Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving without insurance disc - awaiting disc from insurer

• 26-08-2015 10:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭

Got new car insured Tuesday night. Obviously have no disc to display but have printed off proof from insurer that car is insured and have it in the glovebox in case I get stopped.

My question is, if I did get stopped, would proof of insurance be enough to get me a 10 day grace period to produce the disc at my local station? Should have it by end of the week in any case.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

Yep, should be enough. You would have 10 days to produce at Garda Station alright. I'm sure the guards come across it all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

As long as you have proof on you that it's insured, then you should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I should say so. If it was me, I wouldn't worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,095 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

LpPepper wrote: »

Got new car insured Tuesday night. Obviously have no disc to display but have printed off proof from insurer that car is insured and have it in the glovebox in case I get stopped.

My question is, if I did get stopped, would proof of insurance be enough to get me a 10 day grace period to produce the disc at my local station? Should have it by end of the week in any case.

yeah you'll be grand

probably best to avoid on street parking in case you get a ticket while you're not there, but a printoff of the insurance confirmation will do until the disk arrives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭coffeepls

Yes - but if you want peace of mind on that just give your insurance company a ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

LpPepper wrote: »

Your legal obligation to display insurance disc, starts only 10 days after obtaining insurance policy.
    You don't need to display it within first 10 days.
    That's the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

You're not required to show an insurance disc within 10 days after taking out insurance.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1984/en/si/0355.html
    5. (1) When a vehicle is used in a public place the insurance disc for the vehicle shall be carried on the vehicle at all times after the expiry of 10 days from the date of authentication of the certificate of insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Guards can always check on the National Big Brother System (NBBS) if the car is insured or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Phone your insurance. They can provide a letter confirming you're insured. If you ask nicely they might email it to you. Keep it in the glove box. Be grand.

Worked for me.

Guards can always check on the National Big Brother System (NBBS) if the car is insured or not
    That system has been famously out of date mainly due to complacency by insurers, I wouldn't rely on that being up to date yet.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0503/698472-gardai-database/

The OP should have got confirmation of the policy commencement on the webpage and probably by email. A copy of this confirmation will help show he has a policy though obviously the Gardai will later require the actual certificate within 10 days of being stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

Just be careful parking in a public place as a warden could ticket you for not displaying the disc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

Stoolbend wrote: »
    Just be careful parking in a public place as a warden could ticket you for not displaying the disc.

That is for tax not insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Think it depends on the guard tbh. If you got one who was determined to get you then I'd imagine he could for no disc displayed. You'd have had to really piss him off though

Edit

Can traffic wardens cite for insurance disc not displayed ? They can for tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

What happens with tax? i just bought a car..Taxbook not yet arrived...if i get done by a warden for no tax disc have i a leg to stand on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

akelly02 wrote: »
    What happens with tax? i just bought a car..Taxbook not yet arrived...if i get done by a warden for no tax disc have i a leg to stand on?

You can appeal it. Is there a tax disc in the window? if not you can still be done for non display irrespective of where the logbook is.

Think it depends on the guard tbh. If you got one who was determined to get you then I'd imagine he could for no disc displayed. You'd have had to really piss him off though

Edit

Can traffic wardens cite for insurance disc not displayed ? They can for tax

If you're referring to the insurance disc you can't be prosecuted for non-display within the first 10 days after taking out the policy. If you still have no insurance disc after 10 days then you're fair game.

I understand Traffic Wardens have no powers for insurance offences, just parking and tax offences.

obezyana wrote: »
    You can appeal it. Is there a tax disc in the window? if not you can still be done for non display irrespective of where the logbook is.

there is a disc but its out since jan. i bought the car last fri still no sign of tax book

akelly02 wrote: »
    there is a disc but its out since jan. i bought the car last fri still no sign of tax book
    Walk into your local Motor Tax office and get your disc on the spot. Log book is not required.
    http://www.environ.ie/en/LocalGovernment/MotorTax/Renewal/

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Walk into your local Motor Tax office and get your disc on the spot. Log book is not required.
    http://www.environ.ie/en/LocalGovernment/MotorTax/Renewal/

Like the way you said walk. It would take me about 15 hours to walk in haha