Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Logbook

• 17-08-2015 1:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭

Hi everyone, I've done a forum search but I'm still a bit confused.

I have a 01 Honda which I have lost the 'logbook' for. I have just learned that that's not the name of it!

I want to sell the car. Do I need registration book or registration certificate or both?

And I think the fee is 12e. How can I pay this without a cheque book as mentioned in other posts? Can I send a postal order?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

You need the Vehicle Registration Certificate. This is what you and buyer sign and you then send to Shannon to inform them of the new owner.

Print it out, go to Gardai for a signature and then to tax office with fee in cash (actually you might want to ring them first to see if cash is ok).
    Postal order should be good too.

http://www.dublincity.ie/main-menu-services-roads-and-traffic-motor-tax/replace-tax-document

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Oh can I go to the motor tax office in Naas? I tried ringing them for advice but even though it was within opening hours I kept just getting a voicemail!

Crap, I did tick the wrong box then. Are they likely to be picky or can I just scribble one and tick the other box? I have the form signed by the guards already so I'd prefer not to have to go back to the station again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tbh I don't know. Pop in with the document and the fee in cash and see.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

but even though it was within opening hours I kept just getting a voicemail!

Nothing unusual there then! If I didn't answer the phone at work, I'd be dragged outside and shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They take cash/card there. It's very straightforward.

macplaxton wrote: »
    Nothing unusual there then! If I didn't answer the phone at work, I'd be dragged outside and shot.

Thank God for boards :)

Sorry last question, can I go to any motortax office or does it have to be my local one? I live in Kildare but I'll be Mayo this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I think it has to be in your county.

Feck thats a pain in the ass with the way things are shaping up this week :(

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

I think you can use any one.

Certainly when I've updated a couple of brown tax books as the new owner, I haven't used the seller's local Motor Tax Office and used my own one.

Give it a try, they can only say no.