Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

O'Hanlon 2015/16

• 03-09-2015 8:19pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭

New thread for the new season!

Gonzaga should walk this, I would say.

I reckon St Benildus are in with a decent shout of promotion - if we can get a regular team out. We gave away too many walkovers last season; we probably should have come fourth (one spot off promotion) if we'd not done that. Drogheda with two extra players (after being relegated from the Heidenfeld) should be quite strong too.

Ballinasloe maybe to go down (losing two players to the Heidenfeld won't help) and - let's pick at random - Bray.

League table is here

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Retd.LoyolaCpt

Giving us the cdeb curse in 2 leagues ;) hope Gonzaga can live up to your prediction of a double. I haven't seen the schedule, have we set up a third team do you know? Our O'H team is trying to do a blanch/ballinasloe/Lopez job and follow them on their merry way up the leagues

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

A Gonzaga third team would start in the O'Sullivan, and entries haven't been called for that yet. Won't happen for another month, until clubs see who's left over from the current teams.

I was trying hard to find a way not to tip ye for two titles, believe me. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭2bts

Bray/Greystones 2 - 4 St. Benildus
    0:2:3 with one w/o

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Bad Bishop

Celbridge 0 - 6 Ballinasloe

St Benildus 1½-4½ Drogheda

Turned down a draw and lost on one board.

Nightmare of a day for us - three matches at the same time, and a lot of players missing. Only had two players from the O'Hanlon team for this one; had to sub one BEA player and one Bodley player, and scratch the bottom two boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭sinbad68

cdeb wrote: »
    Nightmare of a day for us - three matches at the same time, and a lot of players missing. Only had two players from the O'Hanlon team for this one; had to sub one BEA player and one Bodley player, and scratch the bottom two boards.

This problem is due to poor planning and decision making by benildus team planners .Benildus in the league are unbalanced as a club, they have two teams in armstrong and then nothing til division 4, with anyone over 1500 rated asking to play in armstrong, the planner has obliged , meaning they are overloaded with players in armstrong as was the case in Bray vs Benildus B, where couple of benildus players had to take a break to make room for others to play, then benildus keeps giving walkovers in lower divisions due to lack of players.At least two or more players in armstrong panels should be moved to division 4 with a promise of a subbing up for amrstrong if they are needed, instead of the current situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭mikhail

sinbad68 wrote: »
    This problem is due to poor planning and decision making by benildus team planners .
    Hardly. This occurred due to three consecutive teams playing simultaneously, a situation that would test the resources of any club.
    Benildus in the league are unbalanced as a club, they have two teams in armstrong and then nothing til division 4, with anyone over 1500 rated asking to play in armstrong, the planner has obliged , meaning they are overloaded with players in armstrong
    Yes, because what would have helped here is an Ennis team.
    as was the case in Bray vs Benildus B, where couple of benildus players had to take a break to make room for others to play, then benildus keeps giving walkovers in lower divisions due to lack of players.At least two or more players in armstrong panels should be moved to division 4 with a promise of a subbing up for amrstrong if they are needed, instead of the current situation.
    To lose one Armstrong team would be unfortunate. To lose two would be careless. Hey, didn't you play for Rathmines?

mikhail wrote: »
    Yes, because what would have helped here is an Ennis team.
    What would have helped here, was NOT an Ennis team, it was Proper Planning.Instead of trying to please everyone, couple of Benildus B team panel should have been pushed to O'hanlon, which would have not only benefited O'hanlon but also teams in lower divisions, they could always sub for any of the two armstrong teams if needed, and would have given benildus more flexibility and strength in all the divisions.

Yes, Benildus planner should move to correct this problem NOW, and not have for the rest of this season, The headache of, at one end, who he has to leave out and giving himself The short straw more often than others, and at other end, Not having enough players to fill the boards. All this talk about benildus, made me go over and have look at their site after a long time for the latest article and it was worth it, funny read from benildus site below
    While the O’Hanlon hosted Drogheda, the BEA travelled in the opposite direction – with one BEA player and three subs. We had an early setback when Des lost in controversial circumstances – after 7 moves, it was noticed his king and queen were set up the wrong way around, and when they were placed on their correct squares, a piece which had been protected by the queen was now just hanging! Des never recovered from that – not knowing that the correct thing to do is to at least stop the clocks and get out a rule-book rather than accept the loss of a piece. The rulebook would have contained FIDE rule 7.2a – “If during a game it is found that the initial position of the pieces was incorrect, the game shall be cancelled and a new game shall be played.” Note rule 7.2b says that if the board was just set up the wrong way around, the game should continue, but with the board the correct way around. So it’s always worth emphasising that if you ever want to query a decision like this during a game, you’re allowed pause your clock and call a controller or consult with your team captain.

Ah yes, sinbad knows everything as per usual. :rolleyes:

We had three games on Saturday, and there wasn't much we could do about it. One was due to be played the previous Saturday, but we had to move it because it clashed with a schools tournament. We couldn't move it back the previous week as the same team had a game that week as well. We couldn't move our Bodley game forward because Enniscorthy couldn't play the next week or the week after (which was why they'd asked us to move their BEA game against us in the first place). We couldn't really ask Drogheda to move two matches (one BEA and one O'Hanlon) just to suit us - they'd already been quite accommodating by moving the BEA game.

Saturdays can be awkward for us - junior players often have other sports; college players often have work. That cost us a lot of players here. Had we just had the two matches, we'd have had full teams.

But no, moving one player down from the Armstrong would have made all the difference alright when we were short five boards and had asked 26 players to play...

Some of the other stuff in your post is just made up.

