Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is it with dickhead drivers swerving into oncoming traffic?

• 22-08-2015 9:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭

I must have seen this happen 6 or 7 times this week, and I was only on the road for a total of 2 hours.
    It's always the same thing that happens-a driver comes up behind a cyclist, and instead of waiting until it is safe to overtake, the driver swerves out into the oncoming traffic without a second thought, even if there is traffic coming against them.

I just witnessed a near fatality a few minutes ago when some drooling halfwit decided to overtake a cyclist going into a blind bend. Of course, a car came along in the opposite direction and had to slam on the brakes to avoid a head on collision.

Now I'm not a cyclist (and I'm not exactly a fan of them to be honest) but some drivers need to get a serious whipping with the cop on stick.

\Rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

See it alot..

Nothing worse than 2 cyclists having a chat while out for a cycle

Go in single file ye cnuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭FallSilently

Similar thing happened to me yesterday, I was driving close to a bus which was in its bus lane, ahead of it was a car turning left, when it came to the turn the bus eased out into my lane to pass him without even looking. Had to slam the brakes.

I honestly can't think of any situation where I haven't been aware of my surroundings to that extent. Bunch of daydreamers.

When bad cyclists meet bad drivers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Christine LaDuchesse

I am always irritated by the drivers that overtake a cyclist by going all the way into the next lane. Totally unnecessary, a cyclist is only taking up 1/8 width on the lane he is in. So going right only 1/8 of the lanes' width is enough.

I am from the Netherlands and there both drivers and cyclist stay in the same lane when a driver wants to overtake, cyclists just know that they have to be on the absolute side of the road and not in the middle of the lane.

I can assure you that Irish drivers would be horrified driving around in a Dutch city. Tens of thousands of cyclist and all being passed by drivers without those drivers giving an inch of extra space. Seeing the erratic way most Irish drivers handle overtaking a cyclist (stalling traffic, instant stops, overtaking very slowly instead of in good speed, which by the way is common behavior in Ireland when overtaking anything, not only cyclists) it is a miracle not more accidents happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

It's because they're soooooo important that they can't possibly be expected to be delayed by a few seconds until they can overtake properly.

Special mention to the people who pull in in front of cyclists so that they can't get by a line of traffic on the inside. I had one of these muppets yesterday. It's terrible to be so jealous of people just because they don't get stuck in traffic jams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Since when is a near crash called a "near fatality?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭statto25

cyclists just know that they have to be on the absolute side of the road and not in the middle of the lane.

Due to the state of the roads and cycle lanes thats just not possible in this country. Drivers need to leave enough space to allow a cyclist to avoid and maybe swerve around the various drains and holes that appear on Irish roads. If a car is that close and a cyclist hits an obstacle, then the cyclist is gonna get hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Specialun wrote: »
    See it alot..

**Made me spit out tea.** :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭fran17

I must have seen this happen 6 or 7 times this week, and I was only on the road for a total of 2 hours.
    It's always the same thing that happens-a driver comes up behind a cyclist, and instead of waiting until it is safe to overtake, the driver swerves out into the oncoming traffic without a second thought, even if there is traffic coming against them.

I just witnessed a near fatality a few minutes ago when some drooling halfwit decided to overtake a cyclist going into a blind bend. Of course, a car came along in the opposite direction and had to slam on the brakes to avoid a head on collision.

Now I'm not a cyclist (and I'm not exactly a fan of them to be honest) but some drivers need to get a serious whipping with the cop on stick.

\Rant

The road is no place for cyclists.

See it alot..

I don't know how many times this has to be said on Boards.ie....Cyclists do not have to cycle in single file.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

I am always irritated by the drivers that overtake a cyclist by going all the way into the next lane. Totally unnecessary, a cyclist is only taking up 1/8 width on the lane he is in. So going right only 1/8 of the lanes' width is enough.

I am from the Netherlands and there both drivers and cyclist stay in the same lane when a driver wants to overtake, cyclists just know that they have to be on the absolute side of the road and not in the middle of the lane.

I can assure you that Irish drivers would be horrified driving around in a Dutch city. Tens of thousands of cyclist and all being passed by drivers without those drivers giving an inch of extra space. Seeing the erratic way most Irish drivers handle overtaking a cyclist (stalling traffic, instant stops, overtaking very slowly instead of in good speed, which by the way is common behavior in Ireland when overtaking anything, not only cyclists) it is a miracle not more accidents happen.

Cyclists should NOT be riding in the gutter. That's a guaranteed way to encourage unsafe overtakes, and to get into trouble with potholes, debris etc.

If you have managed to miss the heavy rotation of these ads on TV for the last two or three years, you might like to have a look now and learn how to overtake safely.

See it alot..

They are doing you a favour, but pity that you haven't the brains to work that out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Tens of thousands of cyclist and all being passed by drivers without those drivers giving an inch of extra space.

