Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The worst manager you've ever had

• 31-08-2015 10:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭

I've had a few.

The worst was a polish manager I had when I was about 19 and was working in a video shop. He regularly refused to talk to me on shift (there'd only be two of us on, and I mean he would literally remain silent) and regularly exploded at me for no reason.

He also cried laughing at me when I told him I'd been attacked on holiday. When my coworker told him that he thought it was really inappropriate to laugh at me like that he responded by giving me extra work that evening. He's the reason I left in the end, absolute prick.

On that note... what's the worst manager you've ever had?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Task manager on Windows. Kept shutting sh1t down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

i was working for this bitch abroad in berlin there last year, anyway doesnt the dopey c unt send me into a room full with pesticicde to work for 2 days, big courtcase going on about it now, am going to get a load of money out of it, but have the glass powdeer in my lungs to prove it, ha ha ha ha ha ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Brendan Rodgers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

Brendan Rodgers.

Mario ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Louis Van Gaal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Brendan Rodgers.

You Rogered Brendan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Probably the manager that put his hand on my thigh, suggestively, more than once.

There was also the manager that put her hand on my thigh, and I had enough reasons to hate her before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

i was working for this bitch abroad in berlin there last year, anyway doesnt the dopey c unt send me into a room full with pesticicde to work for 2 days, big courtcase going on about it now, am going to get a load of money out of it, but have the glass powdeer in my lungs to prove it, ha ha ha ha ha ha

No offence but I wouldn't be calling her a dopey c unt, when you're plastering your case details on the internet without the judge ruling officially in your favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

He's hardly plastering it all over the internet though is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Overheal wrote: »
    Probably the manager that put his hand on my thigh, suggestively, more than once.

There was also the manager that put her hand on my thigh, and I had enough reasons to hate her before that.

In fairness, you have really really good thighs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

In fairness, you have really really good thighs.

That's why I don't wear ties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

realies wrote: »
    That's why I don't wear ties.

Wha? I've seen you tied up. Good vid btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭jaded_pause

I had a manager in a semi-posh clothes store who treated me and a couple other employees like plebs because we weren't up her arse like the rest of them "Oh god don't you look fabulous in that dress", and "Oh your hair is so cool and edgy." She was a completely shallow idiot going through a midlife crisis and often on the phone shouting to her friends / other store managers about this dude she met in the gym and how they'd gotten so close and she hadn't told her husband about it because it's not really cheating but oh isn't gym guy so nice and so fit. She was the most shallow, self centered, pathetic excuse of a human I've ever had the misfortune to be in the same room as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Hard to avoid idiots in the 'profession' I worked in for a while so had my fair share of dopes with ironically oversized egos. The biggest moron was a manager I was assigned in Oz, I found out later they paid me significantly more than him (actuall he grabbed my contract one day then started yelling at me like it was my fault) but wanted to be seen to be promoting him in place of a pay rise. The excitement of being in charge of someone was too much for him so he sat opposite me day in day out critiquing my outfits, hair, weight, client phone calls... Fair enough to listen to phonecalls but his rapport building advice was shocking - he used to think making racist jokes was a great idea despitr having never seen most of his clients. He'd ask female clients out to dinner to thank them for business then wonder why they got annoyed when he suggested cooking for them in his place. Then he decided he would supervise every email I sent to a client and sat behind me dictating and insisting I randomly capitalise Approx every third Word in Sentences to 'set my emails apart'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 labin_86

I've had a few terrible managers in my time. I used to work in fashion so comes with the territory maybe?
    The worst was a total bully, he threw a lasagne at our intern, hangers at the assistant designer, told everyone one of the girls was off sick because she was getting an abortion, spread rumours about a few of us that we were all hooked on heroin (!), he used to be really verbally abusive saying that one of our managers must have been dropped on her head when she was a baby. He also had the runs once and made the intern clean up the toilet right after he went. :(
    On top of this he would constantly criticise peoples looks and weight.
    The list goes on.
    I didn't stay there for very long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

cruais wrote: »
    No offence but I wouldn't be calling her a dopey c unt, when you're plastering your case details on the internet without the judge ruling officially in your favour.

