Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Audi North Dublin

• 01-09-2015 3:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24

Just an interesting observation on a trip to Audi North Dublin on Saturday afternoon.

Have a Quattro Audi A5 Coupe (looking to buy new) in mind and understandably wanted to try a Quattro before buying.

Trying to be as reasonable as possible I submitted a request for a test drive at least a week in advance and received a call from the "digital sales executive" where I explained what I was looking for. In fairness, I understand that the exact specification I had in mind wouldn't be in stock but he committed to making a coupe available and a comparable Quattro.

I turned up 10 minutes early for the allotted appointment and having been kept waiting for aboutt 15 minutes was introduced to the "éminence grise" of the "Senior Sales Exceutive" replete with all of the trappings of the "Audi North Dublin Terminal" who escorted me to his desk and proceeded to tell me that:

1. there was no new Audi A5 Coupe to test;
    2. there was no comparably engined Audi to test;
    3. there was no comparable Quattro to test; and
    4. although there were two compartably engined A5 Coupes albeit used A5 Coupes and Sportsbacks on the forecourt test driving any of these "made no sense" so really I needed to work on the basis that as the exact spec I was looking at was not nor would it be available a test drive of any description made no sense;
    5. but to the extent that it did help the closest thing that was avialable in the "Audi Network" was a used car in Sligo - very convenient.

I pointed out that I had explained my requirements to the "digital sales executive" (who I must point out was very professional - my issue is entirely with the "senior sales executive") but the "senior sales executive" procceded to turn his monitor around to state that none of this detail was there. I explained that this was communicated in the follow up call but this was completely unacknowledged - as if to suggest that I was lying.

In all of my time looking at cars I have never seen the arrogance and ignorance of a salesperson who was this willing to:

1. waste my time by having me arrive at a pre-arranged appointment under the impression that a suitable car was available;
    2. refuse to provide a test drive when comparable cars were in fact available; and
    3. generally refuse to constructively engage with someone who arrived ready willing to place upwards of €50,000 of business with him.

I should point out that this is someone who pulled up in an Audi and who has been a parts customer of theirs so I arrived very well disposed and already quite committed to the brand and the garage.

Taking my frustration with me I made the trek to Audi Ballsbridge where they immediately identified that a similarly engined Cabriolet and a similiar used motor in their Goatstown showroom. They were incredible apologetic that the cabriolet was in an awkward position upstairs such that they needed notice to get it ready for a test drive but they did all that they could to arrange a test drive for this week. I had the same professional reception at the used centre when I explained why I had arrived and they have also been incredibly efficient in arrnaging trest drives of a umber of cars that I am interested in.

I just wanted to post the above as a warning to anyone thinking of engaging with Audi North Dublin that the enagagment of ignorant salespeople does nothing for the promotion of a supposedly premium brand while Audi Ballsbridge/Goatstown have shown such courtesy and professionalism that I see this as being the first of many intercations with them...once I decide what I want to buy from them that is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭kdevitt

while Audi Ballsbridge/Goatstown have shown such courtesy and professionalism that I see this as being the first of many intercations with them...

I found Audi Goatstown to be absolutely awful on a recent visit - I think a huge part of the customer experience comes down to the actual sales exec you are dealing with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Phoenix Run

Can completely agree but dealt with about 5 people across Ballsbridge/Goatstown and had no issues with any of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

I have nothing but the highest praise for North Dublin Audi, they have been top class to deal with whenever I've been in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭tw0nk

I test drove a Q7 in Audi Enniscorthy, good to deal with, the guy knew his technical detail but did throw in a few cocky comments, nothing too bad.

I did think their used cars are way overpriced but can't fault their professionalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,225 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I just wanted to post the above as a warning to anyone thinking of engaging with Audi North Dublin that the enagagment of ignorant salespeople does nothing for the promotion of a supposedly premium brand

You'd be far better served putting your complaint in writing to Audi North Dublin and Audi Ireland than complaining anonymously on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I'm still waiting on Audi Kilkenny to revert to me ...after 2 visits to their showroom. They must think I havve an abundance of time because that was 4 months ago:(. Went and bought a new E 200 instead. Very disappointing.