My sister has been living in the Netherlands Amsterdam/Haarlem for over 20 years. She's also a cyclist and complains about bad drivers (think it's universal to be honest) - reading the above I think I know why.

https://www.amsterdam.nl/parkeren-verkeer/fiets/cycling-policy/road-safety/

While there are lots of cyclists in the Netherlands - boring flat featureless land is good for something - it's not as if improvements can't be made.

RainyDay wrote: »
    Cyclists should NOT be riding in the gutter. That's a guaranteed way to encourage unsafe overtakes, and to get into trouble with potholes, debris etc.

If you have managed to miss the heavy rotation of these ads on TV for the last two or three years, you might like to have a look now and learn how to overtake safely.

They are doing you a favour, but pity that you haven't the brains to work that out.

Nonsense.By that logic if they went four or five abreast it would be safer still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 436 ✭✭Old Jakey

statto25 wrote: »
    I don't know how many times this has to be said on Boards.ie....Cyclists do not have to cycle in single file.

They should do. Ran into a cycling group the other day, two abreast with a gap, then another two, gap, two more...impossible to overtake. Get of the road ****!

fran17 wrote: »
    Nonsense.By that logic if they went four or five abreast it would be safer still.

Only if you you think cycling on the wrong side of the road would be safe. Think about it. Look at the links you posted, imagine another three cyclists alongside them.

Two together is allowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I love it when irate cyclists come on & give it socks, you're as bad as us bikers for bitching :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Christine LaDuchesse

My sister has been living in the Netherlands Amsterdam/Haarlem for over 20 years. She's also a cyclist and complains about bad drivers (think it's universal to be honest) - reading the above I think I know why.

https://www.amsterdam.nl/parkeren-verkeer/fiets/cycling-policy/road-safety/

While there are lots of cyclists in the Netherlands - boring flat featureless land is good for something - it's not as if improvements can't be made.

Have my license since 1984. Never caused an accident, not in the Netherlands, not in Ireland. I do 30.000K+/year

I have been both a cyclist as well as driver in the Netherlands, in Ireland I only drive my car, as I believe cycling in Ireland is suicide due to the horrible driving style of most Irish drivers, especially the many, many thousands that still have not had proper driving education. L drivers cannot drive on motorways, how are they supposed to handle motorways once they have their license, but were never taught? Irish drivers don't keep enough distance to the car in front of them, are on their mobiles constantly, overtake far too slow, do not accelerate in bends but use the brakes instead, hardly use their indicator, cause they have to hold on to their mobile, come to a full stop at roundabouts and only then start to look if they can access the roundabout, etc, etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

statto25 wrote: »

What if theres a cycle lane ... 2 cyclists but one isnt in the lane?

as I believe cycling in Ireland is suicide due to the horrible driving style of most Irish drivers, especially the many, many thousands that still have not had proper driving education. L drivers cannot drive on motorways, how are they supposed to handle motorways once they have their license, but were never taught? Irish drivers don't keep enough distance to the car in front of them, are on their mobiles constantly, overtake far too slow, do not accelerate in bends but use the brakes instead, hardly use their indicator, cause they have to hold on to their mobile, come to a full stop at roundabouts and only then start to look if they can access the roundabout, etc, etc

Again, from my travels this seems universal.

Only if you you think cycling on the wrong side of the road would be safe. Think about it. Look at the links you posted, imagine another three cyclists alongside them.

Two together is allowed.

But even two abreast and you,as a motorist,find yourself in the opposing lane of traffic.Surely that is not the way forward.I have lost countless minutes on weekend mornings behind packs of middle aged cyclists,on there bicycles which my tax money paid 52% of,two and three abreast.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 436 ✭✭Old Jakey

Have my license since 1984. Never caused an accident, not in the Netherlands, not in Ireland. I do 30.000K+/year

I have been both a cyclist as well as driver in the Netherlands, in Ireland I only drive my car, as I believe cycling in Ireland is suicide due to the horrible driving style of most Irish drivers, especially the many, many thousands that still have not had proper driving education. L drivers cannot drive on motorways, how are they supposed to handle motorways once they have their license, but were never taught? Irish drivers don't keep enough distance to the car in front of them, are on their mobiles constantly, overtake far too slow, do not accelerate in bends but use the brakes instead, hardly use their indicator, cause they have to hold on to their mobile, come to a full stop at roundabouts and only then start to look if they can access the roundabout, etc, etc

You don't complain much do you?

Old Jakey wrote: »
    They should do. Ran into a cycling group the other day, two abreast with a gap, then another two, gap, two more...impossible to overtake. Get of the road ****!

What sort of a gap? Is it a gap that allows the group in front to brake suddenly and still leave the groups behind enough time to stop? Fair play to them if that's the case. Maybe there wouldn't be so many rear end collisions if drivers left a similar amount of space instead to tailgating.