Probably he changed the names of all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

All I can say about one woman is to paraphrase Tywin Lannister "Anyone who must constantly scream 'I'm the boss' loudly in public areas full of clients is no boss".

I occasionally hear of a case of constructive dismissal against her and I laugh and laugh. Absolute wagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I had two managers I hated.

One was an illiterate fool, she couldn't spell, she was a rich kid who just assumed everyone loved her because she had money. She was obsessed with her sister, which was quite weird, always talking about her sister and how cool her sister was and if her sister called for an appointment last minute, she would cancel an actual clients appointment.

We had many run ins, she knew I didn't like her and would often try humiliate me in front of the other girls. We had been very busy in the run up to Christmas and had been working 12 hour shifts 6 days a week in the two weeks before Christmas. I got very very sick on the second week, like a vomiting bug, but i still went to work that day. One or two of the other Girls rang in sick. The next day I was still quite sick but a little better, went to work, and after the first appointment I had there had been an emergency staff meeting called. Two more girls had called in sick and the girls out the day before hadn't come in that day either. She was bugging out. Had demanded the girls who called in sick attend this staff meeting. When everyone had arrived, she started spitting venom saying how nobody there was unreplaceable, that she was the only one that the company needed, anyone to call in sick before Christmas would be fired, etc. as punishment we were told the salon would be now open on Xmas eve, and that our one day off between then and Xmas eve would be taken off us. This was on Tuesday, my day off was Thursday, and I think Xmas eve was that Saturday.

She had taken my Thursday off me, had filled my column busy, maybe two of the other girls had their days taken off them too. Christmas Eve rolled around and all the polish girls had got it off as its a special day for them, the girls that lived far away got it off to go home (bear in mind I lived further away than one of those girls and I still had to come in) and the only other girl who had to come in was the girl who had called in the two days sick. Nobody else. There was no clients in so we had to clean all day.

We then broke for Christmas holidays and a few days before we were due back she text us all asking us if we could oblige her by coming in the day before we opened (salon was renovated over the holidays) to help clean the salon and get it ready for opening. I text her back and told her no I couldn't and when I went back to work she called me into the office, told me I had an attitude problem and that I was the only one who hadn't helped. I reminded her how I had worked about 12 days straight before Xmas and how I had been punished for something I hadn't even done and that I didn't react well to spiteful people and blah blah blah, we both got a lot off her chest, and we ended the chat on a positive note, I thought things had been cleared up. For a few days after she was up my ass, telling me how good at my job I was, how I was great, how her sister wanted to come to me because I did such a good job etc.

So imagine my surprise at the performance meeting, in front of all the other staff, she rated me 2/10 and rated the unqualified receptionist who occasionally did treatments higher than me. I knew this was utter scour but it was to make me feel bad in front of everyone else.

I was being paid monthly and the end of that month my wages didn't go into my account. I text her asking about it and she was like "I know nothing about it, sorry". Bitch was holding my wages back for reasons I have no idea.

I had decided right there to hand in my notice, well by notice I mean "you can go swivel, I'm not coming back."

The company actually went bust since then and if her Facebook is anything to go by, she's out of a job.

The other one was grand just a bit work shy. She wanted to remain 3 days a week despite taking over as manager, so she was so behind on everything and I was working 5 days so she expected me to do what she wasn't there to do.
    So basically for 4 months I was doing her job and she was being paid for it. She was always late, we were always understaffed and she wouldn't do anything. She used her kids as excuses for everything and thought the world revolved around her because she had reproduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

The current one. Death by micromanagement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

David Moyes. Hadn't a clue what he was doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

First one was when I was working in a bar. He was a cokehead and one night they were drinking after hours and one of the other barman made a remark. The assistant manager didn't like it, beckoned him over and then lunged at him, biting his mouth open from lip to chin before the others could pull him off the barman and take him to hospital.

The assistant manager up all the blood when he was alone, and tried to delete the cctv but was too much of an idiot to do more than turn off the computers. Still, he turned up to work the next day and was fired.

