Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So we've made into the top 5 in the world

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Top 5 in Europe (plus the US for some reason), not the world.

Stupid article anyway. 853 of every 1000 adults in Ireland have drunk alcohol in the past year. Is this a concern?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭RichardCeann

We have exported a lot of our young talent abroad or sent them out on loan. When they come back we should be pushing for the automatic champions league places or maybe even a crack at the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

These ranking systems are flawed. They are based on consistency, and not individual performance. We go up against teams like France who produce far greater quality year-in, year-out. How can we compete with sumptuous Sauvignon Blancs coming locally, when we only have Kilkenny Ales and craft beers? We need to start investing at grass roots level and begin developing a culture of top quality, working with local communities and getting the schools involved. Then, and only then can we compete at the highest levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭When the Sun Hits

A stock image of a drug user chopping cocaine is pictured

Thank you Mr. Journalist, we were just too stupid to figure that out by ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

no data for the UK and Northern Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

I'm not even in the top 5 in my family for alcohol and drug use and I'm a heavy user.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭Treepole

no data for the UK and Northern Ireland

Maybe there is but you're just too high and drunk to notice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

how did norway top the chart

we'd drink them under the table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,823 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

This implies the economy is indeed doing better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It says nothing about volume, just about frequency. I.e. did you have a drink in the last year.

Which is really only useful for tracking the amount of non-drinkers there are and completely useless for tracking alcohol abuse or health figures.

Falthyron wrote: »
    These ranking systems are flawed. They are based on consistency, and not individual performance. We go up against teams like France who produce far greater quality year-in, year-out. How can we compete with sumptuous Sauvignon Blancs coming locally, when we only have Kilkenny Ales and craft beers? We need to start investing at grass roots level and begin developing a culture of top quality, working with local communities and getting the schools involved. Then, and only then can we compete at the highest levels.

i agree, the system is unfair,

they'd get an awful headstart on us as we aren't allowed drink after 11.30, and we aren't allow buy cans etc till 12;30 on a sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Where do we rank in the tea drinking leagues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

cdeb wrote: »

Stupid article anyway. 853 of every 1000 adults in Ireland have drunk alcohol in the past year. Is this a concern?

The other 147 lied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

i agree, the system is unfair,

they'd get an awful headstart on us as we aren't allowed drink after 11.30, and we aren't allow buy cans etc till 12;30 on a sunday

The seeding system is the main problem. If we were considered a tier 1 seeded country we would be up against lesser quality teams and have a better chance at making the semis or even the final.

As Richard Ceann pointed out, most of our best talent is out on loan in Australia, Canada, Dubai and the U.K. When things pick back up here, they will come home and I reckon we will have a great shot at the title. Sure, they are out there getting good experience, and when its time they will come back home and put in a shift or two.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭custard gannet

15 Irish people per thousand used cocaine within the past year.

That would equate to just over 15,000 or so in Dublin, at least once, in a single year.

There are individual suburbs of Dublin which would have that many who have used within the past year, let alone the entire city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

We should be in the top 3, no doubt in mind. I'm putting the blame for this on the youth of Ireland. Ok, we all like our weed and yokes and whatnot, and of course we all partook as young lads but we never forgot about the main team. Booze can be a harsh one to master sure and it demands a lot. It's not as easy as popping a pill, you need to put in the time and effort. But today's kids with their smartphones and instagram, they want the instant buzz.

I propose a government initiative to have the Gardai chill out on cracking down on bushing/knacker-drinking. If we give the youth the space, I think we'll see much better results in the league next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭questionmark?

cdeb wrote: »

The concerning part was that only 147 people were to pissed to answer the question the other 853 aren't drinking enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Were at number 5 for alcohol use, Number 4 for cocaine and 5 for opioid.

We really should be aiming for number 1, can we all try a little harder this year.

Logic tells me to stick with cocaine. It's a shorter race to the finish line.

*snort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Going to get some cans in quick. Maybe a slab. It's in the national interest. Would ye at least sing "The Fields of Athenry" to give us a bit of a lift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I think we need a Session Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

I honestly think someone is telling porkies in that study, especially when Italy doesn't even feature near the top when it comes to cocaine and alcohol.

