moment. .....want a bleedin' bet?

Arra, I'm always up for an auld ruccus!

Awesome. See you in DRP ;)

You won't...because I haven't a notion what it is! :D

Disputed reported posts. ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭arctictree

I have one neighbour who probably thinks I am the biggest w*nker going. The rest I get on really well with and we would stop and have chats whenever we meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

agriman27 wrote: »
    As a young person I honestly think that most auld boys don't have any dependence in young lads full stop, most older men like talking to older men the same age as themselves. I'll probably end up doing the same myself when I'm older. Look at all the father and son farmers where the auld lad refuses to hand over the reigns :pac:

Worse are the old batchelor farmers, some of them turn batsh*t crazy from being on their own for far too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Vandy West

Worse are the old batchelor farmers, some of them turn batsh*t crazy from being on their own for far too long.

Nobody more contrary than a whisky drinker..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

I find its best to ingnore those type of people if at all possible. Some lads would start a row in an empty house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,555 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

mf240 wrote: »
    I find its best to ingnore those type of people if at all possible. Some lads would start a row in an empty house.

Not always possible unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

mf240 wrote: »
    I just reply with sure whatever you think yourself, you are always right.... and walk away, drives them mad

whelan2 wrote: »
    I just reply with sure whatever you think yourself, you are always right.... and walk away, drives them mad

You said that to me the last time I seen ya :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

machinery sales men, widow your hole altogether!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Back when I used to be contracting there was an oul boy who let a local farmer have the grass for free just to keep his fields tidied up. He was shocking fussy and couldn't be kept happy. If you went faster than 5mph you'd rise dust off his driveway and that would drive him mad! And if you put a wheel on his grass verges you may as well go home!

There were trees all round the edge of the field and the branches reached in quite a bit. One year I went in to mow for the first cut and i kept up tight to the edge of the branches and he was complaining afterwards that I didn't cut underneath them. So for the second cut I spent a good hour going in tight to the fences and left it good and tidy. In the process a low hanging branch broke off, and that didn't go down well either!

The final straw came the following year. I was wrapping and the lad drawing in to me was delayed so we were only getting the final load around 10pm when it was getting duskish. I was pulling out with the trailer and he came over bollocking me for being out so late and stood right at the gate pillar as I was pulling out through it. I was watching him in the mirror to make sure I didn't hit him with the trailer and a bale was slightly sticking out on the far side and proceeded to pull the gate of of the pillar! :eek: Cue the biggest bollocking I've ever got! Jaysus he was hard work

Back when I used to be contracting there was an oul boy who let a local farmer have the grass for free just to keep his fields tidied up. He was shocking fussy and couldn't be kept happy. If you went faster than 5mph you'd rise dust off his driveway and that would drive him mad! And if you put a wheel on his grass verges you may as well go home!

There were trees all round the edge of the field and the branches reached in quite a bit. One year I went in to mow for the first cut and i kept up tight to the edge of the branches and he was complaining afterwards that I didn't cut underneath them. So for the second cut I spent a good hour going in tight to the fences and left it good and tidy. In the process a low hanging branch broke off, and that didn't go down well either!

The final straw came the following year. I was wrapping and the lad drawing in to me was delayed so we were only getting the final load around 10pm when it was getting duskish. I was pulling out with the trailer and he came over bollocking me for being out so late and stood right at the gate pillar as I was pulling out through it. I was watching him in the mirror to make sure I didn't hit him with the trailer and a bale was slightly sticking out on the far side and proceeded to pull the gate of of the pillar! :eek: Cue the biggest bollocking I've ever got! Jaysus he was hard work

Better off away from that fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭delaney001

Ya should have said, hold on a second and I'll pull up here a few yards so I'm out of the way in case anyone comes... And then tip straight on home!

delaney001 wrote: »
    Ya should have said, hold on a second and I'll pull up here a few yards so I'm out of the way in case anyone comes... And then tip straight on home!

Problem is I'd have to bollack him back