Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Tedding

• 03-09-2015 9:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭

Saw local contractor cut for neighbour with 10ft mower conditioner, leave for little over 24hrs then bale and wrap. Wondering how it'll turn out. Would it be any good? It mightn't be good enough for large scale operators who'd have to supplement it. If it was then a lot of people could just leave tedder/rake/hayturner in the nettles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

It's probably the way 90% of silage is done in Ireland. It'll be grand. Depends more on the grass quality to start off with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

mikefoxo wrote: »
    Saw local contractor cut for neighbour with 10ft mower conditioner, leave for little over 24hrs then bale and wrap. Wondering how it'll turn out. Would it be any good? It mightn't be good enough for large scale operators who'd have to supplement it. If it was then a lot of people could just leave tedder/rake/hayturner in the nettles.

That's how we do it here. Left for about 36 hrs though. Still get dm of 30+ easy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

mikefoxo wrote: »

It sounds like you know the answer yourself. Going in it's favour would be if cut dry, not cut with big mower, mightn't be heavy crop this time of year so would be drier. I'd say it would be fine. Doubt it's their first time making silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Jb1989

+ 1 to all replies
    Tedding is only a fad that's got real popular for the first cut this year
    Silage been made 20 plus years with conditioner mowers and no tedders and silage was top quality
    Tedding wouldn't worry most either way

Jb1989 wrote: »
    + 1 to all replies
    Tedding is only a fad that's got real popular for the first cut this year
    Silage been made 20 plus years with conditioner mowers and no tedders and silage was top quality
    Tedding wouldn't worry most either way

Tedding is good as it can dry wettish grass or beat N out of grass. It can turn really good silage into super silage but it's not the be all and end all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Tedding is good as it can dry wettish grass or beat N out of grass. It can turn really good silage into super silage but it's not the be all and end all.

Yea I know it has it's merits
    But defo, not the be all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

there should be a tedder in every single yard in the country. under the sward doesn't wilt at all no matter how long or how much sun it gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,590 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

there should be a tedder in every single yard in the country. under the sward doesn't wilt at all no matter how long or how much sun it gets.

It's the one machine in the yard I'd be slow to get rid of .tedding out grass to dry it out and flush out n has massive benefits when making quality silage .everything here is spread out and I'd be quite confident dm of all silage I made this year is 40% plus .swards left in 10 /20 foot swards ain't much good as it just drys the sunny side up bottom will still be damp .added benefit of less bales to draw in or effluent to collect I bought one here over 4 years ago and now on my second one and now nearly all neighbours own one as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

What % shrinkage do you guys reckon ye get with tedding. eg 100 bales fresh to 80 when tedded is 20%. I reckon I get 25% @ 48 hr down,tedded once then raked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Sacrolyte wrote: »
    What % shrinkage do you guys reckon ye get with tedding. eg 100 bales fresh to 80 when tedded is 20%. I reckon I get 25% @ 48 hr down,tedded once then raked.

Def 1 less bale per acre anyways

mahoney_j wrote: »
    It's the one machine in the yard I'd be slow to get rid of .tedding out grass to dry it out and flush out n has massive benefits when making quality silage .everything here is spread out and I'd be quite confident dm of all silage I made this year is 40% plus .swards left in 10 /20 foot swards ain't much good as it just drys the sunny side up bottom will still be damp .added benefit of less bales to draw in or effluent to collect I bought one here over 4 years ago and now on my second one and now nearly all neighbours own one as well

less to draw in, it would be great if the contractors in my area would chop and pack the bales id have even less to draw!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,028 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Sacrolyte wrote: »

Would say nearer seven to 6.5 if you get a sunny day with a really crisp wind blowing, contractor got a tedder this year so first year we done it here but was amazed how it helped reduce bale count, gone all bales here except in cases where silage is got wet, made 700 bales this year and only for tedding it would probably of been well over the 1000 mark

less to draw in, it would be great if the contractors in my area would chop and pack the bales id have even less to draw!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sure less money for them so :D

Reggie. wrote: »
    Sure less money for them so :D

buy a brand new baler then then don't chop it at all and then make a bale that looks like it came from a claas 46

Leave the 46 alone you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭orm0nd

mahoney_j wrote: »

saw a field that was cut last tueday & left in 9 foot swards , crispy brown on top, green in middle & gone yellow at ground level , won't be baled to day either

some place charging €95 for rolls of wrap this week

reducing bale count is now more important thane ever, quality asides

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,361 ✭✭✭tanko

orm0nd wrote: »

saw a field that was cut last tueday & left in 9 foot swards , crispy brown on top, green in middle & gone yellow at ground level , won't be baled to day either

some place charging €95 for rolls of wrap this week

reducing bale count is now more important thane ever, quality asides

Why has wrap become so expensive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭orm0nd

tanko wrote: »
    Why has wrap become so expensive?

dunno,, heard 1 place 88 same wrap in different merchant 95

& rumours of being scarce next year so maybe some guys are stock piling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

orm0nd wrote: »
    dunno,, heard 1 place 88 same wrap in different merchant 95

& rumours of being scarce next year so maybe some guys are stock piling

It's rumoured to be scarce every year ;)

Anyone remember the start of this year

'resin is scarce' tis in its hole scarce, there probly dripping over it in some countrys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I reckon it's purely down to demand , alot of bigger lads changing to or making more bales than pit .
    Does the price of wrap bother you much ? I saw one of your posts where you said you might eventually go all bales , is the quality and fact that you can take surplus grass out alot handier in bales worth the extra cost and handling ?

The funny thing is I don't think pit covers were ever as cheap as now ?

They wouldn't get the job the following year here if that was going on , all the local boys around seem to be packing great bales except one lad and I'd say bar his own silage at this stage he doesn't get asked to do much

Bullocks wrote: »
    They wouldn't get the job the following year here if that was going on , all the local boys around seem to be packing great bales except one lad and I'd say bar his own silage at this stage he doesn't get asked to do much

are they all combi balers

No combis around me at all, mostly mchale 550 I think

Bullocks wrote: »
    No combis around me at all, mostly mchale 550 I think

all fusions around me, but none of them are chopper balers, lol

The fusions take 150hp minimum to drive so sum lads try to cut corners by pulling out half the knives. I used one with a tm135 and half the knives out and she was on her knees trying to drive it.