The second was less the individual and more the management culture in the place. Lots of managers who didn't want to make decisions, and instead would just hire other managers who dealt in those areas.

Last I heard there was 1 manager for every 2 staff and the place isnt doing too well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I worked in Dunnes when I was younger, so it would take me quite a while to list all the sh**ty managers I had. I think I could name about two decent ones. One of them I'd still be friendly with today and a second, although I haven't seen him in a while was an absolute and utter gentleman and far too nice to be working there. He got treated just as badly as the staff, purely because he was a nice guy. To the best of my knowledge he's still with Dunnes and he's close to 50 at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

kylith wrote: »
    "Anyone who must constantly scream 'I'm the boss' loudly in public areas full of clients is no boss".

Steve Staunton springs to mind.

"I'm the boss.
    I'm the gaffer.
    The book stops with me."

Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭washiskin

My absolute worst was a woman who came over from the UK to live with her partner, who was a manager in another dept. Had no clue she was going to be working in the company until she was introduced to me on a Monday as my co-worker who was to be trained up from scratch. Great, I thought, another woman on the floor with me as I was the only one not in Admin. Talk about a drama queen! Partner treated her like dirt and they constantly rowed, the deails of which I heard in minutiae every couple of days. I genuinely felt sorry for her and went out of my way to make her feel welcome, even spending free time showing her around, shopping etc.
    About 6 week later the boss came down and informed me that she would now be my manager. Needless to say, after I had built up the dept I was a tad miffed and took it rather badly. To my shame, I did sulk for about a week (work didn't suffer, just didn't talk much) which resulted in her going to the boss and complaining. Cue me being taken to the bar across the road and warned in no uncertain terms that I was out the door if I even looked crooked at her. It's the closest I've ever come to telling someone to shove their job up their ass, but l went back and said I was sorry to her, assuring her I would toe the line.
    And I did, in at 9 out the door at 5.30. No staying late as I made sure all my work was done, left her to deal with the Sales staff, the ordering of supplies, the packaging, the dealing with suppliers, the organisation of deadlines, co-ordinating delivery of the finished stuff, all the things a manager is supposed to do and all of which I had been doing before she arrived. I think she lasted 3 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

We had this woman sent over from the states to manage us once.
    On a Friday she would dress up in fancy dress and ring a hand bell as we arrived to work to welcome us.
    It was her idea of motivating fun but I never wanted to kill someone as much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Menas wrote: »
    On a Friday she would dress up in fancy dress and ring a hand bell as we arrived to work to welcome us.

Americans are weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Had a part-time job in a hotel during college, for a while we had a bean counter put in charge... Lord. Within a month more than half the staff had left, I was too young to realise what a dose she actually was initially so it was a painful few months before I finally got my stuff together and left.

The place went out of business after a year or so. During the boom like. Still, I'm sure her abrasiveness and penny pinching on everything (I remember a girl getting screamed at for putting three, not two, butter sachets with some toast) had no bearing on that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Jaysus, in my job by the second friday she would had to ring the bell by shaking her arse like a wet dog. F**k that for a game of soldiers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭columf

worked in a certain company where the saying "too many chiefs not enough Indians" was an understatement the first manager I had in there was decent due to the lack of technical staff everyone worked late off their own backs to keep things under control manager no1 was cool he would get in takeaways or if you needed to disappear during the day there was never an issue or every once in a while send you off to pick up parts and tell you to double your Mileage. Well manager no1 left and they then decided to put a salesman as manager of a technical department the sort of cnut that would use words like customer experience needless to say the food and other perks disappeared he expected us to carry on with the late evenings. He once questioned me as I had to leave on time one evening I told him to piss off it was business not his.
    I caught him once bad mouthing the tech team to the other managers to cover up his own ineptitude. I let the rest of the team know and we worked to rule for 2 weeks before he came back all nice as pie would we be able to work late and things were going down hill all that ****e. I hated that muppet I left shortly afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Never really had a bad boss, usually get the vibe fairly sharpish and I'm out the door quicker then you could say fcuk this for a lark. Had a few hard bosses alright, but the truth is that if most people think you're a great boss, the reality is you're probably a crap manager.

