Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foreign Birth Registration

• 07-09-2015 4:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,804 ✭✭✭

If whilst living abroad in e.g. Cambodia a married couple who are both born and bred Irish citizens have a child and the child is given a Cambodian birth cert (naturally enough) is it possible for the childs Cambodian birth cert to be converted to or replaced by an Irish birth cert to avoid hassle later in life when applying for passports etc?

Is that what "Foreign Birth Registration" effectively means?

In section 3 of the passport application form an applicant born outside Ireland must choose between:-

B - Born abroad to a parent born in Ireland (in which case the birth cert and marriage cert of the parent born in Ireland must be produced and included with the passport application)

or

C - (Choose between) Naturalisation [] Foreign Birth Registration [] Post Nuptial [] Born abroad and adopted under Irish Law by an Irish Citizen []

I guess unless the foreign birth registration process has been completed the correct answer would be to choose B and supply birth and marriage certs for one of the parents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The "foreign birth registration" is basically the process whereby you've already done part B before you get a passport. Then you just have to present your foreign birth registration with the passport application.

Details here: https://www.dfa.ie/passports-citizenship/citizenship/born-abroad/registering-a-foreign-birth/

The FBR would be useful for someone who holds dual citizenship and only carries a passport from a non-EU country. In the event that you have to identify yourself to a Garda or other official, the FBR saves the hassle of trying to otherwise prove that you're an Irish citizen.

You're right in that an FBR is effectively a Irish "birth cert", though in reality it's a supplemental document to the original birth cert. If you're asked for a birth cert, you have to produce the original, the FBR won't do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

If whilst living abroad in e.g. Cambodia a married couple who are both born and bred Irish citizens have a child and the child is given a Cambodian birth cert (naturally enough) is it possible for the childs Cambodian birth cert to be converted to or replaced by an Irish birth cert to avoid hassle later in life when applying for passports etc?

Is that what "Foreign Birth Registration" effectively means?

In section 3 of the passport application form an applicant born outside Ireland must choose between:-

B - Born abroad to a parent born in Ireland (in which case the birth cert and marriage cert of the parent born in Ireland must be produced and included with the passport application)

or

C - (Choose between) Naturalisation [] Foreign Birth Registration [] Post Nuptial [] Born abroad and adopted under Irish Law by an Irish Citizen []

I guess unless the foreign birth registration process has been completed the correct answer would be to choose B and supply birth and marriage certs for one of the parents?

I stand to be corrected on this, but (after a recent law change) the child born abroad to Irish Citizens does not become an Irish Citizen until the "Foreign Birth Registration"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,804 ✭✭✭54and56

I stand to be corrected on this, but (after a recent law change) the child born abroad to Irish Citizens does not become an Irish Citizen until the "Foreign Birth Registration"...

Well in my case the child was born in 2005, hasn't been through the Foreign Birth Registration process and already has an Irish passport (which is due for renewal) do I assume the child is therefore registered as an Irish citizen, otherwise how could she have been granted an Irish passport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭lonestargirl

A child born to parents who are themselves born in Ireland is automatically a citizen, foreign birth registration comes in for the next generation.

https://www.dfa.ie/irish-embassy/great-britain/our-services/citizenship/born-outside-ireland/foreign-births-registration-guide/

A child born to parents who are themselves born in Ireland is automatically a citizen, foreign birth registration comes in for the next generation.

https://www.dfa.ie/irish-embassy/great-britain/our-services/citizenship/born-outside-ireland/foreign-births-registration-guide/

Gotcha!! So (in theory) if my daughter who is an Irish citizen but was born outside Ireland herself had a child born outside Ireland it would have an option to become an Irish citizen by following the Foreign Birth Registration process.

Sussed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

If one or both of your parents are Irish citizens then you are an Irish citizen. When you get to Ireland just go to your local registration centre bring your birth certs ID etc and the child's birth certificate and register your child.
    You'll be given a birth certificate for your baby and then you can go right ahead and apply for an Irish passport for him or her.
    Foreign birth registration is for the grandchildren of Irish cotizens

Gotcha!! So (in theory) if my daughter who is an Irish citizen but was born outside Ireland herself had a child born outside Ireland it would have an option to become an Irish citizen by following the Foreign Birth Registration process.

Sussed :)
    No if your daughter is an Irish citizen with an Irish passport then her child is automatically an Irish citizen, irregardless of where that child is born

If one or both of your parents are Irish citizens then you are an Irish citizen. When you get to Ireland just go to your local registration centre bring your birth certs ID etc and the child's birth certificate and register your child.
    You'll be given a birth certificate for your baby and then you can go right ahead and apply for an Irish passport for him or her.
    Foreign birth registration is for the grandchildren of Irish cotizens

You don't need to register your child at all. Your birth certificate just has to be provided as part of their passport application. I have a U.S. born child who has never been 'registered' anywhere and has had two Irish passports so far.

Yes your right of course I'm being overly fussy!

No if your daughter is an Irish citizen with an Irish passport then her child is automatically an Irish citizen, irregardless of where that child is born

Read through the da link above. In the situation described the child (i.e. Grandchild of the poster) is not automatically a citizen, however they may claim citizenship through a foreign birth registration

The child in question (I'm OP and it's my child) is my daughter not my grand daughter!!

The OP is an Irish citizen and the parent, not grandparent, of the child whose citizenship is in question

Yes, the OP's child (person A) is an Irish citizen by virtue of the OP being born in Ireland. But if person A were to go on and have a child that child would not automatically be a citizen even though person A holds Irish citizenship, it would have to be claimed through the foreign birth register.