I've sent this to Audi North Dublin but I like to give these things a wider audience - by the same token I've given garages I've bought from glowing testimonials where it's justitified but this seriously annoyed me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

I'm still waiting on Audi Kilkenny to revert to me ...after 2 visits to their showroom. They must think I havve an abundance of time because that was 4 months ago:(. Went and bought a new E 200 instead. Very disappointing.

So you didn't buy a car because a salesman didn't ring you back? And you went and bought a car from a completely didnt manufacturer because of this?

I'm called BS, you were buying a Merc either way. No one goes and buys something totally different to what they wanted because a car dealer doesn't ring them back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Nothing surprises me.
    Is it that easy to sell cars now that they expect people to sign up without even driving the cars.
    I've had similar experiences from mercedes salesmen where one sniggered at me when I said I wasnt interested in his basic e class from stock and was looking towards the sport spec - but they are law onto themselves and don't tend to take you serious without the tweed jacket with elbow patches.
    Why not allow you to drive a used A5 and see if he could arrange for a more suitable test in a few days.
    I would be furious.

Bandara wrote: »
    So you didn't buy a car because a salesman didn't ring you back? And you went and bought a car from a completely didnt manufacturer because of this?

I'm called BS, you were buying a Merc either way. No one goes and buys something totally different to what they wanted because a car dealer doesn't ring them back.

In fairness, I think if I had the cash to spend, and I was looking for a car, getting the runaround from a business or being annoyed at them would sour the experience and take the joy out of getting the car.

I'd look elsewhere, also (Albeit, if i was dead set on a certain brand/model, id probably try a different dealer of the same brand first).

That said, could be a case that he wanted an Audi and having the extra time to wait made him test drive the merc for the craic, and he fell in love with it.

Just recently I bought a Citroen C5. Had no intention of buying a C5. Was set on an Insignia. Seller was haggling and haggling and taking forever to get back to me, and in the meantime I drove a C5. Felt it was much better than the Insignia and so moved on to the C5 instead.

Not quite as high-brow cars as mentioned here, but the same general principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Geoff845

Just an interesting observation on a trip to Audi North Dublin on Saturday afternoon.

Have a Quattro Audi A5 Coupe (looking to buy new) in mind and understandably wanted to try a Quattro before buying.

Trying to be as reasonable as possible I submitted a request for a test drive at least a week in advance and received a call from the "digital sales executive" where I explained what I was looking for. In fairness, I understand that the exact specification I had in mind wouldn't be in stock but he committed to making a coupe available and a comparable Quattro.

I turned up 10 minutes early for the allotted appointment and having been kept waiting for aboutt 15 minutes was introduced to the "éminence grise" of the "Senior Sales Exceutive" replete with all of the trappings of the "Audi North Dublin Terminal" who escorted me to his desk and proceeded to tell me that:

4. although there were two compartably engined A5 Coupes albeit used A5 Coupes and Sportsbacks on the forecourt test driving any of these "made no sense" so really I needed to work on the basis that as the exact spec I was looking at was not nor would it be available a test drive of any description made no sense;
    5. but to the extent that it did help the closest thing that was avialable in the "Audi Network" was a used car in Sligo - very convenient.

I pointed out that I had explained my requirements to the "digital sales executive" (who I must point out was very professional - my issue is entirely with the "senior sales executive") but the "senior sales executive" procceded to turn his monitor around to state that none of this detail was there. I explained that this was communicated in the follow up call but this was completely unacknowledged - as if to suggest that I was lying.

In all of my time looking at cars I have never seen the arrogance and ignorance of a salesperson who was this willing to:

1. waste my time by having me arrive at a pre-arranged appointment under the impression that a suitable car was available;
    2. refuse to provide a test drive when comparable cars were in fact available; and
    3. generally refuse to constructively engage with someone who arrived ready willing to place upwards of €50,000 of business with him.

I should point out that this is someone who pulled up in an Audi and who has been a parts customer of theirs so I arrived very well disposed and already quite committed to the brand and the garage.

