Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying land stories

• 02-09-2015 6:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭

Any good land buying yarns in yere area.my own local favourite is the one about a local man that went to buy a farm in the area in the early sixties.that time the auction used to be in the farmyard so the man made his way over there but when he got there he found he couldnt bid as he had lost the entire price of the farm out of his back pocket.on the way home back across the field s he found it again near where had jumped the ditch but image that having the price of a substantial farm ready to go and just losing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Know a few...a rake of farms around here were auctioned in late 50s early 60s

Heard few yearns one that a local drunk turned up to the auction and bid away drove up the price until the farmer which bought it hit on the head with a stick...still a 100 acre farm for 600quid

Know a few more if I can think on them...

Though know of some tails of hardship of families which bought through the land commission and struggled repayment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Know a few...a rake of farms around here were auctioned in late 50s early 60s

Heard few yearns one that a local drunk turned up to the auction and bid away drove up the price until the farmer which bought it hit on the head with a stick...still a 100 acre farm for 600quid
    Know a few more if I can think on them...

Though know of some tails of hardship of families which bought through the land commission and struggled repayment

Families who were forced to sell through Land a Commission fared out fairly badly also, paid in land bonds which were as useful as Monopoly money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Families who were forced to sell through Land a Commission fared out fairly badly also, paid in land bonds which were as useful as Monopoly money

I've no doubt on this..but a lot of political factors were at play there though (along with bailing out bankrupt landlord-not all)

Now enough on this...funny stories...know of places that were sold where sellers had right to live there until they die despite selling the house...how common is this...I know a good few

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

I've no doubt on this..but a lot of political factors were at play there though (along with bailing out bankrupt landlord-not all)

Now enough on this...funny stories...know of places that were sold where sellers had right to live there until they die despite selling the house...how common is this...I know a good few

That applied to a land deal that I metioned in another post

It would be common enough around here anyway, to have someone in a house till they pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I know of a few cases where houses were willed to ppl with conditions that x could stay living there for the remainder of their lives...I know not the same thing but close enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A neighbour of mine bought a farm a few years ago. It had a reputation of being a heavy farm but his father thought he remembered cutting corn there when he was a young lad.

So yer man heads off to the farm in the middle of the night for a week or two and dug down with a shovel for 3-4 feet to get a feel for the place.

He ended up buying it and turned it into a fine farm after opening up a blocked drain or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Pretty common and I'd say it's a deal that could become more common. It's not a bad way of doing things for the farmer that hasn't got anyone to pass the place on to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

A neighbour of mine bought a farm a few years ago. It had a reputation of being a heavy farm but his father thought he remembered cutting corn there when he was a young lad.

So yer man heads off to the farm in the middle of the night for a week or two and dug down with a shovel for 3-4 feet to get a feel for the place.

He ended up buying it and turned it into a fine farm after opening up a blocked drain or two.

I remember during the boom meeting an auctioneer to go looking at a farm and the look on his face when I pulled a shovel out of the booth ,I sure he thought I was nuts and said he never saw anyone do it before.it would be like buying a car without checking had it an engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I know of someone who bought land not that long ago. He agreed the price but when he went to the auctioneer, there was some extra land that he didn't know was on the portfolio. He was sure it wasn't owned by the seller so he visited the owners brother who lived nearby. He got thick with him and told him to contact the brother directly. Turns out the brother is a well known person in Ireland. His wife even more so. He wouldn't even speak to him. Asshole.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

I know of someone who bought land not that long ago. He agreed the price but when he went to the auctioneer, there was some extra land that he didn't know was on the portfolio. He was sure it wasn't owned by the seller so he visited the owners brother who lived nearby. He got thick with him and told him to contact the brother directly. Turns out the brother is a well known person in Ireland. His wife even more so. He wouldn't even speak to him. Asshole.

Go on name and shame :)

AP2014 wrote: »
    Go on name and shame :)

You're shockin nosy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Old store here is that a family sold their farm. The new buyers paid the money over at the auction. That night they were robbed supposedly by the new owners.

A curse was put on the new buyers that they would be gone out of the area In 2 generations. Farm home to rack and ruin for past 30 year and the last remaining family member in his 70s now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

sea12 wrote: »
    Old store here is that a family sold their farm. The new buyers paid the money over at the auction. That night they were robbed supposedly by the new owners.

A curse was put on the new buyers that they would be gone out of the area In 2 generations. Farm home to rack and ruin for past 30 year and the last remaining family member in his 70s now

Do you believe in ghosts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

AP2014 wrote: »
    Do you believe in ghosts?

Of course 👿

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

keep going wrote: »

I know of a some big wig developer who was interested in a bit of land during the boom, walking the land was no way to see it properly, so he takes out the helicopter, and does afew loops around it, likes what he sees, and buys it! The word on the street was his fancy range rover or whatever had to be towed out of it afew weeks later when he was looking at it properly, it was some of the wettest land around, and not much use for anything ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

No doubt a fairly common occurance countrywide, but a chap just beside Cavan town sold a small farm for development during the boom. Less than eight acres. Got about 2.5 million. Six years later he bought the few fields back for 100k. Developer had never even turned a sod of the land.
    When asked was he glad to get the bit of land back, he replied "well I suppose I was, but shor I had the cattle on it all the time anyway, keeping it tidy for the builder"!

