Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NCT and Dog Hairs

• 27-08-2015 3:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭

Just a warning to all you guys transporting dogs in your car's etc.
    I'm literally just back from the NTC centre with my wife where her car was refused the NTC due to the presence of dog hairs on the car carpet.
    Now she has her seats covered in leatherette so the seats where clean and it was only an issue with the carpet.
    So after talking to the supervisor we where informed that they will no longer test cars with dog hairs in case the tester transfers hairs from one car to another.
    This is relevantly new policy as I had my car done earlier in the year.

So, although understandable be warned if your toting dogs, deer etc in your vehicle make sure it's well detailed before the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭the scudd

doubt i,m fooked next time my motor is up for the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭lakesider

the scudd wrote: »
    doubt i,m fooked next time my motor is up for the test

never hear of a hoover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Tester is right, it's not right being expected to sit into someone else's filth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Heavy handed

Since when did animal hairs have anything to do with road worthiness. Nct is gone to the dogs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭ejabrod

Does it say this in the charter or anywhere on the website?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Car is expected to be clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭REXER

Tester is right, it's not right being expected to sit into someone else's filth.

Why would the tester need to sit on the carpet? :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

50 quid in the ashtray usually sorts out the whole car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭TOMP

No Canine Traces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,442 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

jebus, now i have to stop transporting the cows in the car. what next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

50 quid in the ashtray usually sorts out the whole car
    Them days are gone unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

So why don't they just put a disposable plastic car seat cover over the drivers seat the same way they do for most UK MOT's. It keeps any muck from the testers clothes off the seat and any muck on the seat off the tester?

my3cents wrote: »
    So why don't they just put a disposable plastic car seat cover over the drivers seat the same way they do for most UK MOT's. It keeps any muck from the testers clothes off the seat and any muck on the seat off the tester?

But the problem was the floor and possibly transfer as hair/furr can circulate.

Testers get oil on their shoes/boots and those covers can be fitted to cover the carpets they are only a plastic sheet, its not rocket science.

Maybe its fleas they are worried about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭REXER

Damn, that's inflation for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Maybe its fleas they are worried about.

Seeing that any of them I see are scratching themselves on different parts of their anatomny at any given time during the test. I'd say they must be well infested already.:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Just back in.

To clarify for some the issue was with the carpet not the seats.....

When we queried the refusal with the supervisor and suggested that there could be a degree of personal interpretation in regards to a decision to refuse a test, he said they where under orders from head office.

As to the acceptable level of cleanliness regards to dog hairs it was suggested we use cellotape to remove them from the carpet.
    If the car had a thick layer of dog hair on the carpet I would in all honesty have accepted the decision and be content to post a warning to others here. But to be told that the car was refused inspection on dog hairs caught in the fibres of the rear passenger foot wells beggars belief.

Testers get oil on their shoes/boots and those covers can be fitted to cover the carpets they are only a plastic sheet, its not rocket science.

Have you been in a centre they are cleaner then a hospital and the overalls look like they have never been worn.

And no ones ever thought that they could get on and do their job on a less than perfectly clean car and then change their overalls?

2 weeks ago put a a6 thru the test needing rear lens and cv joint, and cat was fcuked so made phone call, 50 quid and passed. Days aren't long gone man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭MrTom1

twice ive pushed my jeep and car throw the nct and doe and passed lmao :pac: days are still working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Ashbx

OP, did they refuse to give you the test or fail you?

Ugh that's a load of crap. I do not understand what affect that has on your driving or the quality of the car. Im shocked that was even an issue that was brought up. My dogs are in my car nearly on a daily basis and my collie leaves a furball the size of a small dog behind her....im screwed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭.243

what next,
    will they be refusing farmers jeeps and cattle trucks in a d.o.e :rolleyes:

Ashbx wrote: »
    OP, did they refuse to give you the test or fail.....

