Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aero Helmet for Fitness/Sportive cycling.

• 23-08-2015 12:30PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭

I love the look of the Giro Air Attack helmet (non visor model) and was only one click away from buying one when I backed out for fear of ridicule. I don't race or do TT's and am unlikely to ever take them up, so it would only be used for training/fitness and the odd sportive. I currently have a BBB kite which I love as it's very light (240g) and looks good with its larger and less vents. So is the Air Attack only a helmet that should be wore in races/TT's or is it acceptable for every day non-competitive use? Would you roll your eyes if you seen some just very average cyclist wearing one while out on their normal weekend spin???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,764 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

I love the look of the Giro Air Attack helmet (non visor model) and was only one click away from buying one when I backed out for fear of ridicule. I don't race or do TT's and am unlikely to ever take them up, so it would only be used for training/fitness and the odd sportive. I currently have a BBB kite which I love as it's very light (240g) and looks good with its larger and less vents. So is the Air Attack only a helmet that should be wore in races/TT's or is it acceptable for every day non-competitive use? Would you roll your eyes if you seen some just very average cyclist wearing one while out on their normal weekend spin???

If you want one buy it, people in all walks of life buy stuff they don't use to potential, sports cars, motorbikes, bicycles etc etc.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Why do you want an aero helmet for training/sportives?

A normal helmet will not only be cheaper, but probably a lot more comfortable given the fact many aero options are likely to be heavier and less ventilated

I've got a number of aero options, some of which are track specific, but I will only use them when I am looking to shave a few seconds off my time

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

No, just no...

RobFowl wrote: »
    No, just no...

The Air Attack is just a normal helmet with a bit of added aero and it looks cool, imo, its not like he wants to go full pointy hat here!

71L2nWseRQL._SX425_.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Inquitus wrote: »
    The Air Attack is just a normal helmet with a bit of added aero and it looks cool, imo, its not like he wants to go full pointy hat here!

Even still No, just no.....

What's your view on people riding Sportives with deep dish wheels then, the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

71L2nWseRQL._SX425_.jpg

Needs more batman stickers

What's your view on people riding Sportives with deep dish wheels then, the same?

Wannabe Freds

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Rob's a triathlete remember.....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Christ no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Beasty wrote: »
    Why do you want an aero helmet for training/sportives?

A normal helmet will not only be cheaper, but probably a lot more comfortable....

I like the look of the Air Attack, it's not an all out aero helmet, it's regular shape just with less vents.

It's reduced at the moment and so not expensive at all.

Reviews say its very comfortable and not overly 'warm'

Beasty wrote: »
    Rob's a triathlete remember.....:pac:

Didn't Rob place in A4 yesterday if I have my boardsie names right? Not bad for a Triathlete?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

New Met Rivale looks great... But if you're asking if you get any advantage doing a bit of normal cycling.. prob not, they don't have any advantage unless you're going 35kph+

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    New Met Rivale looks great... But if you're asking if you get any advantage doing a bit of normal cycling.. prob not, they don't have any advantage unless you're going 35kph+

No not interested in any aero advantage, it's purely for the look of it and it might be a bit warmer in winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I just ordered one of these, Casco Speedster
    106761_00_d.jpg
    Visor optional. I had been looking at the Air attack but this one has a bit more ventilation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,045 ✭✭✭fat bloke

A helmet is a helmet. Buy it if you like it. If we all took a look at our amateur selves in the mirror and cast a sober eye over what we "need", we'd have no exotic toys at all.