But no, moving one player down from the Armstrong would have made all the difference alright when we were short five boards and had asked 26 players to play...
    I said at least 2 or more players and the effect on O'hanlon and ripple effect on divisions below it over so many rounds in the season would have been huge. It's No skin off my back if benildus planner makes a hash of things and instead of correcting it, wants to keep going the wrong way.

Could you explain, how did one of your players was NOT aware he should stop the clock and inform an arbiter or his captain about a dispute when after 7 moves he found out that his king & queen were on wrong squares ?, Does your club engage with players about some basic rules & regulations in a chess match or are they left to their own devices?.

Some of the other stuff in your post is just made up.

Examples please ?!.When it comes to analysis & accuracy of info, Sinbad is ..........I'm too humble to say it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Tim Harding

Could you explain, how did one of your players was NOT aware he should stop the clock and inform an arbiter or his captain about a dispute when after 7 moves he found out that his king & queen were on wrong squares .

Did this really happen: Q and K starting on the wrong squares?

FIDE law 7.2 says the game should be cancelled and restarted.
    Or if it's just the board wrongly set up (dark square at RH corner) the game should be transferred to a new board.

I said at least 2 or more players
    We'll have to sign some new players so - cos we don't have 2 or more players to drop down.
    Examples please ?!
    Pretty much the parts of your post I wasn't bothered quoting.
    Did this really happen: Q and K starting on the wrong squares?
    It did, yep. (This was in the BEA, not the O'Hanlon) Just two relatively inexperienced players who weren't aware of what exactly to do in the situation. It happens; you live and learn.

We'll have to sign some new players so - cos we don't have 2 or more players to drop down.
    Really?!, You don't have couple of players to drop down !

http://leinsterchess.com/lcu1516/div1/panel2.htm

10 players rated over 1550 in Benildus B Panel in the link above, and you don't have players ?. It seems that you have created an alternate reality as a form of defence mechanism, No one did more for benildus promotion to armstrong last year than ciaran ruane, and he didn't play against Bray, If any player deserves a place on the team, it is him.

Pretty much the parts of your post I wasn't bothered quoting.

Smart move as it would be a waste of time.

It did, yep. (This was in the BEA, not the O'Hanlon) Just two relatively inexperienced players who weren't aware of what exactly to do in the situation. It happens; you live and learn.

Why don't you "teach and they learn", instead of "live and learn" and pay a price ?. Just like the chess clock , players should be told to spend a few minutes, reading the basic rules of of conduct in chess.

Sigh.

Not going to go any further into this, but just to correct you (again) -
    10 players rated over 1550 in Benildus B Panel in the link above, and you don't have players ?
    We have for the past few years tended to go with squads of 9 for the 8-man teams; it's worked very well and we've never had all 9 players available at one time. So at best we have one player to drop down (not "at least two or more players"), and even then, we've gone with ten for a reason (and I don't see the reason to go into team selection here) Remember, we're trying not to do a Rathmines here.
    Smart move as it would be a waste of time.

These two statements for a start are untrue -
    sinbad68 wrote:
    with anyone over 1500 rated asking to play in armstrong
    sinbad68 wrote:
    Benildus planner[...]giving himself The short straw more often than others
    sinbad68 wrote:
    Why don't you "teach and they learn"
    We do, but there's always newer players, and there's always a first time coming up against something like this. Now the guy knows - but there'll be another new player coming up next. So, as I say, you live and learn.

Sigh.

Not going to go any further into this, but just to correct you (again) -

Remember, we're trying not to do a Rathmines here.

You are the one in need of correcting all the time, just like the blogger on benildus website , a lot of comments on the blog over there are from people coming and telling the blogger that he is wrong and giving bad info,year after year, he lives but doesn't seem to learn !.

As for Rathmines, the exact opposite of what you say is correct, Rathmines A was full of high rated unreliable players and Rathmines B was full of more reliable but weaker players. Had they dropped even one decent player from rathmines B to heidenfeld, he could have subbed for Rathmines A and saved both their Rathmines A and likely their heidenfeld team as well . Rathmines A got relegated by the skin of their teeth.
    We do, but there's always newer players, and there's always a first time coming up against something like this. Now the guy knows - but there'll be another new player coming up next. So, as I say, you live and learn.

That guy knows but many still don't. Prevention is better than cure , players should be taught a few basic rules before they start to play tournaments.

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭eclipsechaser

Gonzaga 3.5 - 2.5 St. Benildus

Good showing from the Benildus youngsters.

Didn't know we got the draw in the last game

Delighted with that!

shame about the 'aul fellas :)

Had to let Gonzaga get something I guess. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭iriship

Hi lads update,
    today
    Gory 4.5 v 1.5 Ballinasloe

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Bad Bishop

Yep it was gory for Ballinasloe!

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Endgame

Drogheda 3.5 Bray 2.5

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Endgame

Aer Lingus 3 Drogheda 3

• Registered Users Posts: 14 JohnLoughran

Royal Lopez 1.5 - Skerries 4.5

St Benildus 3½-2½ Inchicore.

Think we were winning at some stage in each of the games we didn't end up winning.

Skerries 5 - 1 St. Benildus (w/o on Bd 6).

Celbridge 1½-4½ Gorey
    Ballinasloe 3-3 Royal Lopez

Gonzaga 5½-½ Drogheda

St Benildus 2-4 Ballinasloe

Bit of a rag-tag team for us; four of the players had played one league game between them this season!

Gorey 3-3 Elm Mount. Great draw for Eugene McMorrow against Manuel Gardenes on the top board.

Drogheda 1½-4½ Inchicore.