Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it pirate?

• 19-08-2015 10:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭

So with new world pirate stuff, do people still download stuff? I don't have given up to be honest, back 10 years ago downloading endless bollix seemed great, but what a waste of time.

Anyway onto some new world pirate !

Is it pirate if you watch XMBC while having a paid Netflix account and watching videos that are available on both? And what about when you watch videos on XMBC and that the series is not available on Netflix yet or is but in a different region.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Trying to confess something OP?

edit - I believe it technically counts as piracy yes.

Aaaaar tis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭mass_debater

Good luck with finding new releases on Netflix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Yup it is but who cares

Until they remove stupid geo blocks and some platforms getting items first, i dont see why people wouldnt pirate.

I have a netflix account, i had spotify and now apple music, but theres still albums you just cant find on those services so i can see why people still download.

I personally havent downloaded as much as i used to since spotify came along to be honest but it doesnt have everything unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I pirate for the simple reason that Blu Ray rentals are a game of Russian Roulette. When we first got HD and Blu Ray, we rented loads of movies. About half of them had scratches which completely ruined the movie. Switch to downloading because you're guaranteed quality - rental shops have only themselves to blame for not inspecting returned discs before putting them back on the market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

I pirate for the simple reason that Blu Ray rentals are a game of Russian Roulette. When we first got HD and Blu Ray, we rented loads of movies. About half of them had scratches which completely ruined the movie. Switch to downloading because you're guaranteed quality - rental shops have only themselves to blame for not inspecting returned discs before putting them back on the market.

Ok so in this case is it pirate? If you rent the movie pay the cash at the time, ends up you can't watch it so download it online. Technically the company are still getting the money? So its not pirate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

I 'watch' everything online, illegal or legal, I pay my 'tv license' each year, so I'm covered to watch the 4 hours a week of tv I watch. No matter there it is from on the planet.

Be ****ed if I'm paying for sky or upc or whatever else each month.

That's what the government want, right?

Trying to confess something OP?

edit - I believe it technically counts as piracy yes.

I can see where you are coming from, but if I am paying for something on one platform but using another free platform. If the paying platform decides to buy the rights to the stuff I want to watch am I technically not paying for it, in a kind of proxy way? Even if its down the line that they buy the right to it? Like if I don't watch it for a month but pay, and watch what I needed to the month before, surely the company still gets the moneys.

Jaysis its amazing really, big corporations complaining about piracy then company's come up with ways to get them money and keep the users happy, and these greed ****s still come up with ways to piss people off, geo blocks, stage releases.

Netflix have some great home grown stuff, might not be to everyone's liking but its a great start, Ad free, Set fee a month and never any issues.

Also another question I have, do youngsters 14/15/16 still download like I did back in the day? Or is there a new way to pirate, do they even care! There are hardly even any pirate radio stations anymore.

I guess the big media eventually won the battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Is recording a programme on your PVR, usually supplied by a huge multi national, and skipping ads piracy? Then everyone is a pirate, since TV channels use advertising revenue to purchase content.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Nope. Spotify and PC games are the extent of my entertainment needs these days, both of which are affordable and (usually) keep me occupied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Yes, everybody over in the TV forum is actually resident in the US and has multiple subscriptions to HBO, Showtime and Amazon Prime.
    The people discussing movies yet to be released here in the Film forum are all Hollywood insiders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Bought The Magic Whip recently, it was the only music ive bought in a long long time yet my phone is full of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

TallGlass wrote: »
    Ok so in this case is it pirate? If you rent the movie pay the cash at the time, ends up you can't watch it so download it online. Technically the company are still getting the money? So its not pirate.

Interesting point.
    Only trouble with that is the method of downloading - if you use direct Mega links then this is the end of the story. If you torrent, and assuming you're not a dirty bollocks, you seed the file to help others download it at greater speeds. So in that case, you're not only pirating, but aiding piracy.

So I guess in the case of torrenting (which I'd only do if no direct Mega link was available, rare enough occurrence to be fair), even if one regards piracy as moral in response to broken products / crappy user experience (20 minutes of unskippable ads, for instance), it's probably hard to reconcile that with the seeding aspect.