Worst I ever had was one that couldn't get their head around the working week starting on a Monday, made a hash of wages and rotas monthly and somehow it was all our fault for fiddling with the calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Please..no more football manager jokes. Please.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

kylith wrote: »
    Americans are weird.

You feel better now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

I used to work as a waiter in a posh-ish Hotel restaurant. Everyone knows that at dinner time restaurants are very busy and at any one moment in time you'd prolly have a long list of things to get done but you'd priorities things. So that might look like; first I'll bring that table their main meal, then i'll bring dessert menus to that table, and then i'll give those people the bill they asked for.

So manager F would turn up, look at the obvious say 3 things that needed doing, see I was doing one of them ( say bringing table x their main meal)....pull me to one side and say 'aren't you going to bring table Y their bill'.

Had the tasks I'd prioritized been different then this is what it would have looked like. Manager F would come and see giving the bill to table Y then pull me aside and ask why table X haven't got their main meal yet, it's waiting on the pass.

Now the above example is just a very simplified example to get the point across of what she was like. She's also add a little sting to her comments like if she said 'have you brought dessert menus to table 5?, ( which she could clearly see was a no) , she'd say 'don't you think you should'. As if I had no intention of offering the customers dessert.

The only think that would satisfy her is if he turned up and saw that everything was done and noting needed to be done. That restaurant wouldn't be making much money if that was the case.

The thing was I don't think she was meaning to be nasty, I think she though she was just doing the right thing as a manager and doing her job properly. Which kinda makes it worse, in a way.

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

The current one. Death my micromanagement

+1 ^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

December 2000. She had one other female collegue. She was on "my case". I was treated like utter shít and wanted to start me on a criminal record. She did'nt. I left the job, without having another job lined up.
    Anyway, I did get another job without having to sign on the dole I may add, and was continuously employed for the next 12 years. I have'nt changed my stance on this manager since. Passage of time has made no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

My worst manager was the one I had in my first job after graduating from University. He was an affable and inherently decent sort of man, but was hopelessly out of his depth when it came to managing and mentoring a team of young finance graduates.

He had moved up through the ranks of the bank I worked in by not offending anyone, and seemed to think there was no issue that couldn’t be resolved by heading out for a round of golf with one of the team. The place was a joke. The whole operation was extremely inefficient; IT systems were antiquated and completely unfit for purpose; he had little idea on how to improve staff morale or drive operational efficiencies from either the top or the bottom. Within a couple of weeks many of my colleagues were wandering into the place after 9.30, bleary-eyed with lack of sleep because they were ‘out on the tear’ the night before. I was there to start a career, not to stew away those early and vital years by being part of a team managed by a man who was completely incompetent.

I decided that speaking to the man himself about his managerial short-comings was an exercise in futility, so I arranged a meeting with the head of the entire unit – a man who reported directly to the C-Suite at the time. Told him my concerns, and offered a number of suggestions as to how our team could work more efficiently by simply making small changes in how the bid process was handled by our back-office teams. An external consultant was hired by the bank to work with the manager on carrying on a root and branch review of the entire team. The changes were immediate and, for the most part, effective.

I left the bank after 9 months as I decided my career goals and objectives weren’t going to be realised sitting at a desk in the financial backwater that is the IFSC. So I utilised my proficiency in German and moved to Frankfurt.

My manager took early retirement from the bank, and I’m told he remains as scatter-brained in retirement as he was in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

There was the guy about 12 years ago who I caught one day just staring blankly at the wall in his office. He tended to use a lot of management buzz-words (y'know the type: talk lots but say nothing), took no interest in the team he managed (asked one of them 6 months into his tenure to do up a email for him about "what you guys do") and so was universally slated by the team in the global employee survey a few months later.
    He wasn't best pleased by the results and promised at the meeting he was forced to hold that actions would be taken, changes made and follow-up meetings had.. to date as far as I'm aware that still hasn't happened.

Then there was a similar guy about 2 years ago in another company who was very much the same. You'd go in with a set of things you wanted answered/decided on and he'd take one minor trivial side-point and spin it into an hour of waffle.. after which he'd run off saying he had another meeting to go to. Luckily I was able to get HR to sort that one out.