Do I need to put my golf gti on done deal as well? Sure isn't a 1.4 good enough for me to go to Tesco and back? And what about my Nike runners? I don't run y'know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Derrydingle

Just buy the helmet if you really want it go for it . It's like when people point the finger at someone for wearing say the bmc jersey.its just gear that you like at the end of the day forget about other people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Junior

At least consider one of the better performing aero helmets http://www.bontrager.com/model/13222

Jaysus lads, are ye going cycling or spelunking ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Poc Octal Aero or the Bontrager Ballista would be my picks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Zyzz wrote: »
    Poc Octal Aero or the Bontrager Ballista would be my picks :)

I wanted to like the Ballista and all the science says to like it but I tried one on and hate it. I know the science will disagree but I much rather the Sworks Evade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Pablo Rubio

I have the giro Air Attack. I think it doesnt look that great ,but it is really comfortable and feels really light. I had an S Works prevail but got rid of that because it didnt feel good (looked great though).
    Not really too bothered about the aero aspects of the air attack but the wind noise around my ears is less(IMHO). as regarding being a warmer helmet in winter , I wouldnt be so sure as the vents seem to force the air through the channels inside and keep it pretty cool. The strap and adjuster system are pretty comfy and light too. Wasn't sure about it at first , but love it now. bit of a Bovril scenario, some love it some hate it.
    Also easiest helmet I've had to clean after a race.

By the way, wear/cycle what you like and feck everyone else. If its your money spend it on what makes you happy , better than giving it all to local pub owner.

• Site Banned Posts: 638 ✭✭✭imurdaddy

OP, I agree with the above, buy and wear what you like! Never mind talk of freds and bs, you earned the money spend it as you see fit and enjoy, I know when im out cycling I dont be taking fashion notes on what other riders are or are not wearing of riding. Anyway its a normal helmet with a few vent less! And all our bikes & equipment is a trickle down from professional racing, aero helmets and bikes just one of the latest.

imurdaddy wrote: »
    OP, I agree with the above, buy and wear what you like! Never mind talk of freds and bs, you earned the money spend it as you see fit and enjoy, I know when im out cycling I dont be taking fashion notes on what other riders are or are not wearing of riding. Anyway its a normal helmet with a few vent less! And all our bikes & equipment is a trickle down from professional racing, aero helmets and bikes just one of the latest.

Blasphemer....

Had to have a sit down sipping my expresso after reading that.

I procrastinated and procrastinated some more and then after watching it come down to £52 this morning I procrastinated for another while and then decided ok, i'll buy it and went to do so but the feckin thing has gone back up to £144 so there ends that. I'll stick with my BBB for now :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

Saw a guy yesterday morning on Temple Street, wearing a helmet, a German WWII Helmet!
    Still not a odd as the guy in full hurling club get up including the helmet on the Lower Road in Lucan last summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

I have the giro Air Attack. I think it doesnt look that great ,but it is really comfortable and feels really light. I had an S Works prevail but got rid of that because it didnt feel good (looked great though).
    Not really too bothered about the aero aspects of the air attack but the wind noise around my ears is less(IMHO). as regarding being a warmer helmet in winter , I wouldnt be so sure as the vents seem to force the air through the channels inside and keep it pretty cool. The strap and adjuster system are pretty comfy and light too. Wasn't sure about it at first , but love it now. bit of a Bovril scenario, some love it some hate it.
    Also easiest helmet I've had to clean after a race.

By the way, wear/cycle what you like and feck everyone else. If its your money spend it on what makes you happy , better than giving it all to local pub owner.
    whats wrong with giving it to the local pub owner, he might need a new helmet too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭Doc07

Blasphemer....

Had to have a sit down sipping my expresso after reading that.

I had to sit down with my 'espresso' after reading that.😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

I have two. I use one for commuting and one for cx. Damn the begrudgers (and RobFowl).

I picked up my second one last week on amazon for about 60 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Pablo Rubio

Bloggsie wrote: »
    whats wrong with giving it to the local pub owner, he might need a new helmet too!

Don't give him all I said. Give him some , especially if he sponsors your club!!

lennymc wrote: »
    I have two. I use one for commuting and one for cx. Damn the begrudgers (and RobFowl).

I picked up my second one last week on amazon for about 60 euro.

2 of these will actually be useful !

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TCgdhQ9M0bw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

EiselBongo.gif