I'm a musician myself and genuinely hope to make money from it, so the fact that I oppose DRM and anti-piracy legislation is probably a bit odd. The reason is two-fold: Firstly, I don't believe the government should have power on the internet, and therefore any legislation which allows the government to shut down a website is something I find morally wrong. The only exception is child porn, and simply because in that particular case both solutions result in a moral wrong and child exploitation is a worse one than ceding government control.

Secondly, I honestly believe that the record labels have created their own armageddon. If they had been the ones to create free downloading services and funded them through advertising (the original Megaupload was making tens of millions of dollars every year before the US government went after it), they could have avoided this entire situation. Instead, they chose to ride into battle against an advancing tide. You do that, you drown. It's their own fault for being out of touch and refusing to even consider reforming their business model until the cat was well and truly out of the bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Find Kodi etc to be a bit hit and miss so would still download a lot of stuff, and I like to have a good quality copy of some things. Also download a lot of books, magazines, comics etc.

Bought my first album in a couple of years last week but only after being unable to find a torrent of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

i download just about everything. films, tv shows, games and books. id prefer to have a good, offline copy of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

TallGlass wrote: »

"I bought a bottle of coke but dropped it and it smashed. So I stole one from the next shop I passed."

Ye may as well have one leg and a parrot on your shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Or is it dancer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Interesting point.
    If you torrent, and assuming you're not a dirty bollocks, you seed the file to help others download it at greater speeds.
    Seeding is for chumps

I've had my fun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Has anyone actually watched a DVD recently?

What a pain in the arse, it takes about 5 minutes to get past all the menus and the previews that the studio prevent you from skipping past

Feck that.

If I have an MP4 file of a movie, when I press play it starts straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I download tv shows mostly soon after they come out in the US, I don't have to watch out for spoiler alerts & wait months to see over here. I mostly watch on my iPad on the train to work.

I would be happy to pay to do this if there was a way which would guarantee up-to-date content.

Netflix is just too far behind and not enough good content, might be an idea if they allowed users to download and watch offline later similar to how 4od do it

Akrasia wrote: »
    Has anyone actually watched a DVD recently?

What a pain in the arse, it takes about 5 minutes to get past all the menus and the previews that the studio prevent you from skipping past

Feck that.

If I have an MP4 file of a movie, when I press play it starts straight away.

yes and you have to watch ads on piracy, the irony being if I had pirated I wouldn't have to sit through the bleedin ad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Netflix is just too far behind and not enough good content, might be an idea if they allowed users to download and watch offline later similar to how 4od do it

You should look in to getting access to the US or Canadian Netflix if the content and delay is your main issue with it. You pay the same and get so much more content much quicker. I thought it was just hype until I saw it on a friend's Xbox. Got access to it within 5 minutes of getting home. Well worth it.

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    You should look in to getting access to the US or Canadian Netflix if the content and delay is your main issue with it. You pay the same and get so much more content much quicker. I thought it was just hype until I saw it on a friend's Xbox. Got access to it within 5 minutes of getting home. Well worth it.

it was the US version I was using alright, same still applies, old and not enough.

Some of Netflix exclusive content was good eg Bloodline but I can download that elsewhere anyhow

I am currently watching
    Mr Robot
    Power
    Tyrant
    Halt & Catch Fire
    Sex Drugs & Rock and Roll
    Kingdom
    Complications

None of these are available here AFAIK (bar Tyrant which is a season behind on RTE)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I use popcorn time, either stream or download for offline use. Tis great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

it was the US version I was using alright, same still applies, old and not enough.

Some of Netflix exclusive content was good eg Bloodline but I can download that elsewhere anyhow

I am currently watching
    Mr Robot
    Power
    Tyrant
    Halt & Catch Fire
    Sex Drugs & Rock and Roll
    Kingdom
    Complications

None of these are available here AFAIK (bar Tyrant which is a season behind on RTE)

I've literally heard of none of them. Ignorance is bliss I suppose :)