The best managers I find are those who take an interest but don't micromanage, have an open-door policy and support their staff (personally and to the higher-ups) as much as lead them. I did have a manager like that before the first guy and we got so much as a team and individually out of it that his style really stuck with me. Now that I manage teams myself I take the same approach and it's proven very successful with low turnover, dedicated staff and who'll go the extra mile when needed (like for example last night when one of them came back to the office to support an issue we were only told about an hour before it needed to be ready).

Staff should be treated as assets, not costs. Do that and you'll get back tenfold what you put in in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Oh I forgot another one...

This late 20s "manager" who sat behind us in an office but who always had the door open so we could hear her waffling about total shyte! She also had what was like a sorority of team leads around her who were as bad. The final straw came when they all trooped in giggling about yer one's new Sex and the City skirt!

FFS! It's an office not a coffee shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Working in retail you really do see all sorts:

Taking the biscuit though was I was a Duty Manager of a night pack team in a very busy but small shop up in Limerick. Anyway Assistant manager turns up dressed smartly which would be unusual for a night pack as you get wrecked and obviously the shop is shut. He floats off around 9pm and no sign of him I organise the breaks and all that which is fine he rocks back in I'd say maybe 3 am definitely after clubs finish absolutely sh!t faced and calls everyone together and says if the load isn't cleared by midnight we're all on a written warning when someone mentions the time he screams something about "treating me like an idiot" and launches himself at this kid pretty much throw his arms around like a windmill. He gets up says "keep this quiet" and goes into the office and passes out. Funnily enough never saw him again after that.

Had an absolute wagon. I was the only guy who worked in the shop and I was say a middle management level and if I had to say anything to someone below me they would all huddle up in the office and be like teenagers in school having a bit bitching session. You know the type if you could do something two ways the way you'd pick is always wrong. Bit of a ride in all fairness to her though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

My worst manager was the one I had in my first job after graduating from University. He was an affable and inherently decent sort of man, but was hopelessly out of his depth when it came to managing and mentoring a team of young finance graduates.

He had moved up through the ranks of the bank I worked in by not offending anyone, and seemed to think there was no issue that couldn’t be resolved by heading out for a round of golf with one of the team. The place was a joke. The whole operation was extremely inefficient; IT systems were antiquated and completely unfit for purpose; he had little idea on how to improve staff morale or drive operational efficiencies from either the top or the bottom. Within a couple of weeks many of my colleagues were wandering into the place after 9.30, bleary-eyed with lack of sleep because they were ‘out on the tear’ the night before. I was there to start a career, not to stew away those early and vital years by being part of a team managed by a man who was completely incompetent.

I decided that speaking to the man himself about his managerial short-comings was an exercise in futility, so I arranged a meeting with the head of the entire unit – a man who reported directly to the C-Suite at the time. Told him my concerns, and offered a number of suggestions as to how our team could work more efficiently by simply making small changes in how the bid process was handled by our back-office teams. An external consultant was hired by the bank to work with the manager on carrying on a root and branch review of the entire team. The changes were immediate and, for the most part, effective.

I left the bank after 9 months as I decided my career goals and objectives weren’t going to be realised sitting at a desk in the financial backwater that is the IFSC. So I utilised my proficiency in German and moved to Frankfurt.

My manager took early retirement from the bank, and I’m told he remains as scatter-brained in retirement as he was in work.

Well aren't you great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

cml387 wrote: »
    Well aren't you great.

Thank you. I don't think about that period of my life too much, but looking back I really do think I made a difference to how that unit was run. Productivity and profitability increased, and we weren't one of the parts of the business in the 'firing line' when the Plain People of Ireland came looking to blame 'the bankers' for all their personal recklessness when it came to borrowing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Tompatrick

Thank you. I don't think about that period of my life too much, but looking back I really do think I made a difference to how that unit was run. Productivity and profitability increased, and we weren't one of the parts of the business in the 'firing line' when the Plain People of Ireland came looking to blame 'the bankers' for all their personal recklessness when it came to borrowing.