They refused to do the test.......seemingly other customers complained of cross contamination of dog hairs from one car to another.
    Letters of complaints and further clarification are on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

Oh my god thats made me mad!!!, we're being ripped off enough with this stupid test. A few dog hairs on the carpet and selotape to remove them!!!!!! Ive heard it all now. The bloody tester needs to clean himself off then and stop contaminating other cars. If I get hit with this crap ...... Ive 3 dogs who travel in the car and while I'd present the car for a test very clean, I can't get every single dog hair off the bloody floor.

This is most definately "Talk to Joe" material..:) Putting a disposeable plastic seat cover on your car seat by a mechanic as well as disposable floor matting is common sense and courtsey.Doesnt matter how clean your over alls or boots are ,you will still pick up crud in a garage no matter what ,especially when doing underbody work or inspections.Last time I had mine done,I left the NCT centre with some failed grease monkeys dirty paw print on the side door pillar trim.:mad:Took ages to clean the grease off as it is a cloth material.So them giving out about dog hair is enough to make the fish laugh!

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

2 weeks ago put a a6 thru the test needing rear lens and cv joint, and cat was fcuked so made phone call, 50 quid and passed. Days aren't long gone man
    Used to be able to get away with that in Ballymun, the last time my da did it the 50 was still there and he failed , that prime time programme put a lot of heat on them, none of them are mechanics ,its only a minimum paid job.

Heard this definition in a garage of an NCT inspector.
    "A mechanic who found the mechanical side of the job too difficult and found box ticking easier."
    Other definitions are rather unprintable here.:)

Well I do pre NCT checks in my job using same equipment they use in NCT with full reports and there is cars that I failed on loads of faults that passed in the actual test centre.
    Has you thinking of what clowns are really in the test centre doing the tests. If they're even bothered to do full tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

The issue has to be back logs and using any excuse not to do a test!

I have mine next week, gonna have to get rid of the grizzly in the back seat before then!

Just back from a NCT refusal again....... this time my 4x4.

Leather (..ish) seats frount and back, removable floor mats and guess what.
    Refusal for dog hairs at rear seats, along the carpet edge of the foot well..... same old story......risk of allergies and cross contamination blah blah blah.

Sine my last posting, NCT refusal and failures where brought up in the Dail and a few media articles surfaced each case noting the 'dog hair' issue.

Again the point here is a vague, interpretation that is very much subjective on the behave of the tester.......... funny after the last time and the complaint there was no issue at the same North Dublin centre....

Just back from a NCT refusal again....... this time my 4x4.

Leather (..ish) seats frount and back, removable floor mats and guess what.
    Refusal for dog hairs at rear seats, along the carpet edge of the foot well..... same old story......risk of allergies and cross contamination blah blah blah.

Sine my last posting, NCT refusal and failures where brought up in the Dail and a few media articles surfaced each case noting the 'dog hair' issue.

Again the point here is a vague, interpretation that is very much subjective on the behave of the tester.......... funny after the last time and the complaint there was no issue at the same North Dublin centre....

You knew from previous a quick vacuum would have solved the problem

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Its more than the dog hair, the putrid smell of dogs is vomit inducing. I have to get a work mate to move cars in the garage that are dog owners as I cant stomach the smell. He is a dog owner too and finds his car dont smell at all.

You knew from previous a quick vacuum would have solved the problem

Do you honestly think I went to the test without cleaning the car.....the point of the thread is the vagueness of what's acceptable. Is it 'No Hairs' what so ever or 'A Few Hairs'.
    When questioned about this, both the supervisor and the official written reply couldn't comment, all they repeated was must be clean. Now if any one can enlighten me as to how to remove all traces of dog hair from the carpating of a car then please do.
    Again I repeat myself will I be refused based on trace hairs etc,...... I think I need to get my car waxed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Ashbx

Do you honestly think I went to the test without cleaning the car.....the point of the thread is the vagueness of what's acceptable. Is it 'No Hairs' what so ever or 'A Few Hairs'.
    When questioned about this, both the supervisor and the official written reply couldn't comment, all they repeated was must be clean. Now if any one can enlighten me as to how to remove all traces of dog hair from the carpating of a car then please do.
    Again I repeat myself will I be refused based on trace hairs etc,...... I think I need to get my car waxed....