He was one of the smarter men who didn't sink his "windfall" in bank shares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    No doubt a fairly common occupancy countrywide, but a chap just beside Cavan town sold a small farm for development during the boom. Less than eight acres. Got about 2.5 million. Six years later he bought the few fields back for 100k. Developer had never even turned a sod of the land.
    When asked was he glad to get the bit of land back, he replied "well I suppose I was, but shor I had the cattle on it all the time anyway, keeping it tidy for the builder"!

i know of two very similar cases to that not too far from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I know of a case in Meath where two neighbours were interested in ground coming up for sale. It was agreed prior to the auction that they'd buy it and divide it between them.
    One lad done the bidding and bought the land. Did he divide it? Did he fcuk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    No doubt a fairly common occupancy countrywide, but a chap just beside Cavan town sold a small farm for development during the boom. Less than eight acres. Got about 2.5 million. Six years later he bought the few fields back for 100k. Developer had never even turned a sod of the land.

That happened all over north county Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

micraX wrote: »

Every county in the country id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

micraX wrote: »

Here in Wicklow also. Them farmers, or their sons etc are doing most of the land purchases around here.

I heard of a case during the boom where a farmer sold land for big money and then, on the advice from the bank, converted it all to bank shares. When the shares plummeted, he hadn't even settled his tax affairs, so he ended up owing a small fortune.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

A bit of wet land near here sold for a pittance in the early 50's. Story goes that the rates were stupidly high in these parts and there were tracts of land abandoned or taken up by those that could pay them.

This bit of land had a little thatched house and yard and years later the man bought it pulled thatch off it to put on a tin roof. Found a raft of gold sovereign coins.
    Been cruising the algarve ever since....

No but it left him the land for less than nothing even after draining it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

I was trying to buy a few acres a few years ago. Unfortunately was out bid by alot. He paid double the value. The guy that bought it was a rich prick who wanted to build a holiday mansion on it. Arrived in his chopper and had a brand new range rover waiting for him to drive him around. He didn't do his research cos the area has residential clauses and cant build on it for at least 5 years.
    Anyways he went back to the auctioneer to get my details. He rang me and offered me the 8 acres at his cost price. I offered him the market value. That's 4 years ago the land has not been touched since. Heard a rumour he lost everything lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I heard of a case during the boom where a farmer sold land for big money and then, on the advice from the bank, converted it all to bank shares. When the shares plummeted, he hadn't even settled his tax affairs, so he ended up owing a small fortune.:rolleyes:

The banks were flutes for pushing lads after selling land . The father sold a site in the boom and I'd say he got a phone call every second week from the bank offering shares , deals and more loans if he wanted to buy more land . Luckily he couldn't care less about bank shares and had his own few plans for what he wanted to spend it on so didn't lose anything .
    Plenty of lads sold lad and are worse off after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

I know of a case in Meath where two neighbours were interested in ground coming up for sale. It was agreed prior to the auction that they'd buy it and divide it between them.
    One lad done the bidding and bought the land. Did he divide it? Did he fcuk!

That story works in reverse too.
    Farm next door came on the market, we had 70% of it leased and my neighbour had the other 30%. We asked Owner would he consider selling each of us our pieces, he said all one lot as wasn't doing 2 deals.

We agreed that I'd bid and we'd do our own business based on selling price. I bid next day and loe and behold my neighbour putts an extra grand an acre on the whole lot. I was furious and told auctioneer I withdraw my bid as I knew full well that the other guy couldn't close.

A few weeks later we started again and we bought it. I immediately went to my neighbour and offered him his piece at the selling price, had invoice in hand. The little bollix then told me he wasn't going ahead. Suited us fine but I was lucky I wasn't relying on him.

The same guy bad mouthed my for some time afterwards not realising that when his father had gotten into difficulties done yrs earlier and offered 30 acres to my dad to buy that my dad refused telling him that he's a young family and they'd never forgive him.

My boss sorted a loan for him in order to get back on his feet. Eaten bread is soon forgotten is all I can say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I know of a neighbor with a very similar situation. Sold his smell darm for building and got a nice sum. He was going to go straight out and buy a bigger farm that came on the market not to far away either, but some advisor in the bank convinced him to take out a loan on the land and buy shares with the money. Ended up shared were worthless and was really pushed to the wall trying to pay the loan, instead of having no pressure. I wonder did the advisor lose anything? You shouldn't let people play with your money I reckon

It was like watching Michael Fingleton last night. Greed is a terrible thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Heard a story of a man who bought a farm and for certain reasons put it in the name of a lad working for him. This lad moved in with his family and could'nt be moved. T'was of an era when motor cars were very scarce on the roads. This lads brother arrived home from the train in a taxi late one dark winters evening and they thought it was the old boss coming to evict them as he was one of the few with a car. Out with the shotgun and shot the brother!