Taking my frustration with me I made the trek to Audi Ballsbridge where they immediately identified that a similarly engined Cabriolet and a similiar used motor in their Goatstown showroom. They were incredible apologetic that the cabriolet was in an awkward position upstairs such that they needed notice to get it ready for a test drive but they did all that they could to arrange a test drive for this week. I had the same professional reception at the used centre when I explained why I had arrived and they have also been incredibly efficient in arrnaging trest drives of a umber of cars that I am interested in.

I just wanted to post the above as a warning to anyone thinking of engaging with Audi North Dublin that the enagagment of ignorant salespeople does nothing for the promotion of a supposedly premium brand while Audi Ballsbridge/Goatstown have shown such courtesy and professionalism that I see this as being the first of many intercations with them...once I decide what I want to buy from them that is!

Evening

Firstly I would like to apologise sincerely for your experience at our dealership. My name is Geoff Walsh and I am Head of Business for Audi North Dublin.

Obviously it was very uncomfortable for me to read about your experience given the investment in our facility and the specialised training with our people. I must apologise also for the lack of communication with our team with regards to the availability of the model you were looking to test drive. Unfortunately given the size of the Audi Range it is not always possible to have all the variants available and as we move towards 2016 models we have a reduce stock. This is by no means an excuse for the way your enquiry was handled & I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss you experience further if you had some time.

I can appreciate if you would not like to do so but I would very much welcome the opportunity to rebuild your confidence in our dealership. I assure you the experience you received is certainly not the ethos of our dealership & we pride ourselves on trying to delivery the best customer experience, we don't always get it right but are very happy to get feedback when we get it wrong, which we clearly have on this occasion.

Please feel free to contact me at any stage or if you would prefer I am happy to call you at a time that suits.

Regards
    Geoff Walsh

Head of Business
    Audi North Dublin

01 850 2100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

A few months ago I bought a 2015 Audi A6 S-tronic auto. Traded in a BMW 5 series which was 3 years old. Went to nearest Audi dealership and my experience was awful. Salesman was hopeless and didn't return my follow up calls. When I finally got him on the phone he offered me a ridiculous price for my trade in. When I questioned this he said he thought my car was a year older than it was even though he had given it a long and through examination the first day I went to dealership.
    Went to Audi Wexford and the experience couldn't have been more different. In less than one hour I'd bought my new car. It's amazing the difference between dealerships who have all received the same training.

Your wrong there,you can call bs all you like. I called in twice,he said he'd get back to me re my trade in (141). He didn't bother his bollix. My cars are all main dealer serviced and if this is the service I get before I buy,then I'm not prepared to take a chance with their after sales.
    Hadn't even considered a merc before hand. You can think what you like but that's my experience with Audi Kilkenny.

In fairness, I think if I had the cash to spend, and I was looking for a car, getting the runaround from a business or being annoyed at them would sour the experience and take the joy out of getting the car.

I'd look elsewhere, also (Albeit, if i was dead set on a certain brand/model, id probably try a different dealer of the same brand first).

That said, could be a case that he wanted an Audi and having the extra time to wait made him test drive the merc for the craic, and he fell in love with it.

Just recently I bought a Citroen C5. Had no intention of buying a C5. Was set on an Insignia. Seller was haggling and haggling and taking forever to get back to me, and in the meantime I drove a C5. Felt it was much better than the Insignia and so moved on to the C5 instead.

Not quite as high-brow cars as mentioned here, but the same general principle.
    This is exactly what happened. The next Nearest Audi dealer is Waterford,but they're the same crowd,so on a shopping trip to Carlow I called into the Merc dealer for the crack and bought a car.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭MarkN

I think it depends on the individual. Some diick in Beacon Motor Company told my brother he couldn't afford an 8 grand used Focus ST and letting him test drive it would be a waste of his petrol only last week. I've dealt with Frank Keane for many years and BMWs and while the majority of staff there have always been brilliant, one or two idiots have made me feel like I'll look elsewhere when I go to buy another one but again that's a reflection on an individual not the entire workforce in the place.