Agree....my collies hair is fine but the carpet of my car has many MANY of my wiry border terriers hair on it and no amount of hoovering will get them up....unless I pluck each and everyone myself. Maybe that's what we have to do in future!

They are supposed to be testing the reliability of the car. This dog hair rule is a load of b*ll*x.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

I had a mechanic refuse to service the car (while ago now) because he was allergic to dogs. Wouldn't even let it in the garage for someone else to do it.

Springer hair is a curse to get out of the car. He's always kept in the boot, (estate), and there's black plastic bags under that grey non slip stuff with his dog matress on top of that. No matter how much you do to stop it, one shake and they're flying all over the car.
    1 1/2 solid hard hours of hoovering to get them all out, the boot taking up most time, even got the tweezers out - passed the NCT tho :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

From what I've seen of the NCT, the guys aren't really getting down on their knees and inspecting the cleanliness of the car before they get in and start the test.

If, when they look in, they are seeing enough dog hairs, then the car isn't that clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

I'm a dog owner and they go into the boot are of the zafira if they come out with me. I do this because:

1) I have kids and keeping them clean is difficult enough without allowing dogs onto the back seats.
    2) While the car is mine, I think it's very unfair to expect someone to sit into my car and get dog hairs and smell on them.
    3) Its much safer having the dogs in the very rear of the car. If I don't have a suitable car for transporting my dogs, I just don't bring them, Or I cover the back seats with a big blanket to keep them clean and hair free.

The nct guys are entitled to work in a clean environment and not to be subjected to pet hairs, junk food wrappers and whatever else people leave in their car. If you allow your dog into the car, then that might mean plucking every hair out of the carpet one by one. It's nothing to do with vehicle safety, but they can refuse to test a car if (in their opinion) is unclean. Seems harsh, but I see where they are coming from.

Tape or a brissle brush

Thanks, a deck scrubber is what I use and then a trashing with a fine hover nozzle. My car passed last year without a hitch, but didn't even get to the starting block this year despite my usual NCT routine.
    That was the joke between my wife and I last year, her run around got busted for dog hairs, while my yoke which sees deer carcasses, hundreds of pigeons, smelly dogs and mucky boots never got pinged. So you can see my annoyance when I got refused this year.

Just another item on the ever growing list of bullsh1t imposed by the NCT that's making it harder and harder to pass older but sound cars.

.......pass the tweezers and cellotape.......sigh! (reminds me of recruit training again.)

I wonder if they'd test it if you stripped out all the carpets and just put covers on the seats?

Thanks, a deck scrubber is what I use and then a trashing with a fine hover nozzle. My car passed last year without a hitch, but didn't even get to the starting block this year despite my usual NCT routine.
    That was the joke between my wife and I last year, her run around got busted for dog hairs, while my yoke which sees deer carcasses, hundreds of pigeons, smelly dogs and mucky boots never got pinged. So you can see my annoyance when I got refused this year.

Just another item on the ever growing list of bullsh1t imposed by the NCT that's making it harder and harder to pass older but sound cars.

.......pass the tweezers and cellotape.......sigh! (reminds me of recruit training again.)

I understand what you mean.
    Suppose some may not like animals and stuff like that will put them off.

I wonder if they'd test it if you stripped out all the carpets and just put covers on the seats?

Was thinking more a CSI type job, covering the floor in plastic taped at the seams,.....though me thinks the Guards would be more of an issue then an overly sensitive tester....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Springwell

Cheaper to buy a dogbox from somewhere like trans k9 or Lintran or a crate....no hairs in the car as they're all contained in the box!!

Springwell wrote: »
    Cheaper to buy a dogbox from somewhere like trans k9 or Lintran or a crate....no hairs in the car as they're all contained in the box!!

You can never have owned a dog that sheds fine hair all the time. We've a JRT that can transfer white hair by telepathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Springwell

You can never have owned a dog that sheds fine hair all the time. We've a JRT that can transfer white hair by telepathy.

I've got 5 springers - they're shedding monsters but the box I have is solid for 18" with bars/mesh above it keeps the vast majority of hair in the box and a rubber boot liner under it stops anything getting to the carpet