A few years ago, relevant traces of cocaine were found in the river Po and Tevere (where unfortunately some of the big cities sewer systems end up), suggesting consumption was actually four times higher than official figures say - we're talking 27 users on 1000 people, nearly double the Irish reported data.

For alcohol, I'll never believe the figure for one moment - while it is true that there is less of a culture of "drinking just to get drunk" or "going out to drink your socks off", it's also true that alcohol consumption is more widespread during the day and the population; Having a couple of glasses of wine or beer at lunch is considered more or less normal, rinse and repeat (probably doubling the dose) for dinner and so on. It's also not uncommon for "senior underage" (15-16-17 years olds) to actually have access to wine and/or beer, even at home, while ID checking in clubs/bars/restaurants is never done. Go on a night out in Rome, Milan or Naples, and you'll find yourself surrounded by secondary school kids.

So, take the figures with a big pinch of salt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

ANYONE ANY YOKES?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

davmol wrote: »
    ANYONE ANY YOKES?

Ask an 18yr old there back in fashion by all accounts. Set you back a mighty €10 euros though, 50 cent back in my day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Ask an 18yr old there back in fashion by all accounts. Set you back a mighty €10 euros though, 50 cent back in my day.

25 punts for the auld mind benders back in my day ... jaysus

The seeding system is the main problem. If we were considered a tier 1 seeded country we would be up against lesser quality teams and have a better chance at making the semis or even the final.

As Richard Ceann pointed out, most of our best talent is out on loan in Australia, Canada, Dubai and the U.K. When things pick back up here, they will come home and I reckon we will have a great shot at the title. Sure, they are out there getting good experience, and when its time they will come back home and put in a shift or two.

lol

they'll probably b disqualified,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭RichardCeann

c_man wrote: »
    We should be in the top 3, no doubt in mind. I'm putting the blame for this on the youth of Ireland. Ok, we all like our weed and yokes and whatnot, and of course we all partook as young lads but we never forgot about the main team. Booze can be a harsh one to master sure and it demands a lot. It's not as easy as popping a pill, you need to put in the time and effort. But today's kids with their smartphones and instagram, they want the instant buzz.

The young lads don't have the same dedication and commitment these days, Bill. Too much money. In my day you went out there with your bag of cans and did your stuff. Keep it simple.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

c_man wrote: »

I propose a government initiative to have the Gardai chill out on cracking down on bushing/knacker-drinking. If we give the youth the space, I think we'll see much better results in the league next year.

Blame it on the youth all you want. The fact is that we could not make the top 3 and we had Shane McGowan on our team. Its the way things have gone. The old guard are past their prime. The likes of Richard Harris or Peter O'Toole are no longer with us. The future looks bleak. I predict this time next year we don't even make the top 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Have we even any professional level drinkers left besides Shane I can't think of one?

Brendan Courtney and Pany Bliss would probably make the A team the sport is at such a low.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

all that "we" caper is something i don't understand, Russell Brand shares my opinion on it, in his youutbe videos he often pokes fun at politicians who stand behind flegs and come out with quotes like "we must stand together as a nation"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Maybe we are all just off our faces with the coke and drink, this may all be in our collective trip and we really are top of the world, we just don't realise that we are on all the drugs cause we are constantly baked off our bin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

Try me:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Try me:)

Challenge Accepted.

Also, Poll is stupid. Poles, Czechs and other Slavics drink as much as the Irish. They just spend a tenth of the money on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Archeron

syklops wrote: »
    Challenge Accepted.

Round one. FIGHT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

syklops wrote: »
    Challenge Accepted.

Also, Poll is stupid. Poles, Czechs and other Slavics drink as much as the Irish. They just spend a tenth of the money on it.

As it says within the last year,its bolloxks.
    However last time i drank aquavit with an Irishman,he woke up in my bathtub next day,are you sure you are up for it,lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

We need to invest more in our youth, proper facilties and training programs. We need to get the experienced drinkers on board to train up the youth. Letting lads into fields at 16 with a few cans of Dutch is where we are losing this. We need them in the pub from 13 years old for a solid 3-4 hours a day to build up the resistance.