Vote with your feet and go where you feel valued and if that's Ballsbridge or wherever then fair play to you for walking out.

No excuse for that carry on, it wasn't so long ago that many of these showrooms were as quiet as ghost estates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Dial Hard wrote: »
    You'd be far better served putting your complaint in writing to Audi North Dublin and Audi Ireland than complaining anonymously on the internet.

I agree but these days anyone in the service industry must know that poor service may be met with someone taking to social media. Only a fool treats a customer like crap these days, and if they do they have to accept the potential consequences.

Geoff845 wrote: »
    Evening

Firstly I would like to apologise sincerely for your experience at our dealership. My name is Geoff Walsh and I am Head of Business for Audi North Dublin.

Obviously it was very uncomfortable for me to read about your experience given the investment in our facility and the specialised training with our people. I must apologise also for the lack of communication with our team with regards to the availability of the model you were looking to test drive. Unfortunately given the size of the Audi Range it is not always possible to have all the variants available and as we move towards 2016 models we have a reduce stock. This is by no means an excuse for the way your enquiry was handled & I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss you experience further if you had some time.

I can appreciate if you would not like to do so but I would very much welcome the opportunity to rebuild your confidence in our dealership. I assure you the experience you received is certainly not the ethos of our dealership & we pride ourselves on trying to delivery the best customer experience, we don't always get it right but are very happy to get feedback when we get it wrong, which we clearly have on this occasion.

Please feel free to contact me at any stage or if you would prefer I am happy to call you at a time that suits.

Regards
    Geoff Walsh

Head of Business
    Audi North Dublin

01 850 2100

Geoff,

Thank you for your message.

I completely appreciate that with the number of variants and the time of year something suitable might not be available. However, given my interest in a detailed specification had In known that no comparable car was available I would have gladly driven to Sligo had I been informed of this - my issue is with the communication and management of anm appointment whcih meant that I wasted an aftermoon when I could conceivably have been half way to Sligo had proper information been supplied or alternatively at least had a feel for the Coupe and the Quattro had I been afforded a comparable test drive.

I submitted a feedback request on the Audi North Dublin website (including a link to this thread) at the same time that I first posted but I have heard nothing from Audi directly on this feedback - nothing at all personal as I appreciate your response but I think it is telling that public defence occcurred long before before direct customer contact.

Thanks for your time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

Geoff,

I completely appreciate that with the number of variants and the time of year something suitable might not be available. However, given my interest in a detailed specification had In known that no comparable car was available I would have gladly driven to Sligo had I been informed of this - my issue is with the communication and management of anm appointment whcih meant that I wasted an aftermoon when I could conceivably have been half way to Sligo had proper information been supplied or alternatively at least had a feel for the Coupe and the Quattro had I been afforded a comparable test drive.

I submitted a feedback request on the Audi North Dublin website (including a link to this thread) at the same time that I first posted but I have heard nothing from Audi directly on this feedback - nothing at all personal as I appreciate your response but I think it is telling that public defence occcurred long before before direct customer contact.

Thanks for your time

OOOO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I know a sales rep in Audi North Dublin and this type of stuff gets on his wick. I am going to send him this thread. I could put you in contact with him if you want? He knows his Audis and is a decent driver too.
    Playing devils advocates for a minute we are only hearing one side of the story too. I have personally witnessed people complain about poor service but in fact it was the customer being a complete unreasonable jerk (not saying this was this case here).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

If a new E Class is very disappointing, why on earth did you buy it ??? :p:p

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

... but I think it is telling that public defence occcurred long before before direct customer contact.

...by jingo that's good: I'm Ctrl+C'ing that into my list of notes in Outlook right now !

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    If a new E Class is very disappointing, why on earth did you buy it ??? :p:p

Nice one. Let me repair my mulhie gramar:). I was very disappointed in the service (or lack of it) from Audi Kilkenny.
    So far very pleased with the E200 and the dealer in Carlow. Early days yet though :).!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

Can completely agree but dealt with about 5 people across Ballsbridge/Goatstown and had no issues with any of them

What engine/gearbox/spec. are you looking for?