Where was that ? US shop? PFPC? Citi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

The worst manager I had kept walking off in the middle of a sentence. "Can you go and get me a..." and she'd walk off and come back about 20 minutes later and say "where's the yoke I asked for?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Nothing worse in work when the word "fun" is used - actually that's a sure sign of a shíte place to work, when the add says "XXXX a FUN place to work¨

Can be guaranfúckingteed it will be a hell to work there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Dubkent

When I was 16 and 17 I worked in a corner shop in a city which was owned by husband and wife and were around 70.
    All nice for the first week and then proceeded to call me rhubarb as I've red hair. Anyway started getting worse and worse and he used to call me into his sitting daily and start abusing me calling me every name under with curse words, saying I was useless and wouldnt get anywhere in life. He used to crud in a bucket beside his chair and I'd have to clean it, he used to piss in the kitchen sink.
    When customers came into the shop he sometimes used to stand near me at the counter and start growling and making funny noises and everyone in the shop would be freaked out.
    He had a bell on the door linked to his sitting room and if he was in the middle of eating he would say to the customer, excuse me I'm eating bye bye or ull have to wait I'm finishing my soup in a put on posh accent.
    If the shop was extremely busy he'd say **** this were closed and hunt everyone out.
    The only reason the shop was busy as people got a kick out of it to see what he would do next.

I never took it to heart, was an oul bollox but found it entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Late 90s..was told to catalogue a load of books by my then boss...

Asked if wanted the details recorded on computer...

No. Wanted them handwritten into a notepad

What if we get more books in the future, I asked....get another notepad, do it all over again

Sweet Jebus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Dubkent wrote: »
    When I was 16 and 17 I worked in a corner shop in a city which was owned by husband and wife and were around 70.
    All nice for the first week and then proceeded to call me rhubarb as I've red hair. Anyway started getting worse and worse and he used to call me into his sitting daily and start abusing me calling me every name under with curse words, saying I was useless and wouldnt get anywhere in life. He used to crud in a bucket beside his chair and I'd have to clean it, he used to piss in the kitchen sink.
    When customers came into the shop he sometimes used to stand near me at the counter and start growling and making funny noises and everyone in the shop would be freaked out.
    He had a bell on the door linked to his sitting room and if he was in the middle of eating he would say to the customer, excuse me I'm eating bye bye or ull have to wait I'm finishing my soup in a put on posh accent.
    If the shop was extremely busy he'd say **** this were closed and hunt everyone out.
    The only reason the shop was busy as people got a kick out of it to see what he would do next.

I never took it to heart, was an oul bollox but found it entertaining.

crud in a bucket ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭via4

Had a few bad ones working in retail they use to lock us in the shop until all the clothes were perfect and you would not get paid for example shop closed at 9pm if you got out at 10.30pm you were not getting paid for the hour and a half extra. Also another one lost the head because I was ten minutes late got a big lecture and when I explained the only reason I was late was because the whole city shut down for the queen and they were not letting anyone across the road until she passed otherwise I would have been early and she said that wasn't good enough that I should have known this which I didn't know that that was going to happen. I lasted six weeks there some girls only lasted a week before quitting was madness when I look back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

A worker had to go home and left his PC running.
    The new head of Finance and IT phoned me.
    How did he turn off the PC?

He was in another location five miles from me.
    I didn't want him to pull the plug/switch off the power without asking what was on screen. Then I told him to hit "Enter". What? Hit carriage return. What?
    Do you see the "a" on the keyboard? Yes. Look right. Do you see the "g,h,j,k,l"? Do you see the big key to the right of the #? Yes.
    Hit that.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

A manager for one of my clients, so nt really a manager I've had, just one I've come accross.
    Organise a conference call, start the proceedings after about 30 minutes of trying to find this manager and get everyone else lined up.
    Discuss a major talking point for about 20 minutes. Continue to next agenda items.
    The manager then loudly stops what we are talking about and needs to discuss the major talking point. We talked about it already for 20 minutes but need to go over it all again as he was either asleep or playing snake on his phone.
    This can happen 2 or 3 times in the same conf call.
    Absolute time sink.