Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farmers may have to pay to fix local roads

• 18-08-2015 10:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭

From today's farming indo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Reggie. wrote: »

All I can say is that's from the FINDO, McCullagh et al never miss a chance to drive it into dairy expansion.

People are resigned to low price so they need another bad news story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

All I can say is that's from the FINDO, McCullagh et al never miss a chance to drive it into dairy expansion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

ROAD TAX

Id be scared to imagine how much Road tax an artic tractor unit is a year

Add onto this

2 x DOE test ( 1 x tractor unit, 1 x tanker)
    vat on tyres and repairs on outfit
    vat on diesel
    vat on buying unit and trailer
    PAYE & prsi on drivers wages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Wanting farmers to help fund repair of L roads is like going to the goats hole for wool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

ROAD TAX

Add onto this

vat on diesel

Father runs a artic here and it's crazy the money that goes towards keeping a lorry road legal, the government rake in a fortune in tax revenues of artics that more then covers the precieved damage they are doing to roads, usually burns 6,000 litres a month in diseal so around 1,800 a month in vat alone is paid out to Mr noonan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Was that the main headline on the front page? There mustnt be too much happening if it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

as the ai man said to me a couple months ago the farming indo is most depressing paper in ireland .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Us pay to Fix roads that haven't been re surfaced since the day they were put down, with only a bit of dry mix thrown in to potholes after the council have been badgered to do it for years and not even contemplating sorting the rivers and streams which lead to most of the damage. They can **** right off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Now who wishes they didn't have so much road frontage? ?!!
    Going by the standards of the Co Co in my area if the farmers were given the job of maintenance we'd definitely make an improvement. The neighbouring townlands are under different division and get hedge trimming, concrete dykes, roads widened and straightened. Our crowd shouldnt be left near a road. They don't work to a minimum standard. Disgraceful work in places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Farmers get rode for roads due to watered down water charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I'd have no problem paying for the roads that front us, on condition that I could charge a toll for its usage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Now who wishes they didn't have so much road frontage? ?!!
    Going by the standards of the Co Co in my area if the farmers were given the job of maintenance we'd definitely make an improvement. The neighbouring townlands are under different division and get hedge trimming, concrete dykes, roads widened and straightened. Our crowd shouldnt be left near a road. They don't work to a minimum standard. Disgraceful work in places.

It would be great.

Think how much we could widen them

and put in traffic lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Protected cycle lanes too, kerbed so the lorries can't get at us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Precisely the width of a forage harvester. The rest of the road they have have to themselves, at least we'll be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

most people on bikes in the country need to be mowed down :mad:

dirty feckers, throwing them energy food and drink foil wrappers in ditches everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

ROAD TAX

Add onto this

vat on diesel

Road tax doesn't exist, Motor tax is paid into a general pool from which money is given out to run the country. The money paid in taxes in most rural counties doesn't cover the costs of running the county so no matter how much one individual pays in taxes they are still being subsidised by the cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

the coco decided to resurface our road at the end of the financial year...rush job with, but a lovely smooth finish.
    cyclist love the bloody thing now, lethal in the snow though

Given that refuse collection and now water and sewerage is being taken from the councils remit its only a matter of time before the roads go too. Last year 7 men 2 lorries spent a full 5 days filling and repairing potholes on a stretch of L road less than 2 miles. It wasnt really that bad. The surface or the materials just isnt up to the traffic or weather and is as bad as ever 12 months later. If they applied the same standards as when they hire contractors we'd have grand roads. Widening roads around here usually means filling the dykes with 6" stone and tarring over it. One cloudburst and its like Venice. People have had cars aquaplaning as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

It's like the fucckin "development Levi" that I paid when I was building my house.
    €5 k just to get a bit of paper. Since I was supplying my own water and sewage I asked what was I getting.

"It's to cover wear and tear caused by the extra hgv's drawing goods to the site" I was told. But they all pay through the nose to be hauliers already, just a feckin charge for nothing.

Motor tax needs to be diverted back to being "road tax" like it used to be.

dirty feckers, throwing them energy food and drink foil wrappers in ditches everywhere.

Really? Odd; in the city it's all the drivers throwing their cigarette packets and sweet wrappers out.

Before you mow anyone down, by the way, would you be so kind as to stop and make sure it's not me; I don't use any of those energy foods or drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Really? Odd; in the city it's all the drivers throwing their cigarette packets and sweet wrappers out.

Before you mow anyone down, by the way, would you be so kind as to stop and make sure it's not me; I don't use any of those energy foods or drinks.
    Me either ... nor do our kids.
    I manage teams doing works along roads.. I can tell you, litter is being thrown from cars at an alarming rate.
    And fly-tipping, do you think bikes are carrying 6-8 sacks of rubbish ;)

Someone used to stop his (or maybe her) car outside my suburban house and park there, and clean out the ashtray. I'd regularly have around 30 used cigarette butts and other rubbish on the pavement outside.

taxi's cleaning our their cars and teenagers with their paraphernalia used to be regular culprits
    now its ppl dumping garden waste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I heard him advertising the findo this morning and I wanted to punch the radio. Does that make me a bad person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Sure darragh got out of milking cows. Dont think he was able to hold there attention long enough to get them into the yard for milking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

mf240 wrote: »
    Sure darragh got out of milking cows. Dont think he was able to hold there attention long enough to get them into the yard for milking.

Did he get out already ? I thought he was only starting this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

_Brian wrote: »
    Motor tax needs to be diverted back to being "road tax" like it used to be.

Shur Irish water would run outta funds in about a fortnight if that happened :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Reggie. wrote: »
    I would not get too worried about it. Is that now what the LPT is all about?
    And don't get me started on how the money is going to be divved up.

Not road tax, carbon tax

http://science.howstuffworks.com/environmental/green-science/carbon-tax.htm

designed to cut needless use of fossil fuels. It works - I discovered that my aged car cost €2,000 a year despite not being used much, and junked it.

Not road tax, carbon tax

http://science.howstuffworks.com/environmental/green-science/carbon-tax.htm

designed to cut needless use of fossil fuels. It works - I discovered that my aged car cost €2,000 a year despite not being used much, and junked it.

some ppl upgrade their car thinking they're being eco friendly without thinking of the carbon cost of making the new car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

ganmo wrote: »
    some ppl upgrade their car thinking they're being eco friendly without thinking of the carbon cost of making the new car

Plus the following carbon cost of the discarded car that is shipped overseas inevitably as well.

ganmo wrote: »

Tis true. I upgraded myself, taking to the bike despite the danger of people suggesting it would be good for me to be "mowed down".

Well if i have to pay for road maintenance I should have a say in who does the maintenance. Certainly not the shovel minding mopes that we have around here. They are the biggest waste of money in my mind. 2 speeds dead slow amd stop.
    Times have moved on, traffic is much heavier but the councils are still using medieval techniques to maintain roads. Tri axled milk lorries 30t+ on roads built for donkey and butt and getting a skin of tar and chips every 10 yrs if you're lucky. Only time you get a decent road built is if the job is contracted out.

Some councils are also using mediaeval peasants to mind the roads; one mountain minder regularly uses his mechanical shovel to shove leftover tarmac into gaps in the roadside - gaps caused by torrents which then, blocked, reroute themselves next time there's melting snow or heavy rain to flow across the road, destroying both road surface and the land below.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

R
    Tis true. I upgraded myself, taking to the bike despite the danger of people suggesting it would be good for me to be "mowed down".

Hearses are gas guzzlers, then you've the head stone work . Could use a biodegradable coffin. Then there's the fixing of the vehicle that hits you.

No, better to stay alive.