After the debacle I finally found what I was after in the North - Audi A5 2.0 TDI Quattro S Line Special Edition. Delighted with the car - would have gone with Ballsbridge or Goatstwon but pretty much the exact spec I wanted came up so had to go with that.

The only downside is that it means my much loved A4 is now for sale - can't post the link but it is <no advertising. moderator>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

I found Audi North Dublin to be very nice to deal with and very professional but there prices left me homeless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Geoff,

Thanks for your time

This part I don't get, they answered via this thread..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

I smell a massive rat here. Two buddies housesharing and up to no good with a few cans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

MojoMaker wrote: »
    I smell a massive rat here. Two buddies housesharing and up to no good with a few cans.

eh?

bear1 wrote: »
    This part I don't get, they answered via this thread..

Should we all start a thread on here if we want to interact with Audi North Dublin?

Augeo wrote: »
    Should we all start a thread on here if we want to interact with Audi North Dublin?

The OP said that he sent them via their website a link to this thread, so from what I can see they did exactly what he said they didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Yes and instead of contacting him privately prior, their first move is a public defence on an internet forum from a user calling himself "Geoff845".

Seriously lads. Good one.

Yes and instead of contacting him privately prior, their first move is a public defence on an internet forum from a user calling himself "Geoff845".

Fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

You mean Geoff845, who's the dealer principle of Audi North IRL?

R.O.R wrote: »
    You mean Geoff845, who's the dealer principle of Audi North IRL?

That's exactly who they mean, I somehow doubt it but hey ho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

It's happening in Audi Kilkenny already.:mad:
    Roll on the next recession..:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

kdevitt wrote: »
    I found Audi Goatstown to be absolutely awful on a recent visit - I think a huge part of the customer experience comes down to the actual sales exec you are dealing with.

Agree with this. Not an A5 but we weer looking to spend ~30k on an A3 and the sales guy were talking to could not have been more disinterested. Swore I'd never go back to them. Went to Audi Naas instead and the sales guy we met with there was brilliant.

Whatever about car sales folk having questionable sales skills the experiences here suggest hat many of them can't even entertain a potential customer that wants to buy and knows what they want, an appalling trait for a sales person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

What are you crapping on about?

Would have thought that was quite obvious, though perhaps a trifle overstated.

Don't think it was a personal attack on your acquaintance the decent driver.
    I know a sales rep in Audi North Dublin and this type of stuff gets on his wick. I am going to send him this thread. I could put you in contact with him if you want? He knows his Audis and is a decent driver too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Geoff845

Lads

I've been on boards following the motors thread for years. As an enthusiast & someone who works in the industry I want to know when someone queries or makes comments on their experience at our dealership. I'll hopefully rectify something when we get it wrong. We're not perfect & will never claim to be but we do try & do a good job.

I'm happy to chat to anyone publicly or privately on their experience as we welcome feedback as a business.

There is nothing untoward or disengenious on my behalf replying to someone's experience. I want to get it right & improve our business, as anyone running one would. Hope this clears up any confusion!

Geoff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

People with money do.

Friend of the family was out to buy three BMW's, one for himself, two for his kids as a surprise. Was left standing in the showroom for nearly 30 minutes with a sales rep on the phone having what appeared a private call, and not really arsed engaging.

He went back to the showroom a few weeks later, asked to speak to the manager in the showroom, and pointed out to the €150k+ Mercedes outside, that were originally supposed to be BMW's inside.

Even operating at the lower end of the scale, across all range of products, I wouldn't hand over my money for piss poor service, regardless of how set I was on a particular purchase.

It's a particularly Irish thing to happily accept poor service and pay premiums for the pleasure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭audi12

worked in car sales for the past year and one thing that is very common is for customers to look for any reason to complain not saying you are or are not justified in this case. It seemed where I worked people who hated their lives or maybe their marriage would try to take it on sales people and receptionist you really meet some horrible people in car sales just giving the other point of view

Well that only took 10 months.